Sort:  

Fishyness is based on what steemit calls vest. (I have no clue yet what a vest is). A redfish is someone with less than 1,000,000 (one million) vest. A couple of days ago, that equaled for me 491 SP. (one million vest = {amount}SP changes over time). So the next step up is minnow at the 1,000,000 vest level. then a Dolphin is ten times bigger than a minnow so you need 10,000,000 vest to become a dolphin, and so it grows by tens, next is Orca 100,000,000 and then whale 10,000,000,000 I think if I am remembering right.

Most new users think they are minnows.

The following link is to a post a few years old but it explains the vests to steem principle and why your SP grows over time by itself.

https://steemit.com/interest/@sigmajin/understanding-the-steem-economic-system-vests-sbd-steem-dilution-interest-and-all-those-crazy-things

That's a great article and I almost missed it. Thanks for sharing it. I learned a great deal right there and it was useful as I was contemplating powering down and buying SBD when the exchange was right. I sure won't bother with that now.

I know I learned a great deal by reading that. Keeping Vests is the only way to longer term prevent against inflation on this block-chain.

Oh, well I'm totally a redfish then. I knew I was the smallest, no matter what my wife says.

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

Hi There! You have just been upvoted by @justinadams Witness. You will always recieve a free upvote on every post you make on steemit as long as you keep your witness vote. Thanks For Your Support.

Hi There! You have just been upvoted by @justinadams Witness. You will always recieve a free upvote on every post you make on steemit as long as you keep your witness vote. Thanks For Your Support.

This has to stop. These are not posts, they're comments. I guess I'll have to get a hold of you.

Hi There! You have just been upvoted by @justinadams Witness. You will always recieve a free upvote on every post you make on steemit as long as you keep your witness vote. Thanks For Your Support.