Hanaer Naar, handcut collage 170/100cm.

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

naar-7.jpg

naar-1.jpg

One of my largest artworks is inspired by a well known building of my hometown, Thessaloniki. Designed by a Jewish architect and owned by an upper class Jewish family 100 years ago, stands as a reminder of my city's multicultural past. I created the artwork having as a guide the architectural sketches and as the material photographs of the city life 100 years ago taken from the municipality's archive. I used b&w for the building and the negative of the same photos for the background. I used liquid glue for pasting and to varnish the artwork which was mounted on a very heavy 170,100cm wooden board. That was a really bad idea which resulted to the destruction of the artwork due to bad storage conditions. Lesson learned!

Details
naar-4.jpg

naar-5.jpg

naar-6.jpg

Sort:  

It's interesting to combine b&w and negative photos @georgeboya I like the woman and the moon on rooftop.


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

I am happy that you like her, she is a classic Greek old lady:)

Quite a sad story about final destruction, but simply stunning combination here. Very interesting to look into smaller details, like sinking deeper and deeper... :)

[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you @axeman:) Sometimes while you are learning your medium you make the wrong choices and you end with a ruined artwork, It is part of the process:)

Thank you georgeboya! You've just received an upvote of 69% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Thank you for the support @artturtle:)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Greetings darling, how are you?

I like this collage and it saddens me to read that you lost your job because of the material you used, the good thing is that you will not commit this same mistake again in your other works, so I think something good is left of all this. ;)

Good morning sweet Carmen, i am fine:) How are you?:)
I am very happy that you like the artwork. Don't be sad, i am not, technicaly it was not a good artwork. Sometimes you have a good idea but if you dont have the knowledge to support it with technical skill, it is ruined. Yes i learned a lot from this lesson. And other lessons also, art is quite the teacher, hahaha

Yes, I understand you not all accept or like what is done.
Through time you learn what you must do to make the work of art perfect without making mistakes.
I have many, I hope that one day I will eliminate them heheh.

👍👏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you:)

Wow, this collage is fantastic. It must have taken you many hours to glue this artwork together. So sorry to hear that it got destroyed. All the best for your further artprojects. I am happy to follow you :)

Thank you very much:) Yes it took many many hours, but it is ok, dont be sad i am not at all, i consider it a good practice in cutting and pasting:)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here