Next Colony--A Retrospective: The Fourth Planet, A New Frontier, and Never Give It Up

in #nextcolony4 years ago

Pestilence, disease, pollution, rot, stink, perversions, incompetence, and a lack of basic respect for the health and welfare of fellow colonists. These are only some of the ways I have described conditions on my planets.

Well, some of it is for humor's sake. It's a game. However, there was genuine pain before finding my fourth planet.

Lord knows how many generations it took. My first three planets formed a nice tri-angle, and I was able to transport resources and build efficiently.

I nearly quit. Then, after hundreds of searches, at eighteen space squares away, this turned up:

co_coal_1.png
Lucky-2

I know what you are thinking; it kind of looks like an a-hole. A common coal, Lucky-2 is now home to the upper crust of my citizens. With an emphasis on the word crust, these bouguisie live decadent and empty lives. In a fitting way, a-hole only begins to describe the basic personality types of those who reside here. I will carpet bomb the place myself someday.

At the time, however, it may as well been made of diamonds. I had a new base of operations and a renewed excitement in continuing the game.

Stay tuned for part five.

Thank you.