Virtual Reality demo with mannequin banned from Tokyo trade show

in #news8 years ago (edited)

A company thought it would be a good idea to demonstrate their virtual reality app at the Tokyo Game Show exhibition with an interactive 3d modelling software that allowed gamers to reach out to touch a virtual charcater. To make it seem more real, the company, M2, allowed users to fill up a mannequin (literally) since they put sensors in the breast to make the character react when touched there.

Well things got out of HAND to say the least. Virtual reality got a little too REAL for those managing the show, so they banned the company from doing any of these demos at the show. Sorry dudes but I agree this is not a cool thing at a public show where kids go.

Report back for Family on the Show


Speakking of my kids... My wife, boys and couple of their friends went out to the show as I mentioned in yesterday's post (link at the bottom). They tried a bunch of different kid type games which they tought was cool - but not their chaperone :) They were saying they want to go back tomorrow but not going to happen.

I asked them to bring back any samples that may be handed out and take some photos. What I got back was EXCUSES!!

They said, "It was too crowded and I didn't care to take anything. We were busy and forgot about pictures". But they said, "we were trying virtual reality stuff so how do we take a picture of what we were seeing.. like flying or riding around on some virtual beast" My youngest said some of them made him feel a little sick and dizzy.

But whatever, it sounds like they were in lines a lot waiting to try stuff that I probably would have been interested in. Here is a video I found that gives a good overview of all the action.

I think next year, I'll have "work" on one of the days the trade show is going, and I'll just go with some of my friends that can appreciate the finer points of the show. :)

See the kind and attentive staff at Capcom ready to give you a panphlet. I mean come on guys, what's the deal!

Link to original post about being invited to the Tokyo Game Show and then having my invitation ripped away from me by the power's that be: https://steemit.com/news/@tokyodude/any-up-for-going-to-the-tokyo-game-show-this-weekend

P.S. I felt bad, so I didn't make chocolate without the kids. They need to learn it anyways, so they can make for me in the future. :)