Art of the day #2,638

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0So #ntopaz is having a Sci-Fi contest, and I've been thinking of what I'd want to create for my 3rd entry (you can see my first 2 entries:

Entry 1: The Mechanic Who Worked On Mechs

Entry 2: The Broken Robot(The Robot That Dropped His Beer)

And while this one isn't a contest entry for me, thinking of cyber-futures has gotten me thinking about 3D again.. It's been a while... So... started messing around a bit again. This is in a sci-fi direction, but not quite what I'd think is good enough (or relevant) enough for the contest. A good start, and a fun image.

Here's a quick screencap of the pre-rendered image....

2019-07-13_12-02-58.png

So what was I going for?
1)A bit of an Alien, though humanesque, so we can relate to the expression.
2)"Hard surface modeling" - this is the term for what you see in sci-fi: Helmets / space ships / robots.... Generally, lots of screws/nuts/bolts - sharp corners. In this particular image, that would be the helmet, and goggles.
3)Making it a full scene - there's a foreground and a background, and hopefully enough of an expression (not just facial - keep in mind that the direction the face is turning is expressive as well) to generate "Story" (the image is interesting enough to where your brain tries to figure out what's going on).

So, where am I going moving forward?
Control over the medium... Being able to sculpt exactly what I want... This one turned out good enough, it's a nice image... but there's people that I follow online that make me feel like a total newbie. These are the guys that work on Hollywood films and video games.

Improvement in quality -- There's being able to sculpt a robot... but then there's showing a robot, and then there's showing a robot! You know, better lighting, better textures, better composition -- just making an image that looks better. I want to create images that make you stop in your tracks and go "wow!"

That's part of the reason that I create art every single day. One of the issues though - for me - since I experiment with tons of different styles / techniques / medium... and each one is a completely different learning curve. So, 3D is a HUGE learning curve... there's the interface of each application. There's modeling, posing, rendering lighting,, texturing, compositing, composition, and more...... I'm trying to learn all at once :)

And what's the point? Just to make you the best images that I possibly can.

Original Background from Max Pixel

Sort:  

A great piece, I really like the glasses I see something reflected in it, it looks more rea, the textures have the skin is great.

I think that where you want to go is where many of us want to go, it's a long way to learn, but being able to work for those big industries of film and video games is a dream for any ConceptArtist, 3D Artist, Illustrator.
Certainly the work you do will be reflected through time and will bring its rewards. :)


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

I used to want to work in the film industry. I still enjoy seeing some friends' names in the credits on occasion during a major film... but... I've moved beyond that. I'm more of a solo-artist. My goals are now to create art that helps charities raise a lot of money for their good causes.

Yes! true that is what many of us want, people work hard to have a very high level to earn money in big industries, get to see our names in a movie, it must be exciting! But knowing that with what you do you can help others is a greater reward since what you do has a greater meaning and you do not do it for what you will receive but for what you give, the other rewards come alone.

It is one thing to work to be rich [monetary wealth is not everything] one day and another is to do what you like and be humble of heart.

Hello! Your 3D work looks great!

--- I would like you to confirm if the background image you used is the same I found here. I will be waiting for your reply. Thanks a lot!

  1. Copyright: If you have practiced copying another person's work, you must specify the author and source.
    ※It doesn’t mean inspiration, but just copying. (This is one of nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines) ---

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZnTOPAZ Posting Guidelines [EN][KR][ES]
Visit our website • Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord • Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Hello @eugelys ! Thanks for the kind words.
Yes, the background, though highly modified, is based on that very background that you've spotted.
I have updated the post to include a link and attribution back to the url that you included. I apologize if I forgot to include it, and will definitely make sure that any elements will be attributed in future posts. I am new here, but a fast learner.

Thank you for your quick response. I recommend that you use royalty-free images in future opportunities to adjust nTOPAZ's copyright policies. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us! Thanks again!

The line between Royalty Free / Creative Commons is a thin one. I'm a big fan of both for different reasons, and definitely have subscriptions to many royalty free sites. I'll definitely try to stick to more of those.

Gotta say that I'm very impressed that a)Ntopaz's curators are so passionate about copyright (as a person who's had lots of work stolen without attribution, etc.. I have much appreciation for this). b)That you were able to spot a specific incident- and the specific image. Very impressive.

I am sorry to hear that you have been a victim of plagiarism :( Your work is very creative and full of quality. I wish you continued success! Thank you for sharing your great talent!

Introduction to nTOPAZnTOPAZ Posting Guidelines [EN][KR][ES]
Visit our website • Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord • Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Actually, that's the same image... but not the same URL -- I got it from the original authoring site: https://www.maxpixel.net/Brick-Abstract-Background-Black-Architecture-3592117

Interesting, pity you did not write 200 words so I could recommend you for #pifc. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I can edit it to have more words.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will make a note so I can recommend you for the next one. Have a look at @pifc what they ask for. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah! Was in the middle of a project when you first wrote about 200 words... So, just added the words before even knowing what @pifc is. Now that I've got a little more time, I looked up what it is. Very cool! Definitely an honor to be considered. Thank you.

@wakeupkitty - Now this article has over 400 words. :)
I actually enjoy the writing... I would like to write more... It's just a matter of making the time.

Congratulations @theartofori! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great work, it's so crisp and lifelike!

Oh yeah... I installed Procreate on my iPad. I still need to buy a pencil, but I have a fat stylus pen that's good enough for now.

Thrilled that you like it. I actually plan on practicing.... I'm a bit rusty. Maybe give myself a 30 days of sci-fi robot heads challenge... or something like that... 30 days of character creation in 3d challenge... something... I dunno- I'll figure it out- but I am dusting the cobwebs off.

As far as procreate- congrats! I see great things.. And... you know what? Get started! You don't even need a stylus -- yes... the Pencil is amazing (from what I've seen on Youtube)... but, I made tons of art using just an ipad and my finger. So, don't even feel like you're settling. You got this! Go (pro)create!