Why I sound like this - My Appalachian Dialect

in #mountains5 years ago

I was born and raised in a small community nestled in the Appalachian Mountains of southwest Virginia. Now that is pronounced Appa-LATCH-un not, Appa-LAY-shuh-un, unless you are a "flatland outsider".

Now I use the term "flatlander" to characterize people, not from the area. It is a parallel to "hillbilly" as it was put upon us.

The people from the area have a unique dialect that is often considered unintelligent or uneducated by flatlanders. I also had this same sentiment and went out of my way to use proper English. But my opinion changed after living away from home for 7 years.

I moved to Richmond, Virginia for a job promotion with my company and was shocked to realize just how socially acceptable the "joke of the Appalcachian" was in other parts of the state. When I first met people I was often seen as an unintelligent backward savage that escaped by hitching a ride out of the area.

In reality, I come from a long line of hardworking, intelligent Appalachian people that taught me to work with what I have.

After returning home to this beautiful gem of the world, I realized the area is unique, different from any other place in the world. The people here are open and acceptable of all and will go out of their way to help someone in need. This was how we were raised. To care for one another and help someone when they are in need. These simple life values are sorely missing in other parts of the world.

This is why I proudly reside in the holler and use a buggy at the grocery store. I put my groceries in a poke, not a bag. I wash with a warsh-kloth, not a washcloth. I am Appalachian Proud!

#Appa-LATCH-un Proud

20130525_171843.jpg

20130525_171846.jpg

20130525_171952(2).jpg

Follow me on Steemit!
https://steemit.com/@mattsb1982

Follow me on D.Tube!
https://d.tube/#/#!/c/mattsb1982

Sort:  

Congratulations @mattsb1982! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @mattsb1982

As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail with 20user.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

Use Partiko for activities on Steemit, you will receive bonus points. Dowload Partiko app for your phone at here. If you difficulty when convert points (Partiko) to upvote, check the instructions here.

@mattsb1982, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Hillbillies vs Bible Belters

Are hillbillies within the Bible Belt, I wonder? My question is about the definition to both terms. In other words, can a hillbilly be a Bible Belter and vice versa? I guess the answer is maybe because Bible Belt has something to do with religion and hillbilly is a description that may describe hicks, farmers, laid back folks...

Laid Back

People in the Bible Belt are laid back, right? Are hillbillies laid back? If they are, they may both have some things in common. But at the same time, I can see that they are also different as well. I think I get that.

Red Necks vs Hillbillies

Are red necks and hillbillies the same? I'm guessing that a red neck might be a Super Hillbilly, right?

Virginia

Is Virginia included in the Bible Belt? I think not. I was living around there and I might have asked people about that. I just forget specifically what they said. I think Virginia is a little north of the Bible Belt, right? I would not mind being a red neck myself. I grew up in a small logging town of about 20,000 people in Oregon, born in 1985. I was born in a suburban area that was an hour from Portland but I also grew up around forest and farms. So, I feel like I'm partly a countryside folk.