Sort:  

Thank you for introduced Louis Thomas Hardin to me. He was born with music however, life doesn't treat him fair. From losing his eye sight to parent divorced. He really a tough man in order to go through the darkness and become a great man. His music is more on instrumental playing and it only more appreciate by the music instrumental player than most of us. I think this was why his master piece was not famous at that time. But as a blind person, it really amazing he could still composed and played the instrument well.

He's fantastic :) Thank you for stopping by.

I love him, he was a real genius :)

@herbertholmes if that is a beautiful story the so-called Viking in the United States. After he came from the Navajo tribe, if everybody took him into account with his poetry and his music, he called a lot of attention in the United States. Everyone wanted to see people say, who is moondog? most offered him work clothes but he was not carried away by his great humility prevailed and that was what made moondog great. his music and poetry was a success also in Europe. this man if I did not know him until I read this great post made me cry this beautiful story because despite being blind at 16 it was great music and also poetry I am left without a word. I will read this story a thousand times if possible, it gave me great energy to move forward and succeed as this great man thanks for sharing @herbertholmes

I have what I guess you'd call an affinity for abnormality.

Abnormality ain't bad after all, I do love some weird stuff too, I definitely will love to discover all of those weird and interesting, so I'm joining you on this weird journey. Lol!

Moondog seem to have lived a really interesting (and simple) life, so sad that I didn't discover him earlier, he must have been a really humble man to have lived literally all his life on the street. His song truly is incredible, it was great listening to him sing.

I wonder what story his sister shared with him that has inspired him to take his life back and live it despite the depression and all the unpleasant stuff he was going through. That story must be a gem!

He doesn't sing in the song, or ever hahah. But thank you at least for reading.

The story she read him allegedly was Jessie Fothergill’s "The First Violin". I've never read it, but I have that written down in my notes :)

My bad... I should go back up and finally play it....

I have never heard of that book before, you plan on reading it someday?

Haha no worries! It's all good. I hadn't either before Moondog, and to be honest probably not. Not that I wouldn't like to but there's a lot I'd like to read and I'm really bad at making time for it all; so there's a lot on my list of other interest before I get to that. Not to say it might not be a terrific book- I'm sure it is. Just a different interest than I have time for

I wonder why he never sang, maybe he just didn't want to be heard?

😀 well, hopefully, someday you will get enough time to spare for it...

He was much more of a composer/instrument dabbler. Most composers never sing, nor do many of their composition pieces necessitate vocals. On the other hand, he was also very into poetry, so to some extent it is surprising that he never really incorporated vocals

Yeah yeah... Maybe it just wasn't one of his strengths...

Louis Thomas Hardin does sound like an amazing man, composer, musician. Moondog is an interesting name for a classical composer. I was thinking more of a rapper when I saw the first picture :) Thank you for sharing his story with us. How did you got to know of him?

To be honest I don't remember. Somewhere in the depths of my music exploration :)

:) it is a cool discovery for sure. Happy Sunday to you @herbertholmes :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I missed Sunday but happy Monday!

He looks like Professor Dumbledore in the movie Harry Potter. He has indeed a very interesting story. Street folks are usually those who are less privileged who survives in pittance. But this guy even went to Europe!

I played a few of those in is album through the link you gave and noticed that those are instrumental. I suppose that holds true for all his compositions?

Yeah he certainly got plenty "pampered" in his Europe days haha. From what I can tell, he was more or less waited on hand and foot during that time. But I suppose he deserved it! After accomplishing all he did while living for so long blind on the busy streets of New York.

And yes, for the most part. There are songs with some "vocals", but most of those are more so phonetic patterns, somewhat acting as an instrument.

Thank you for reading and listening! :)

You mentioned about your affinity for abnormality. How do you find "abnormal" stuff like this? You hunt the web?

A lifetime of it. I have notebooks filled with random scribblings of things I've found over the years. Random web stuff too, of course. At a certain point, it seems to come to you, haha :)

At a certain point, it seems to come to you

Or, at a certain point, it becomes you. Is it? 😊

Hi herbertholmes,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so, so much!!

You got a free upvote from @reversed-bidbot! Screenshot 2018-09-16 17.41.16.png