πŸ‹ Guess the weight of this monster catfish... πŸ‘€ Win a SteemBasicIncome share! πŸ’°

in #myhuntingfishing β€’ 6 years ago

Guess the weight of this monster blue catfish

  • caught by my good friend JP

wheelbarrow.jpg

The closest guess in pounds wins a share of #SteemBasicIncome.

  • In case of a tie, I will use a random picker.
    • You can pick a number already guessed, if you want...

What is SteemBasicIncome?
A unique social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible.
Started by @josephsavage

  • Complete overview
    • Once you get a share, you will receive free upvotes to your posts for life!
      • You can purchase a share for 1 STEEM.
        And BOGO free for someone else.

More fishing pics...

Here's a pic of Jimmie.

  • Another friend and JP's fishing bud...
    • Showing off one of their better days of fishing the Missouri River last year.

Jimmie.jpg

Here's the first time I went out with JP and Jimmie...

  • They felt bad because we ONLY CAUGHT A 30 SOME POUNDER!!!

BigCatfish p8280124.jpg

More about JP...

He's quite the outdoorsman!

  • He traps, hunts and fishes.
    • All better than most people I know!
Turkey.jpgbobcat.jpg
Deer.jpg2 in wheelbarrow.jpg

Rules

Comment your guess in pounds.

  • Only 1 guess per user

I recently learned requiring an upvote is considered abuse
according to the Steemit FAQ.

  • Here's @simplymike's post explaining that
    • So no upvote or anything but your comment with a guess
      is required to be entered for the share of SBI.
      • Before you run a contest, you need to read her post...!

However, I will sweeten the pot if you upvote and/or resteem this post.
I have 2 dolphin keyrings to give away.

  • You get 1 ticket into a random drawing for upvoting this post.
  • You get 1 ticket into another random drawing for resteeming this post.
    • You can only win one of the drawings.
      If you both upvote and resteem, you will be in both drawings, but can only win once.
    • You must be willing to get me your address so I can snail mail them to you...
      I guess we could use discord's private message for that... ?
      I'm still learning about discord...
      • You are going to want to win one of these nifty keyrings!

You NEED one of these!!!


keychain 1.jpg

Do you ever feel like this ?!?!? πŸ˜‚ haha

keychain 2.jpg

Why this contest?

I'm celebrating 60 days here on Steemit!

  • and 323 Followers
  • and a 48 reputation
  • and I can now upvote and give a penny! woohoo!!!
    • Wanted to share about my outdoorsman friend JP
    • Haven't had a #myhuntingfishing post for awhile...
      • Hunters and fishermen should use this tag to get more exposure!
      • Follow @myhuntingfishing to see all sorts of great posts!
    • Wanted to share about @SteemBasicIncome
      • Give the gift that keeps on giving...
    • Wanted to share about #newbiegames
  • Don't forget to follow if you want me to show up in your feed...

Results of this contest will be posted within a day of payout of this post.

So, you may want to follow me, so you will see if you are a winner.

  • I'll also go over a few things in that post about like:
    • The setup he uses.
    • The bait he uses.
    • What part of the Missouri River he fishes.
    • ... ...
      • Is he available as a guide? HINT probably...

Good Luck everyone!!!

Sort: Β 

Thank you for the info about posting contests. My guess is 230 lbs!

Good luck @nickbuha!!!

Thanks go to @simplymike for the heads up...

Just read it, thank you for the link.

πŸ‘ welcome...

  • I really don't see a problem with requiring it for some contests.
    But I can see the point that upvoting eats your voting power, so I'm looking forward to more discussion about it...

Using a wheelbarrow to move it I will say a 130 lbs. I may be way off but is just a guess. LOL.

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Good luck @basicstoliving!!!

I've never had to use a wheelbarrow to move any of my fish !!! haha

Me either, I guess I just ain't doing something right. LOL

I'll be giving away some of his secrets on the followup post to this one, where I announce winners. 😎

  • He does have the advantage of growing up on the river and fishing it his whole life...
    • He was a commercial fisherman for a decade or so.
      Carp was his main moneymaker.
      That was hoop nets and such.
      • This fish was caught on a trotline...

The number that came to my mind was 225 pounds. Pretty close to @nickbuha's guess!

Good luck @myhuntingfishing

Thanks for being the goto spot to find good hunting and fishing posts!

Thank you! It is my pleasure! It will only get better as time goes on. That is the hope at least! That said, I am extremely pleased with how well things are going! Thank you for your valuable contributions!

I guess 165 lbs

Good luck @synergysteem!!!

I notice you are a homesteader. There is quite a lively group of us here on Steemit. If you make a post and use the tag #homesteading, they will find you.

i would say a 172lb is just a guess

Good luck @prnavas84!!!

Welcome to Steemit!

  • I look forward to your introductory post...

233 lbs
noodling wasn't use to catch those monsters lol

Good luck @wolfhart !!!

No noodling... trotlines...

118 pounds!

Good luck @alevaskye !!!

I guess 167 pounds.

Good luck @alaskahippie !!!

Lol, I don’t have a clue how to count in pounds. Gonna have to find myself a converter. Brb

Okay, found a converter πŸ™„
I’m so bad at guessing... 190

Good luck @simplymike !!!

236 pounds, that is massive.

Good luck @giddyupngo !!!

Yes it is! ...and tasty too!

135 pounds. But a very impressive fish!

Good luck @smithlabs !!!

It is a dandy fish.

Yes, I had trouble guessing because the perch I catch are a poor reference, ROFLOL!

I catch a lot of fish that are smaller than what those guys use for bait!!! haha

What a monster, I thought it was a dolphin for a brief second haha. I'm going to guess 210lbs.

Good luck @galacticvagabond !!!

🐬 The keychains ARE dolphins! 🐬

Haha, I know I know. I genuinely thought the catfish was a dolphin for a second (I'm sat quite far back from my computer) :)

143 pounds based on nothing :)

Good luck @fitinfun !!!

My Guess is 126.5 lbs I know the size of some of the big fish in the Missouri. My ex wife was a conservation surveyor. On weekends I would bank fish while she conducted her surveys. I think she and I met you guys once. The one cat broke the scale y'all were using.
Do you all fish outside booneville?

Good luck @motinkergnome !!!

These were caught up around the Nishnabotna River.
My brother used to fish the Lamine River a lot.
I grew up in Marshall...

Thanks, I Grewup in STL and got the hell out of there about 2002. I love living where the air is clean and my neighbors are a drive away.

You're welcome!
ahh STL a good place to be from! haha
(meaning no longer living there...)

114 lbs.

Good Luck @j85063 !!!

I think it got a weight of 138 lbs!

Good Luck @kraitahex !!!

Gotta be at least 150 pounds..Those are some huge fish. enough to feed a whole neighborhood.

Good luck @thethreehugs !!!

JP knows how to put on a fish fry!
He even knows how to cook carp so it is delicious.
Good times!!!

Daaaamn!! I sure miss those southern fried fish and hush puppies!!!

That's a very large fish @wizardave! My uneducated guess is that it's 118 lbs.

=^..^=

Good luck @curatorcat !!!

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

hmmm, I'm gonna guess 108 pounds :)

My guess is 169 lbs

I'm going with 93 pounds. Thanks for the chance at some SBI @wizardave

Good luck @wonderwop !!!

You're welcome. SBI is a pretty cool experiment!

My guess will be 90lbs.

Good luck @donskoy !!!

@wizardave I’m guessing 107 pounds. That’s a huge catfish by the way!

Good luck @oregontravel

JP and Jimmie actually caught one bigger than this, but that was before cameras on smart phones...

I'm going to guess 100 pounds.

Good luck @barton26 !!!

I guess 158 pounds

Good luck @gduran !!!

Wow, that fish looks unbelievable! I would say around 120lbs? Although, I can't believe that really existed!

Good luck @bengy !!!

That photo has not been touched. It's a real fish. No, JP is not a midget. haha

Well, if it is more than 120lbs, it's bigger than me.!

180lbs is my guess

Good Luck @sinlg !!!

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Congratulations @wizardave! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Don't forget to resteem and upvote if you want in on the drawings for the keychains. Only 3 resteems so far, so the odds are pretty good...
emoji thumbs up.jpg
Emoji Source

Hot DAMN what a fish!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Winner Winner Winner Guess the catfish weight... 96#
^^^^ That is the link ^^^^

Winners have been announced and prizes distributed.

  • Thanks to everyone for making this a fun contest!

i will say it's 110 kg