A Dive into Hive: The Start of my Journey

in #myhiveintro4 years ago (edited)

THE DIVE

This is it! I’m finally diving into this decentralized social media platform that is Hive. And I am so excited! I have so many good friends who are already here and I have been looking for a new platform where I can share my thoughts and my experiences.



Boho Rock, Camotes


How would you introduce yourself without talking about your work or your degree?


I saw this question on social media once and it was so interesting because I noticed that, as an adult, the usual way of introducing yourself would involve talking about where you work and what you do for work or what school you graduated from and the degree you have.

I understand that it’s easy to introduce yourself that way because you have so much experience in those two areas in your life. But what if you got stripped of all of those things? What if you can’t talk about them? Who are you? How do you see yourself?

And with that, let me try to introduce myself without talking about my career or my educational background.

TRAVELER

My name is Glebert and I’m a proud Filipino or as proud as I can be in these times. I’ve lived in Cebu all my life (27 years) but there are still tourist spots on the island that I haven’t been to.

I would love to make a list of all those places and cross them off as I travel to each one of them. I’ll be sure to chronicle that here in my upcoming posts. I’ll also be sharing some of my past travels in Cebu and in other places, especially those that were meaningful to me.


DREAMER

I enjoy spending time by myself but I also look forward to social events especially when I’m the one planning them. I enjoy planning events and activities. I enjoy planning in general. In fact, I have even planned out my life. Anyone can dream, right?

I think it’s extremely important to align everything you’re doing to the kind of life that you want. I have 7 dreams and I’ll be talking passionately about each of them here in my future posts. I’ve been learning a lot about effective goal setting and working towards the kind of life that you want. I hope to share my learning on that as well.
GSD's (Glebert's Seven Dreams)

MELOPHILE

As an introvert, I spend my alone time recharging my energy and that includes resting, daydreaming, processing my thoughts and feelings, and, of course, listening to music. Music is an escape for me. It’s a way to regulate my energy. I remember someone commenting about how some people can listen to music through their earphones that’s so deafeningly loud that others can hear it.

Well, that’s the point! Those people, including me, listen to music to become deaf of the outside world. We clung to our music for peace and to filter out the noise of the world. I listen to new songs and I listen to my favorite songs. I would love to be able to do album reviews here and share some of the songs I’ve been writing which have been heavily influenced by the artists I look up to.

Some of my favorite albums


FITNESS ENTHUSIAST

I enjoy exercising. I’ve been on a fitness journey to gain muscles and be stronger. I was really skinny back then and I wish I had started working out when I was younger. So I’ll be sharing my experience as I go along towards the level of fitness that I want.

I am proud to say that I am also a yogi! I started last year and yoga has brought so many good things for me, not just physically but mentally and emotionally as well. I remember how difficult it was to meditate for 2 minutes and now I can do it for almost half an hour. Side planks were a hell for me and now it’s one of my favorite poses!


"One breath at a time"


CRYPTO NEWBIE

I’m a newbie to cryptocurrency but it’s one of those things that I’ve been meaning to learn. And what good place to learn about it than in Hive, right? Now that I’m in that ‘adulting’ stage, I’m trying to diversify my financial portfolio and I really want to go into crypto.

I’ll be sharing my digest of learning here and one of the things I’ve planned to test out my knowledge is to successfully explain to my 9-year old niece what cryptocurrency is. I think I’m pretty good at learning and I’ve always enjoyed teaching. So be sure to look out for that.

I think I’ve shared quite a lot about me and the kind of content that I’ll be offering. And now, if you don’t know me personally, I would like to twist the question I had at the start of my post and throw it at you.

What do you think is the work that I do and the degree that I have?


Like most of my friends here, I’m a Chemical Engineer and that means spending 5 or 6 years of our lives matching up to grueling expectations and standards. And I’d like to believe that a lot of good things came out of that.

I’ve recently heard of the term “Practical Suffering” and in a way, it was like that. We suffered because it was necessary. We suffered because it mattered. So I would like to share how studying chemical engineering affected my life and how I make sense of the world.

WRITER

Here is an article I wrote on Medium about my past relationship where I used lessons from Thermodynamics to figure out how to preserve a relationship. The relationship ended by the way and I’m happy with the one I’m in right now.

Spontaneity Brought Us Together, Will Spontaneity Keep Us Together? On preserving the things that started a relationship using lessons from Thermodynamics

RESEARCHER

I’m currently a graduate student and it’s one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life. I feel at home learning and I enjoy immersing myself in a field of study. I’m currently working on membranes and nanotechnology. I hope there’s a community here where I can share my thoughts on those very technical topics. Here's a link to a journal article I wrote with my mentors and instructors. The picture on the left was when I won 'Best Paper' at a conference for the study.


And that’s it! I’m really glad I am finally able to introduce myself in Hive. Thank you so much to my good friend @ybanezkim26 for inviting me to this supportive community. I draw inspiration and courage from my friends (@queenielee, @kayceeports2020, @thegaillery) who are already starting their own journey here.


Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (writing, cryptocurrency, fitness). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.

Sort:  

Hello @glecerioberto! Welcome to the #Hive community! Being a fellow Cebuano, I fully support my comrades in their journey here. Thanks @ybanezkim26 for introducing another respected member to our tribe!

I’m truly inspired by your creative introduction! All the best Glebert!

Thank you @storiesoferne! I'm here to support our fellow Cebuanos as well.

As long as you don't hope to reach people with a message, or earn money here, no problem! Welcome. Just be aware your funds are locked in here unless you're willing to give up your privacy and decentralization to get them out.

Wow, what a fantastic introduction 😊 Welcome to Hive!! 😄 I hope you like it here.

Thanks for the warm welcome @kaelci! 😁

Welcome glecerioberto!
Ecency is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as Points to promote and boost your content.
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

I shared this on my Twitter! 😊

Congratulations @glecerioberto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

Welcome to Hive! I'm excited for your future contents, actually. And for sure we, friends will be featured in one of them XD

I draw courage from you po. Please also feature me in your posts kahit wala ako sa NZ. 😂

Welcome aboard! I can sense a deep passion in you with regards to introspection. As an introvert, that is quite expected though. I practice mindfulness meditation on my spare time as well and drown myself in the philosophical school of thought that is Buddhism. I am glad to know that a lot of people are now finding solace in being a yogi.

Avid listener to imagine dragons and one republic as well. Counting stars is my jam haha.

Kin has been really busy with his invites but it’s nice to know that he is pulling well-deserved people into the platform.

Anyways, I look forward to hearing more from you.

Wtf dude! Who's Kin? Is he your brother? 😂

HAHHAHA therefore I conclude na dako kaayo akong tudlo para sakng phone

Thanks for the welcome @josejirafa! Deep passion for introspection indeed!
I think there is added pressure to give our best in our posts because of Kim. Hahaha.
I look forward to your posts as well. I think I'll have a go at featuring my Bantayan travels as well. I see you and Kim just recently blogged about it. Let's build the anticipation of being able to go back to Bantayan again!

Hi there!

Amazeballs!!! 👏🏼💯 Deserving ang upvote oy!

I'm excited to know more about your 7 dreams and hopefully I'll pick up some learnings on effective goal planning. I love planning also but I'm not quite convinced if my plans are effective 😅

Hi Kath! I'm really glad you're here. Let's share notes on achieving our goals in life. I really like your mood journal, by the way.

Hi @glecerioberto and I really enjoyed your introduction. I will do the exercise of (re-)introducing myself without talking about work or studies, thanks for the idea.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's an exercise to realizing that you are worth more than your profession or educational attainment. I look forward to your (re)introduction!

Welcome @glecerioberto to Hive! I'm amazed that your a yogi. I only know a few guys who are fond of doing those yoga poses. I even can't do that side plank. 😀

Hi @wandergirl! I was really apprehensive about my first yoga class because I thought it wasn't really for guys. Thankfully, a friend pushed me to join. And she also paid for the class so that might be the reason why I joined. Hahaha.
Now, I know that yoga is for everyone and it is a journey. It's okay if you can't do some of the poses yet. It's all about being present and knowing your body better.

I've read it with pleasure. Interesting variant of introducemyself.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @drrune.

Great intro, man! Beautifully formatted, clear, expressive, effective. Great pictures too! Welcome to the platform!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

nice intro, although i didn't read much of it

This is a badass intro. Welcome to hive!

Thank you for the welcome and the compliment! I appreciate it.

As an introvert, I spend my alone time recharging my energy and that includes resting, daydreaming, processing my thoughts and feelings

Knowing yourself better is one of the super power.

Welcome to Hive.

Please note hive is Web 3.0 protocol not just a platform

I'm glad you agree!
I had to Google what Web 3.0 is. 😂
Thanks for the info!

Epic intro. Obviously another great reinforcement of the Filipino community here on Hive :) Welcome to your new virtual home and enjoy the ride.

Thanks! Really happy that people are so welcoming here.

Awesome welcome👍🎨😊

Thank you! 😁

Welcome here. Your intro is superb. Hopefully you will do much better here in our hive.

Thanks! I hope so too.

Loading...

Welcome to Hive @glecerioberto - wonderful introduction!
I definitely came away feeling that I got to know you some what and I'm looking forward to what you are bringing to Hive so now following you!

Thank you so much! Following you back. 😁

kims friends always have superb intros hahah nice to meet you glebert and welcome to hive!

Nice to mee you too Jude! Thank you.

Great intro post Glebert!

You've find your way into my intro post. 😁
I remember the excitement when I posted it. I'm glad I've found my way here and I could share my experiences and ideas.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thank you! I'll share everything that I can. Don't worry. 😉