Conquering the Eastern territory for steemit under the Steemit In Nigeria umbrella

in #nigeria7 years ago

IMG-20170728-WA0012.jpg

Introduction to the event

According to @ehiboss in this post which he vividly explains a bout the Steemit In Nigeria event and I define in his words which we collectively agree to.

Steemit In Nigeria is a Nigerian event aimed at creating mass awareness about the steem/steemit possibility. The project started more than three months ago as a project to contribute back to the steemsphere.

The idea of the event which existed as far back as May 2017, was the first proposed mega meet up of new and aspiring steemians and steem users in Nigeria. The idea quickly moved from simply being an idea to becoming a planned event.
The event being the first of it's kind of that magnitude in Nigeria of course not neglecting a humble meet up previously held by a Nigerian steemian who was also on the platform. The main objective behind it was to fix the con of so many meet ups, which was the cost.

In a country like Nigeria, every cent counts and holding meet ups to solely celebrate steemians existing in a geographical location was not technically helping to increase the population here, it was spending money that could be given to charity, hence the idea for an event that actually targets everyone not only pre-existing steemians.

The Eastern Steemit call

The Eastern part of Nigeria which comprises of not less than five states of the total states in Nigeria, has millions of individuals who are educated yet unemployed.

The vast majority of the unemployed graduates are either due to lack of godfathers to "push buttons", lack of cash to bribe interviewers, lack of jobs which need their specialized skill set, unfavorable employment quota in the country etc.
Most of these graduates now opt to become criminals, not due to their preferred choice, rather, due to harsh economic climes.

In biology, evolution theory to be precise, we realize that it is survival of the fittest, which implies that everyone simply wants to survive as it is in the human nature never to go down without a fight.
Not to bore you with my talks of biology, we relate this to the harsh but realistic situations people find themselves in, in this world.

The Eastern part of Nigeria is known for it's industrious nature and a quick trip to the popular Aba market will answer the question of doubt you might have.
They are also known for being people who know how to promote business and investments making the right leadership calls when necessary.

Even though I have taken up minutes of your time telling you what google might not even know, I will explain yet further to say that as sweet as I have painted the scenario in the Eastern part of Nigeria, I can tell you that sadly, there are millions of unemployed youths in the country.

So many people blame the large population for the rate of employment, but if so, then Madagascar should be richer than Nigeria right?
The country is richly blessed with an abundance of resources and because of the "centralized" nature of things, only a few greedily exploit and abuse the resources continously, thereby plunging the once rich country into an oblivion of poverty.

What then is the way forward? Some time back, I found the answer and it was in the Steemit In Nigeria event. When I saw the initial posts about the event, I dug further and I and @ehiboss made contact and did some brainstorming, turns out we had similar ideals about helping people and it clicked.

I realized that everyone else was simply doing meetups for people already users of steemit, but this was different, this was centered around people who had nothing or people who genuinely needed another chance at getting at least three square meals daily.

This had a potential of keeping the streets clean to an extent and that was the ideal @ehiboss also shared. Do you know that the war on crime has always been fought with violence or force, but has yielded little results as compared to the time frame, this is largely due to the fact that once the people are caught and released, they have no where else to go but right back to crime. This time around, violence and crime will be clamped with love and opportunity.

I immediately set to work on my own part by talking to people about steemit and the steemit in Nigeria event. I hit my first crossroad when I realized that the people being introduced needed mentoring about the dos and dont's of the site. I put out a post as the work was cumbersome for only me, immediately @ehiboss contacted me and offered to help and we started a whatsapp group for the people we introduced and since then we have been gathering people totalling almost 60 so far, and we explain daily on how to go about steemit.

The goal and the challenges

The goal of the event is aimed at helping people find employment and also helping Steem as a crypto.
According to this post:

  • The event aims at creating blogging employment for millions of Nigerians through steemit and allowing the exponential growth of the community.
  • An internet usage in a country like Nigeria will definitely put steemit.com in the top 100 sites in the shortest possible time.
  • A good and active user base could be a major boost on the direction of $4 to 1 steem before this year runs out.
  • A facebook and youtube like community which pays you for your words becomes possible numerically with this event.
  • The event also aims at fostering healthy interaction among people, and a chance to show creativity in various walks of life.

The major challenges

  • A lot of the people being introduced to the platform from the East want to attend the event in November, but transportation the cost of transport is a major issue.
  • The cost of data which is very high as we have to be online constantly to attend to people in the group and also sponsor those who do not have the initial capital to buy data.
  • Registration of new members as the process of registration is very slow sometimes and up till now, we still have new members pending, yet to be approved.

The team members

The cost

The original budget was scaled to $3,500 (not checked for inflation) and $4,500 (with inflation). Of course, the changes in the budget equals a resultant change in the structure of the event.

Thanks for Reading

ogoo generic.gif

ogoo badge.jpg

@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me

Sort:  

@ogoowinner
The few weeks I know you thru steemit shows you are one good hard worker who inspires me...little wonder I mentioned you in my mile stone post of today. Keep steeming and doing great stuffs

Thanks @kenhudoy. I've seen the post.

always welcome dear.. keep doing well... am proud of you here in steemit...

Happy to read this article, please is there any room for sponsorship and donations; like some of us that are mobile; can they donate their cars to minimize the transportation cost? The venue and date should also have a reminder follow up. @ogoowinner; I appreciate you and your team for such input, don't hesitate to let me know; in case if there is any place that may need my assistance. God bless his world.

I'll call you on phone bro. Thanks for showing support.

This is an awesome idea, Nigerian Steemians Unite! Steemit is making progress in Enugu, particularly among university students, The University of Nigeria, Enugu campus has a Steem whatsapp group where we all share ideas and posts. It'll be nice to spread the Steemit gospel everywhere in Nigeria, so unemployment would be a thing of the past.

@yvonn, that's impressive. I never knew we already have a lot of steemit users in Enugu.

@ogoowinner

thanks for sharing this...keep up the good work dear... so where is the event location gonna be in the east of Nigeria?
is everyone invited and what does it entail to attend.. you guys are doing good work...

A lot of the people being introduced to the platform from the East want to attend the event in November, but transportation the cost of transport is a major issue.

I believe this was what she said, she did not say that there was an Eastern venue. We are gathering ALL Nigerians under one roof and not separate venues...

thanks for the clarification and where is the venue located

This is an amazing idea.i would have to plan and undertake one for my country Ghana

Message me on steemit chat

Hi friend how are you? Where not to post frequently? I have a chat in steemit.chat. You are very hard working to develop steemit in Nigeria. I support you friend. I'm very worried about meeting you. I think you are a very good person and concern for the weak.

Thanks for checking on me @berkat. I'll soon start posting frequently. I was previously down health wise.

Very quiet no you friends.

Nice idea @ogoowinner. I myself is impressed

An internet usage in a country like Nigeria will definitely put steemit.com in the top 100 sites in the shortest possible time.

You are right on point sis. The same way we put mmmoffice.com into the global ranking. At the moment, we have 95million Nigerians online and it is an addition to that number daily.

I fully support this wonderful initiative. #upvote&resteem

@lucashunter, you are among those making Nigeria great here. I know the Nigerian community alone can take steemit far. Thanks for your support.

Thank you. I promise to support our community more. You are doing a good work too. God bless you more! Amen!

i dey una back like rock. Even if i am not financially buoyant for now, i still dey una back.

Thank you.

Stigmatatata from Lake Titicaca!

you are more than welcome

Thumbs up @ogoowinner, let us show why we are the giants of Africa

Yeah! Thanks for creating this idea.

this is exactly how the youths of Nigeria should be thinking. How to help themselves and their future. welldone, its a very welcomed idea. please sign me up...cheers!

Very good idea, I wish you success.

Thanks @charles1

Welcome and keep up the good work. More success.

I enjoyed every bit of the write up. De fact dat am from de east made me shiver with sympathy and delight. Weldone @ogoowinner @ehiboss

@mimy, I'm glad to know that. Please dm me on steemit chat. Thanks for reading.

Great it would be for sure !!
My best wishes :) to the whole team

I'm really glad to be a part of this massive revolution championed by @ogoowinner and @ehiboss. You guys rock.
How do we pledge our supports for this kind of great movement?

@samminator thank you. I'll contact you soon.

Weldone @ogoowinner, your efforts & contributions towards the growth of Nigerian community here in steemit has been remarkable. @ehiboss too.

  • I wish other Nigerians could adopt this kind of mind set, putting all religious, ethnic and tribal differences aside, Nigeria would be inseparable.

We are all learning. I'm glad you appreciate our efforts. Thanks for reading @ememovic.

lovely badge ogooo

Thank you @uchefrancis.

I support this wholeheartedly. Resteemed

Loving this.. This is where we base, welcome

This is a welcomed development. You all make us proud every time , keep up with the good work, I will support in anyway I can . Cheers!

breathe in your soul you beach on my sea
This heart's inward is a holy love
My intention to your death
Loving just you
Thirst of my soul I love
My soul mate me you
To die I want to be with you
This is my point
My soulmate wants you
One love to death separates
You and I are one
Love each other
After my sad sadness
Life is now yours

Nice post
Follow @sinta

@ogoowinner, do have you thought of incorporating Nigerians in diaspora too?. Is there a plan yet, maybe some of us can fit in if possible. Ofcourse, if steemit gets great hold in Eastern Nigeria, then Nigeria is covered already. Ibos are everywhere, lol.

Right now, it's for people living in Nigeria. I'll contact the chief organizer to ask him his thought on incorporating Nigerians in diaspora .