ADSactly Music - Legacy of the Rhyme

in #music6 years ago

Legacy of the Rhyme

Attachment-1 (86).jpeg
Image Source

I share the same brother with Tupac Shakur. Tupac was one of the biggest Hip-Hop artists in the 1990s and is one of Hip-Hop's biggest legends. From his stardom, he formed the group Thug Life with his brother Mopreme Shakur, Big Syke, and Macadoshis. Tupac had a wide variety of music hits that touched on many subjects. He was an activist for social equality and a humanitarian for education who had one of the biggest impacts on modern culture. His untimely death in 1996 at age 25, left the world in confusion and sadness.

Turned to Thug Life

Attachment-1 (88).jpeg
Image Source

In 1997, I had an apartment with my cousin Winston in the San Fernando Valley off of DeSoto Avenue. Back in those days surviving Los Angeles was hard but we always had enough. My sister and my brother-in-law Jay lived down the street where I would play John Madden Football in my spare time. One day some friends who we played basketball with said that Mopreme lived down the street from us and wanted to give me some tips & advice on music. I just finished my first album called “From the Far East”, an album based off of inexperience and dreams alone.

Attachment-1 (92).jpeg
Image Source

I was living the fast life as a teen so everything literally happened lightning fast that I found myself a few days later in front of Mopreme Shakur, a rapper I looked up to from Thug Life. The first day we met we all drank Hennessy VSOP and passed around countless Swisher Sweets. I was just waiting for my moment to ask about his experiences and for some advice in the music business. I soaked up all of the advice from that first day and a bond was created. Over the next few years though we had both moved I would frequently visit Mopreme and he would continue to mentor me about the streets of Los Angeles and its music business.

Over the years in our brotherly bond, we would discuss street politics and motivational philosophies. One of those priceless philosophies he taught me was that Tupac used to quote, “If you can't do it, then you're just not on the record.” A young artist or musician could interpret this in many ways but I was lucky enough to have had years with Mopreme to study this in-depth. The core of its meaning is “whether you have 1 hour or 1 year with an urgent task, you must rise beyond your maximum limit and deliver a victory.” In our case, we are using it in terms of music production and the steps needed to take a song to final production (the victory).

Attachment-1 (91).jpeg
Image Source

I used to accompany Mopreme during his sessions in Los Angeles’ legendary Can-Am recording studios and watch this philosophy at work. In his recording sessions, there would be bottles of Hennessy being shared by numerous rappers who were either there with his label or rappers who were known around Los Angeles. In those days, though I was working on my own project, I was with Mopreme more as family support and the extra ears for the songs.

Whenever Mopreme would have a feature on a song, all the rappers in the session would indirectly compete for the feature spot. When he wanted them to write faster and work harder he would say, “If you can't do it then you're just not on the record.” Sometimes he would say to them he was going to put me on the records, which pushed all the rapper even harder. We used to joke and laugh about how none of those rappers wanted to be out rapped by an Asian rapper.

Carrying on a Legacy

Attachment-1 (89).jpeg

No one can deny the massive impact Tupac and his Thug Life Legacy had on The United States and its culture in the 1990s. The world would later be introduced to Tupac’s brand commercially after his passing. Over a decade after those nights with Mopreme at Can-Am recording studio, Tupac Shakur and Thug Life t-shirts were abundant in Asian countries. This helped carry their music and ideas to young international audiences who may not have been alive when Tupac was. MP3 downloads and iTunes from Apple allowed access to Tupac's music internationally when some of these resources weren't easily available before 1996.

Attachment-1 (87).jpeg
Image Source

In 2008, Mopreme flew to Bangkok for a visit and I was able to show him how Thug Life was a part of pop culture in Thailand. I showed him that all the young Thai kids listen to Tupac and how they related Thug Life to surviving the struggle. Over a few days time I showed Mopreme Bangkok, Thai cuisine, and the Thai culture. Close to the end of his trip, we were in a taxi late evening fighting through the Bangkok traffic to get to the recording studio. I saw him stare out of the window with a bit of a sorrowed look on his face and asked him what was wrong? He replied, “I wish Pac was still alive to see all of this, he would have loved the warmth of the people.”

Attachment-1 (93).jpeg
Image Source

We arrived at Vintage Studios for a scheduled two-song session. The first song was for Malaysia’s DJ Fuzz and we finish that with no problems in under 2 hours. When it was time to begin the second song Mopreme noticed half of the page he needed had been ripped out (yes we’re old school writing in notebooks). I was ready to call an end to the session when Mopreme grabbed me by the shoulder and asked, “How important is this record to you?” I replied that it meant the world to me.

Mopreme told everyone to give him 30 minutes so he could take some lines from memory and write new lines to complete his verse. I asked back, “Are you cool with that? Can you do that?” His response was priceless and golden to my ears. He answered, “Well if I can’t, then I’m just not on the record.”

One of my Greatest Lessons

Attachment-1 (90).jpeg
Image Source

“If you can’t then you’re just not on the record.” A quote and ideal from Tupac Shakur taught to me by one my greatest mentors, Mopreme Shakur. I wanted to share one of my greatest lessons for every young artist out there with a dream. Remember that its core meaning is “whether you have 1 hour or 1 year with an urgent task, you must rise beyond your maximum limit and deliver a victory.” That night at Vintage Studios Mopreme delivered two victories and our song from that night, “A Thug’s Life” is one of them my favorite songs I've ever completed.

In this lesson additionally, two major details would be to continuously work on setting new higher self-standards in your craft and master your skills to perfection. This will only allow you to optimize every opportunity you receive on your journey to completing your life goals, whatever they may be. These two details are important because no one wakes up one day and are the best at anything. Your favorite superstars practiced years to lifetimes, in various skills to reach their dreams. You may not be doing a song with Drake tomorrow but one day, you may be in studio D and you run across him in Studio A. If your skills are perfected then you may have the greatest opportunity to be "on that record."

Attachment-1 (94).jpeg

Image Source

I hope one of the greatest lessons I've learned in music helps all of you complete everything you begin, on the path to reaching your dreams. In times you need the motivation to get out of stagnation, just close your eyes and visualize Tupac Shakur passionately yet almost angrily telling you, “If you can’t do it, then you’re just not on the record.” Then get up, get out, and go get something.

Reincarnate in Paradise: Tupac, Afeni Shakur, and Big Syke

Authored by

@stewsak

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Wow. What a moving story. Just thank you for it.

I wasn't remotely around the music business, but I was an athlete. I came back to the dugout one day muttering about a 'lucky pitch'. My coach and mentor quietly took me aside and explained a thing to me. He said "That wasn't a lucky pitch. He made that pitch because he'd practiced it a million times and used it at just the right time. A thing you will have to learn is that all those lucky people in the world just work harder than you do."

I've never forgotten. I've been beat (many times) since then, but it was never because I wasn't prepared. That coach gave me my 'On the Record' moment and it's lasted better than 50 years. I'm lucky (that word) to have gotten it.

Thanks for sharing the 'On the Record' philosophy. I really appreciate it.

That's an awesome quote from your coach. We both agree with him and sure wish I got to see you play :) Hope you've been great Tom and have an outstanding weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Me Against The World remains his most important testament that we have to date. This album reveals both the complex emotions of a man who has lived in constant danger, but desperately tries to see a better horizon for him. Throughout the album we hear the struggle, confusion, hope, anger, bitterness and emergent voice of someone ready to enlighten a generation. 2Pac has been worthily against the world, but being against the world at a price, maybe the one to have taken the life ...

"Me Against the World" is definitely a classic. He was a champion for the people. Thanks for coming by and have an awesome weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

“Well if I can’t, then I’m just not on the record.”

After reading your story, I clearly know the meaning as well. I also can imagine your reaction when Mopreme said this sentence when you asked him whether he was cool with writing new lines to complete his verse. It’s really sad how young Tupac Shakur left this world. At the same time, he is the proof that songs never die, not even for young generation. And you had the opportunity to meet him.

“whether you have 1 hour or 1 year with an urgent task, you must rise beyond your maximum limit and deliver a victory.”

Great interpretation of Tupac Shakur’s quote @stewsak! Set your goal, work hard, work even harder and you eventually reach your goal one day.

It is very sad that he passed at 25. I sometimes think of all the artists that left us at a young age and tell myself how many more years I've had more than them. I used that also as motivation :) Hope you have a really awesome week.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

This is really interested music [email protected] music is also interested.. Enjoyable music also..
I think your post is lot of better.
Your post is also learnable..I can learn a lot from your post..

This story is also really learnable..
I have many like in your post..
Hope you'll get a good post like this..

I super appreciate you coming by and hope you have a great weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Thanks Dear,,
I have many like in you blog..

Music is my favorite,Sir@adsactly..
You sharing this music ,this music is enjoyable and interesting..Music always gives us pleasure..so, music is my favorite..
I am very glad you sharing this valuable post..one is music another is motivated life story..
I follow your excellent creativity since I started working on the platform,I always causes pleasure to visit your blog..
Congratulations for all your achievement and continue your success,Sir@adsactly..

Music can touch a person's soul in many ways. Was always happy making and super happy I got to share this story. Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Back then Tu-pack's music wasn't just for the melody or fun of singing. It represented a purpose, it represented a movements for the blacks. He sang about the reality

No wonder the man is still loved and remembered after 20 years of passing on. His music brought a leverage to hip-hop worldwide

Yes, and very passionate. Every song did have a purpose and he was a champion for the people. Thanks for coming by and hope you have an incredible weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

I read through the whole of this, I just began listening to 2pac about 2 years ago. I never seem to get to the depth of his lyricism.
And besides that, his delivery is flawless.

He inspired my generation through the toughest of times. A champion for the people. I suppose I was a lucky young artist and got to learn from his passion through Mopreme. His delivery was pretty flawless wasn't it? :) Thanks from coming through and hope you have a marvelous weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

They are also one of my most favorite@adsactly...

I like this song very much..this music is really enjoyable and this story is really motivated in our life..

Best of luck ,,Dear..

It was over 20 years ago, I was just a kid then...LOL. Crazy to think about at times :) Hope you have an awesome weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

@adsactly How are you my best friend. I like it your great full post.so sweet story. thank you so much.

Thanks for coming through and hope you have a wonderful weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Fully thug life 😍

A great legacy :) Hope you have a splendid weekend & thanks for stopping by.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Thug life.😎 Nice Story...

Thanks a trillion!

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

This was a very nice story... one of my sons biggest idols...Thank you so much for sharing...

Hope your son also enjoyed the story :)

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Yeah, I'm trying to get out, go out and gain something

Great luck to your success.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Thanks for your courage.

They are my favorite @adsactly

They were awesome.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

They are one of my favourite @adsactly

Sometimes I can't believe that was over 20 years ago for me...LOL. Thanks for coming by and have a superb weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Motivational story.legends. favourite! Music=food to our soul.thanks for the great story @adsactly

When it was happening, I'm glad I didn't take it for granted. Thanks for stopping by and hope you have a lovely weekend.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a million.

"Extremely glad you enjoyed the story..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Loading...

Thug life.😎 Nice Story...