Eagle Screams And 3-Wheeler Scenes

in #ocd3 years ago


Source

Yesterday, as I was sitting in the employee parking lot of Silverwood Theme Park waiting for my son, I witnessed a sight that took me back to my logging camp time. It was a beautiful, sunny Sunday, albeit it was a touch on the crisp side at a high of only 47 degrees Fahrenheit, so I found myself strangely thankful for my car's Easy Bake the Kat windows. Instead of driving home, only to leave and drive again to pick up my soon to be retail cashier trainee fourteen year old, I decided to take my plot outline notebook for the novel I am currently drafting and spend some rare quiet time in imagination-land.

While I was brainstorming ways to give my protagonist her thirteenth mental breakdown, I sensed some movement out of the corner of my eye. High above my little blue car was a rather large bald eagle gliding in the updrafts. Higher and higher the raptor drifted upward, only to slowly circle downward upon the wind before ascending towards the stratosphere again.

Mental anguish administration forgotten, I smiled at the gliding creature and thought fondly of another time where a soaring eagle brought me a bit of mirth, well, it was more than one eagle actually, and there was more terror than mirth, but I digress.

IMG_1703 (2).jpg

During my time in the Alaskan wilderness logging camp I became used to seeing many unconventional sights. Everything is just a little bit larger in Alaska, from the mountains to the mosquitos, and eagles are no exception. Somewhere in one of my grandparent's photo albums is a picture of my grandpa and three other men holding a bald eagle that was unfortunate enough to dance a fatal duet with some powerlines. The bird's wingspan was ten feet from tip to tip. Eagles in Alaska are big.

That said, I think it was the combination of the roving gang of ATV and motorcycle riding adolescents that visited our farm the previous day in combination with the serendipitous eagle sighting that reminded me of the incident I am about to tell you of. Full disclosure, I am smiling right now.

One of our rare bits of entertainment as youths in camp was being able to tear around on an assortment of old Honda 3-wheelers and four wheelers. Most of them didn't have brakes and were not of the cool, new automatic variety. In fact, just yesterday I was having a conversation with my son about why I refuse to be a passenger on any ATV, my on/off switch scar tattoo that adorns my right knee cap serves a permanent reminder of that personal law. Anyway, riding through the wilderness without direction or destination is pretty rad, I highly recommend it. It was during one of those forays that I got to see one of the coolest/terrifying things I've ever witnessed.

My friend and fellow camp dweller J had the most annoying little brother ever. Like, seriously, he would squeal on you for breathing. One time we got so annoyed at him that we threw him in my friend's bathtub with a bunch of silver salmon. It seemed like a good idea at the time.


Source

Well, we were out riding ATV's by the log yard, and inhospitable stretch of steel grey sand and winding estuaries that dumped into Icy Bay. While we were flying along, I noticed a shadow pass over us. The shadow was a flock of large eagles. In front of us was J's little brother, the pest and pestilence that he was, flying along on a Honda Big Red 3-wheeler. All these years later, I feel as if Nature had decided to deliver us a bit of righteous indignation for putting up with K's horrible antics, for one of the eagles swooped in and began pecking and clawing at K's helmet clad form. Even above the din of the old engines and the screaming of the eagles, we could hear K squealing like a stuck pig. His cries of terror reverberated off of the rock walls that jutted to the sky above the log yard beach. My mouth popped open as all of the eagles began attacking K. Honestly it was a bit weird, I still don't know why the glittery 80's era motorcycle helmet triggered them so.

We all gunned our engines as we tried to keep up with K Eagle Flay, he had put the old wheeler into the ketchup, depressing the throttle as hard as it could be smashed down. All around him were eagles the size of sixth graders, lashing and pecking. And suddenly, just as like a passing squall the feathered attackers dispersed and disappeared into the low lying clouds.

The subsequent week was glorious, as K wouldn't leave the protective embrace of his family's abode. And in the spirit of unexpected and spectacular respite, I thanked the soaring creature above me in the parking lot for the gift its ancestors had bestowed upon me and my friends that misty day.


And as somewhat of the time, the cited images are from Pixabay, the non-cited were taken on my prone to dives of dashing and daring iPhone.


Sort:  

You know those eagles were all sitting in the trees around the bay and having to listen to his whining just like you. They were all sick of it and took the opportunity to put the little sob in his place. 🤣

I love my eagles and hearing them when I wake in the morning. The other day I saw them both come in really low through the yard, only about 20 feet over the house and go land in their nest.

“Let’s take out that chirping, annoying one, mmkay?” 😂

I’d like to think the big beasties were doing us a solid, and I’m so happy that you get to enjoy listening to them have discussions. I miss their calls😊

If it was one of those glittery disco ball esque helmets that might have attracted them. I know ravens have had an affinity for them over the years and have attacked people.

I'm sure some of it is yelling as loud as the chatter is between the eagles. That pipping and peeping is so loud sometimes I can hear it in the house with the windows shut. If that is conversation I'd bet anything more comes to blows.

Growing up we had golden eagles that nested for years then would just perch on the destroyed tree later on on the top of the rock wall behind my house. I've loved birds of prey as long as I can remember. Our next door neighbors had cages of exotic birds as well and I would go to sleep in the summer with my screen door closed listening to the sounds of the macaws, cockatoos, cockatiels, parrots, and more all chattering away.

My brother and I were trying really hard to remember what the helmet was, and our consensus was it was a black helmet with two very flashy red glitter racing stripes, lol lol. Chick magnet🤣

Oh I so love golden eagles! But then again, I am like you and have adored birds of prey since I was a small fry too. A few years ago we had a Peregrine Falcon hit our window, and I went out and wrapped him with a towel and placed him in a safe spot until he was unstunned poor thing. He hissed at me and flew away about forty minutes later.

Your bird rancher neighbor sounds intriguing! That reminds me of a story about my dad I am so going write about that involves all those birds you mentioned, thanks the memory prod my friend!:)

How bizarre was that?!? We have a lot of eagles around here as there's a raptor rehab guy nearby. He was the first to breed eagles in captivity and then release them, or put the chicks, or eggs, in nests all over Mass.

That guy sounds awesome! We have a lady that does that here too, we have her bring the birds and do educational programs for the public at the library some years, I always love it when she brings the birds on by:)

And it was pretty bizarre, my brother and I just sat around reliving it while sipping our coffee this morning, lots of chuckling happened!

"Easy Bake the Kat windows" I must have a look in the car shop if I can find those.
Not that I need them here but I'd love to see them 😆 And if they truly exist or are you telling fibs??
Uhm...did you guys go on that ride after you stuck him in the bath tub with salmon?
Because that could explain it, of course: The eagles thought he was a fish!!!

I love stories like these, especially when it's true stories. Alaska is still very high on my list of places to visit. I actually almost moved there some years ago!
But now I think a visit is good enough because I can handle the heat better than the cold.

Now you've made me curious about your novel, so go and write...We want to read!!!

I LOVE eagles! We see them here quite often, even though we've living in the city.
We're a bit out of the center though so here there's still jungle surrounding us
and more birds flying around than in the busy center.
In the mornings, I often see 1, 2 or 3 eagles flying above us.
One day I was floating in the pool when one eagle circled the area a few times, and then hovered straight over me in the pool for a while. For a moment he probably thought:
WOW, that is a BIG fish I'm bringing home to my family, but upon closer inspection he must have realized there was no chance in hell he would have been able to pull it off.
Lucky me. Somehow it doesn't sound like a lot of fun to be pecked at while floating in the pool...or any time.

Oh, birds here are quite fierce by the way. We've seen birds attack cats here.
And not to protect their nest, but literally fly around, and chase them around the yard.
It's really funny to see because the cats are not as active due to the heat so they're not even phased by it.

LOL! I am pretty sure those windows don't exist, but then again, the internet has pretty much anything lol lol!

It's so weird that I dug this post out for Listnerds and then had an unexpected eagle encounter today! The eagles here in Idaho, while large birds, are nothing compared to the Alaska ones size wise! And I love them too, they are gorgeous, regal animals😊

And I hear you on the heat versus cold thing! I am so much happier in the warmth these days, that glorious humid heat of Mexico made my whole year when I wandered down that way! I did miss the attack birds though, dang! I would have loved to see those guys ha ha!

Hope you didn't get attacked in a pool today! LOL!

And pretty soon I am heading out into the wilderness for a bit of a retreat, I will try to finish up the novel while I am out there!

Oh my, what a crazy thing to witness! I bet that kid was scared to death.

I am sure you didn't think so at the time but you had the most fascinating childhood. Thanks for sharing on List Nerds,