The Farm Files

in #ocd4 years ago

Salsa And Pie Oh Me, Oh My!


IMG_9587 (2).JPG

Well, squee haw and howdy ya'll!! It's the thick of harvest season around here, and oh yes, my husband's birthday was yesterday too. So of course that means I not only crafted a luscious caramel apple pie for him, I also simultaneously made and canned zucchini salsa. Oh, and I whipped up a drool inducing BBQ rib dinner too.

Why would I do something so crazy you might be thinking? There's a couple of reasons. One, I am super fond of my hubs and he deserves to be spoiled, so making him what he wanted for a birthday meal was a no-brainer. Second, I am determined to not let anything that I grow this year go to waste. I mean, I have four pigs, so nothing ever totally goes to waste food-wise, but I really, really want to preserve it all this year! Oh, and third, my family easily eats twenty pints of my zucchini salsa a year.

That said, yesterday all of the food chores converged. I was like a little Kat-tornado flitting around the kitchen. The pie was my first order of business, after I set canning jars to sterilizing in the dishwasher. It is amazing what you can get done if you multi-task and think about your plan of attack beforehand. Well, and if you are also a hyper little banty hen of a hobbit who is all hopped up on caffeine and rather upbeat music. But I digress.

IMG_9590 (2).JPG

The pie was pieces of cake. I mixed up a batch of my no roll pie crust, pressed it into a pie pan, peeled, cored, and chopped up 6 apples (I used Fuji and Granny Smith) and threw them into a bowl with some lemon juice, flour, sugar, and a pinch of salt.

IMG_9591 (2).JPG

Then, I put the apples mixture into the unbaked pie shell and proceeded to craft the topping. This is what I came up with if you are interested in a crumble topped pie:

Crumb Topping For Pie

12 Tablespoons cold butter
1/2 cup flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg

Measure and place flour, nutmeg, salt, and cinnamon in a mixing bowl, whisk together, then add butter. Use a pastry cutter or fork and cut the butter into the flour mixture.

Next, stir in the sugar and oats and sprinkle your crumb topping onto the pie of your choice.


Five minutes before my apple pie was done, I pulled it from the oven and sprinkled walnuts on top of it and returned it to the oven for a bit of walnut toasting. I really wanted to use pecans, but the idea of shelling pecans didn't appeal to me yesterday, I wonder why?

Anyway, I pulled the pie from the oven and proceeded to drizzle caramel all over the top of the pie. Look at this beauty!

IMG_9594.JPG

And let me tell you, that pie was beyond tasty. All I heard was happy Hawaiian grunting noises of imminent satisfaction. Well, that's what I decided to hear anyway.

The salsa also turned out glorious! Each batch of zucchini salsa uses ten cups of shredded zucchini, and as anyone who grows zucchini knows, it's fantastic to have recipes that use loads of the zuke.

IMG_9593 (2).JPG

And on that salivating about future snackage note, I am going to wrap up this post, for I am about to head out the door on a mini vacation. We get to spend the weekend on the Pack River at our friend's place and there is a water tube with my name on it! Literally!!

IMG_9596.JPG


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's caramel coated and too many apps loaded iPhone.


Sort:  

The pie looks wonderful! I can almost smell it. I might need details for zucchini salsa. Hope you have a lovely weekend!

Awe, thank you! I just got home from a restful riverside wilderness retreat, so as far as weekends go, it was swell. I will send you the link for the salsa and hope you had a lovely weekend too:)

So much delicious food, Kat. I would way a thousand pounds if we were too close to each other. The pie looked amazing. Sounds like your husband and I have the same birthday:)

What!? Oh I wish I could have given you a slice of birthday pie! Happy belated birthday Pryde! Hope you had a wonderful day!:)

Thanks Kat. I did:)

It always makes me smile when I tune in to The Hive and one of my favorite busy bees... I mean people is milling about.

That pie looks scrumptious!

Enjoy your vacation and tube time. Cheers to some cool drinks and a swell time. 🥤🧃🧉

Awe, thank you my friend, I so would have served you a ginormous slice:)

The vacation was beyond swell, but let me say this, this bee is definitely not busy right now, I’m more tired than a cat after a daycare visit lol!