Monster Catfish!!!!

in #nature4 years ago

On Mothers Day, My Mom, Sister, and I went out to a little pond to go fishing. I was going for bass and catfish, and setup my catfish rod with a HUGE piece of chopped white bass. I was going for bass for a little bit when my Mom started yelling that my catfish rod was going. I had my backpack and my cooler sitting in front of it. I see my rod flip my backpack over and flip my full cooler over and start booking it over to the rod. My brand new catfish rod almost flew into the water! My Mom was on the phone and grabbed the rod one handed and was holding it until I got there. Once I got there, I grabbed the rod and instantly after I reeled a full turn I hear the drag going crazy, this fish was pulling ALL my line out! I saw the fish surface somewhere in the middle of the pond and it was massive, for sure the biggest catfish I have ever had on the end of my line. I fought the fish for somewhere around 7 minutes until I could see the fish in the water near the shore. I could barely get her out of the water. when I picked it up I knew it was somewhere in the 10-12 pound range. She was around 37-40 inches and her head was MASSIVE. For sure my favorite fish I have ever reeled in.

IMG_1081.JPG

I'm a tall person, so here's a picture of the fish compared to my Mom

IMG_1085.JPG

The fish was literally half the length of my Mom lol.

PB fish out of the smallest pond I've been fishing out of. Hope I catch more huge catfish this season. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Nice catch. Here is my biggest catfish

20190803_190614.jpg

In this area you can catch up to 100kg but haven't seen any yet.

That is massive. Great catch.

Thanks. The only one reason why I go on fishing for catfish is the hope for a huge one. I know his potential and that's what motivates me. Otherwise I don't like it as a fish. I prefer other types of predators and I made a few fishing posts over time. The prohibition will be over on June 2, in here and I hope to have some nice fishing days.

This is my biggest ever. Chinese carp.

20180729_194755.jpg

what type of catfish is that??? Looks kinda like a wels catfish, but with more red than it. And that carp is awesome, I just got a fly rod and the carp over here love top water flies, really hoping I can hook up to one soon.

It is Romanian catfish, I currently live in Romania and fish here. I don't like eating fish though but, folks around here do and it's quite expensive for the local market.

And catfish taste really good lol. I don't really like eating fish, but catfish taste super good. I made some catfish nuggets with a recipe I made and it was amazing. I just did 2 eggs, some milk in the eggs, crunched up some croutons, put some bird/game rub in the crouton dust. And dipped the catfish in the egg, then the croutons twice. Then I fried it. It was super yummy :)

I wish I could have gone. That thing was huge. I am gonna have to get my license soon so we can go catch more.

Congratulations @therealrylan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Well done👍

Great catch! How tall are you?! That fish looks a lot smaller in your hands :D Great fish for the fight but butt-ugly. The catfish lake I go to has finally opened up so I'm going very soon. :)

I'm 6'2 lol, I was not expecting this fish from this tiny pond

That's one fine looking fish. That'll feed you for a while...

I let him go lol, I don't like keeping the big fish just cause they keep the ecosystem in that tiny pond stable. I'm planning on going today and hopefully catch a smaller fish to eat

That’s a great looking fish!