You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two homemade melodies

in #music2 years ago

Thanks :) I am not sure how I will use these melodies - But if nothing else I just found an hour to write down the score, and I might just publish them as Katharsisdrill works.

The piano haven't been tuned for ages and it has a whobbly sound and is a bit soft in the machanics, but at least it is not completely out of tune. My parents have a (baby) grand piano which my mother wants me to inherit, but they still use it so until then I just play this old thing.

Sort:  

It's been a long time since I lived in a house with a real piano, but I was never really a player. One of my musician friends repairs and sells them, but doesn't play (he does banjo and guitar). He says the market is pretty dead these days. Mind you he did sell one to Hugh Laurie a while back. A baby grand needs a fair bit of space and could be loud. Is noise an issue where you live?

I think that the convenience of the digital piano, the fact that you can use headphones and not have any real vibrations has made the mechanical piano less popular. Living in a flat I always was in doubt how much i bothered others, but I never had any complaints and I do talk with my neighbours (sub-neighbours... underlings!? Don't know the word for those living beneath you. We have the whole floor for ourself.

I can get away with some noise here, but it's best when the family are out. No close neighbours.

My wife never asked for us to stop making noises if it was music. She's really an angel in that regard...

Mine doesn't like it when she's watching TV.

Yes, well ... :) I sort of get this picture of you in the corner with this enormous Marshall stack, completely into some bluesy rock'n'roll while the sound of the telly is all the way up.

I did consider buying a big Marshall many years ago, but I really didn't need it. I would still like one of their amplifiers some day. I do have my own music room, but it is not that well acoustically isolated.