I Wandered Off...

in #ocd3 years ago

IMG_1425.jpg

Over the years I have spouted off about the importance of self-care, wellness, escaping for mental sanity, etc. ad nauseum. Three days ago I took a dose of my own soapbox and escaped into the woods with two of my dearest friends. It was glorious.

IMG_1430.jpg

I'm talking homemade pizza, cozy fireside chats, snowshoeing in the woods glorious. There's something restorative about spending time in the company of souls who get you along with immersing yourself into some nature that isn't inhabited by other humans.

IMG_1431.jpg

The undeveloped parts of this planet are my favorite places to hang by far, but guys, there is just something so magical about strapping on a pair of snowshoes and clomping out into the powder coated forest.

IMG_1432.jpg

We also went on a bit of a guided anthropological hike, an event that I will play by play recount for you in a future post. I really learned a lot about the wildlife inhabiting the part of the Pack River that I was visiting, both human and non.

IMG_1433.jpg

But for now I will leave you all on this magnificent Sunday morning with images of nature-tinged splendor and one of my favorite quotes:

Pass through this brief patch of time in harmony with nature, and come to your final resting place gracefully, just as a ripened olive might drop, praising the earth that nourished it and grateful to the tree that gave it growth.

Marcus Aurelius

IMG_1427.jpg

Oh, and one more thing, don't worry too much about the physical gracefulness part of life, I find that I discover the greatest bits about myself from being a bit of a clutz. I am probably going to awkwardly cartwheel into my final resting place....heh...

IMG_1434.jpg


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's rather jostled from her imitating a snowshoe hare for the last few days iPhone.


Sort:  

Oooh, beautiful pictures! So glad you had a getaway. If you are going to cartwheel into eternity, I will probably trip on the threshold and fall in. Haha!

We will definitely make an entrance then, won't we?! LOL!