You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY ART DECO FASHION - What is it about the 1920s?

in #needlework2 years ago

Hello @erh.germany,
I love this 1920's dress you've crafted together from men's pants!
This dress compliments your body and face perfectly, as if the 20's style was made for you. This era of clothing is my favorite that you produce and I really feel like it suits you so nicely.

The way you organized all of the photos and the quality of the photos with such nice lighting and organizing is quite superb in my opinion and it shows that you put a lot of work in crafting a great quality post to go with this amazing dress.

You mention lacking the practice to make precision straight seams, but I think your seams look pretty precise, and I feel there is something special about visibly hand made sewn seams that I cannot explain really, but I find it attractive and think hand made clothing is the best.

The dress doesn't look like it would restrict your mobility at all, and I wonder if you tried dancing in it to test this out?

I love the paintings of yours that you snuck in the post. They are very good, you're a really talented painter too!

That sewing box is unbelievable, it's huge!

Amazing post my friend, can't wait to see you show us more of your talent in the future.

Sort:  

Hey my friend,

pleased to meet you here :) The fashion from the 20s I do like since I've got older. I would not have liked it in my younger years, though. One part is indeed because of the looseness and the convenience in wearing it.
You are right and I am happy that your sharp and observant eye always sees the details. It took me some time to work on the photographs and the lightening and so on. It was fun, like a one woman magazine workshop in which I was doing all the stuff myself.

HaHa, I was not dancing yet in the dress but I guess it wouldn't be a problem, look at the gents and ladies from the Beebop times or Charleston, they performed like crazy in their clothes :)

I thought of scaling up my paintings first (in original, they size around 50x70 centimeters) but then decided to "snuck" them in, like you said (again, an expression so far unfamiliar to me, thank you:) The ensemble fittet so well together.

I am not always clear what I would like to show, ... do you think, I should make a pure art/painting post? For I mostly and often choose "art" in my postings as a tag but maybe people understand art to be different from what I do.

Greetings my friend,

Thank you for the lovely response and kind words :)

I am not always clear what I would like to show, ... do you think, I should make a pure art/painting post? For I mostly and often choose "art" in my postings as a tag but maybe people understand art to be different from what I do.

I think we share similarities in the creative process, in that we go with the flow.

In my mind, there are various ways to look at it, and perhaps many would agree that maximizing posting content to maximize earning potential is probably the preferred (and most popular) method to use. (but is it the best method?)

However this can deteriorate the creative process by placing limitation on oneself, in my opinion. Meaning, if you were to create an art post separate from this one just for the sake of getting another post out of it, this post would have not had this really cool artistic addition.

The perceptive viewer will see your creative flow at work and how art spontaneity bursts from the depths of your imaginative process in real time, and is a very attractive talent you have.

The dress it art, your words are art, every bit of this post is artistic, so I don't see the paintings as out of place a single bit.

I think it would be cool to see some dedicated painting posts, but no matter what you decide to do I'm sure I will love it because you are one of the most talented women I know and you emanate art from your every pore.

I look forward to your future publications <3