Coruscate Covers // Don't Speak by No Doubt (Piano Cover)

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I have actually been working on this song for weeks and am so excited to finally share it with all of you! The piano part for this song is pretty complicated, and so I've been slowly chipping away at learning it for some time.

I hope all the No Doubt fans will appreciate the Bindi in my cover photo. <3

Does this song take anyone else back? You know to the days when Gwen Stefani was actually cool and actually hot. Then she went all B-A-N-A-N-A-S on us. (But I digress...)

The emotion in this song is undeniable. Anyone who has been through heartache can feel this song deep in their bones.

I really hope you guys enjoy my interpretation of this timeless song!

Here are the lyrics:


You and me
We used to be together
Everyday together always
I really feel
That I'm losing my best friend
I can't believe
This could be the end
It looks as though you're letting go
And if it's real
Well I don't want to know
Don't speak
I know just what you're saying
So please stop explaining
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts
Don't speak
I know what you're thinking
I don't need your reasons
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts
Our memories
Well, they can be inviting
But some are altogether
Mighty frightening
As we die, both you and I
With my head in my hands
I sit and cry
Don't speak
I know just what you're saying
So please stop explaining
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts (no, no, no)
Don't speak
I know what you're thinking
I don't need your reasons
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts
It's all ending
I gotta stop pretending who we are
You and me I can see us dying, are we?
Don't speak
I know just what you're saying
So please stop explaining
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts (no, no, no)
Don't speak
I know what you're thinking
And I don't need your reasons
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts
Don't tell me 'cause it hurts!
I know what you're saying
So please stop explaining
Don't speak
Don't speak
Don't speak
Oh I know what you're thinking
And I don't need your reasons
I know you're good
I know you're good
I know you're real good
Oh, la la la la la la, la la la la la la
Don't, don't, uh-huh hush, hush darlin'
Hush, hush darlin' hush, hush
Don't tell me tell me 'cause it hurts
Hush, hush darlin' hush, hush darlin'
Hush, hush don't tell me tell me 'cause it hurts


Thank you so much for listening! I really hope you guys enjoyed this cover.

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

On of my favorite OG bands from my high school days! Thanks for the throwback! Great post!

Haha totally. I’m glad you enjoyed it!!

Hahaha yes, bananas is hardly what I call it. Of course, the conspiracy thoerist in me says that No Doubt was before Gwen Stefani signed with the Elite and sold herself for fame. And then we wonder why everyone else in the band left... I think only one of them stayed? I forget.

Yeah, I used quite like No Doubt when I was in High School.

Nice cover, by the way.

Haha yeah, who knows what actually happened behind closed doors! No Doubt was such a cool band, with so much potential... it was sad to see her sell out and then literally go a little crazy. 😞

I’m really glad you enjoyed the cover! ❤️

What I enjoyed about No Doubt was that not only was it kind of Punk, but it was SKA. While I'm not that into SKA Punk much, the whole trumpets and big band feel to some of the songs made it the unique album that it was. Then Gwen Stefani became mediocre pop.

ahhh You have such a nice voice! So talented with the piano too. I would only be able to do one or the other! :P

aww thank you my friend!! The funny thing is... I feel totally lost when I sing karaoke or something without an instrument. I think it helps me feel the beat and timing of the music more. We each have our own comfort zones!

Do you play the piano? It would be SO fun to see a music video from you sometime! :)

I use to play piano, but I’m not really good at it. 😂😂😂 it’s been about 8 years... so it would take me a while to learn another one 😜

Nice job. That's probably the only No Doubt song I like, though I'm not that familiar with the band. I like Gwen Stefani.

Oooh if you like Gwen Stafani, then you should definitely listen to No Doubt. It is where she get her start. They are more of a rock/punk/ska band.

Love this song & No Doubt. Good job!

Yay! I’m glad you enjoyed my cover of this song! 😀

This brings back childhood memories :)

Yay! I’m glad you enjoyed my cover of this song!

i had a cassette tape of this :D

LOL that’s amazing!!

Your lyrics are so amazing
It actually a song of emotions were the heart is speaking out loud
Awwwwn
You are so amazing @coruscate

amazing video dear friend. I like it very much... thanks for sharing

"It's very rare to find someone who doesn't like music. So it's transcendental and universal at the same time.
It also seems to me that music reliably speaks to people of meaning."
From the lecture "Music and the Patterns of Mind" - Jordan Petersdon

One of the Best Ballad of the 90s, nice sung and cover !
i subscribe