Stuffed Trout Peppers!!! Part 1 (Triumph Over Snow)

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0625.JPG
A holdover brown trout (Salmo trutta) from this lake taken last year March 2017.

My landscaping season came to be this year with a late start. Despite that, we started off strong, getting done more cleanups than most other landscapers. Feeling like we were in full swing I let my guard down and just as I did that mother nature struck us with an early spring snowfall. With this snowfall our truck has no choice but to sit.

So bored I was, pacing around my living room, just looking out the window and shaking my head at the accumulating snow. I thought to myself "I wonder how the fishing is right now?" Thinking, who in their right mind would think to go fishing in this? . . . "No one is out there to pressure up the place, it would be be silly to not go." I mean what can I lose, I'm more bored than a 2 by 4.

I packed up my ultralight (which the reel after catching many fish over the years broke and is now retired) and a bunch of spinners. This time going to a lake I have not fished for the stock trout yet. A much bigger lake than my last trip, and angler could easily become frustrated with how to find the stockies, especially weeks after they were put in. But the temperatures sudden decline gave me the hint I needed to zone in on them. Which is good because I am on borrowed time. Once the snow stops, my snow removal accounts expect me.

The tempurature going down so quickly could mean only one thing, fish are going to seek refuge in the deeper more insulated water. I picked a spot to start and without hesitation I started casting and retrieving gold spinners. Usually on a day like today gold is the money color. Cast after cast and nothing to show for it, I started to think I was beat. Not to mention constantly checking my barometer and watch, so much that it looked like I was expecting the fish for a meeting.
In a last ditch effort I traveled around the lake to do the exact opposite of what I was already doing. "Big moves make big changes" my Dad always said.

With the snow tapering off and my time running out, I made three casts in the first spot on the other side and on the third retrieve I snagged a log. I was so frustrated, I was going to give up. But only a split second had passed while I thought that. I became confused when my drag started to peel out. Not a log, it's a fish!

IMG_2127.JPG
Rainbow trout (Salmo gairdneri) seems like the only type of trout I can catch this year.

That sucker was landed and I knew right away where it was going, it has a one way ticket to my belly. Feeling like I might now be on top of them, I quickly threw another cast out and I was indeed right. This was the one that the reel broke on and it wasn't even as big as the other. It didn't matter I had to leave and when I get home I will throw this one on a pan as soon as it was cleaned as a fresh trophy snack.

But right then was no time to think like that, the snow seemed like it was going to stop any minute. I need to take my two fish and get them home and cleaned quick.

Thank you for reading and stay tuned!
Don't forget to
Upvote &
Subscribe

For more Hunting and fishing content check out @myhuntingfishing and use #myhuntingfishing for your related posts.

Sort:  

I absolutely love this post, this has to be my favorite post I have seen on steemit, you might ask why.

Well I thoroughly enjoy how you go from water to table, but that's not the reason.

I am astonished at how well you tell the story, but not it either.

You show your skill in what tackle to use when the weather is changing, but that's good, but no cigar.

You use your head in where to hold the fish, where to stand and give that happy look, which I would be happy with that fish as well, but yes another but, most folks now days take good photo's.

Ok, I will stop and give you the reason this has to be my favorite post,

YOUR FLY IS DOWN.

haha, love ya man

I absolutely love this comment. lol when i posted the picture I said to myself I look so frumpy with my fly down and all. Just shows how much fun I was having, didn't even notice the breeze. Thank you so much, I'm glad you like it despite the typos and grammar errors.

I have experienced that confused feeling of thinking I am hung up on something only to realize it is a big fish a few times. One such story is found here

That had me at the edge of my seat!!! Thank you for sharing. I remember you sent me to that site in the past. After that you introduced us to chainbb and i had thought for some reason that these were two of the same. but I see now they are different. It seems like there is a nice community within it.

Thanks! www.myhuntingfishing.com is basically a glorified blog I created almost 10 years ago.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

You got a 67.09% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @nickbuha!

Ohhhhh yeah!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!