Lazy Dinner Recipe Time

in #ocd3 years ago

Slow Cooker Chili Cheese Dip


IMG_1308 (2).jpg

This week has been a paperwork and basketball game marathon of a week. I like to cook and bake most things from scratch, but there are just some nights that even I need a reprieve. Tonight was one of them.

In my pantry I have some convenience foods like canned chili and such for when the power goes out or my own little existence bulb is a bit dim. I also am known to keep a healthy supply of cream cheese in my fridge. It's okay, judge me, I love cream cheese, it makes everything so delightfully cream-cheesy.

Anyway, around lunchtime, I plucked my slow cooker out of the cupboard and placed some canned chili, cream cheese, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of green chilis into it. I then turned the slow cooker on low for a few hours. About thirty minutes ago I threw a couple cups of grated cheddar cheese into the mix, and after a few minutes of melting magic, had a chili cheese dip that I devoured over a bed of crushed tortilla chips. I am not unhappy.

IMG_1306.jpg

Yes, it is probably not the best for me, but today I did a bunch of chores outside in the single digit weather with a blustery northern wind smashing into me like a popsicle making factory. The delightfully warm, cheesy perfection that is the slow cooker chili cheese dip made up for me having to go outside and freeze my bits off while taking care of the animals. (Don't worry, my furry farm friends are all snug and well fed:)

And on that note I present you with the super easy Slow Cooker Chili Cheese Dip Recipe:

Slow Cooker Chili Cheese Dip

2-15ounce cans chili
1-14 ounce can diced tomatoes (don't drain)
1-4 ounce can green chilis (drain)
1-8 ounce block cream cheese
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Place the chili, diced tomatoes, green chilis, and cream cheese into a slow cooker. Cook on high for at least 90 minutes or on low for at least 2-3 hours.

Give the concoction a stir and throw in the shredded cheddar. Let is meld together about fifteen more minutes until melty goo-like texture is achieved. Eat over chips, rice, or whatever you like!

Note: You can substitute a can of Rotel for the tomatoes and chilis.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's non chili cheese dipped iPhone.

Sort:  

I find I need a reprieve from kitchen diligence every now and then. Frozen pizza, hot dogs, and hamburgers have rescued me many times when my mind was food-blank and my ambition was gone.

I like the term “food-blank,” it totally is a thing I experience on occasion, often when I’m just plain depleted from it all, lol. There definitely needs to be a Food-blank compendium that we can all contribute to and grab from on such days!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you:)!!!!

Yum! I love easy stuff like this. Gonna give it a go for sure one of these days.

Excellent! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did:)