Tuesday Night Training

in #ocd3 years ago

IMG_1621.jpg

Tonight I barely strolled through the front door when my daughter burst from her cave, er...room and bellowed, "Let's go!"

"Can I eat first?" I replied in an exasperated tone. My nose inhaled the succulent aroma of tacos when I opened the back door, and Kat's are pretty serious about ingesting tacos when they are in proximity, especially when I haven't made the darned things.

"Come on, Mom! You said you'd go on a walk with me tonight."

IMG_1604.jpg

I did indeed tell my eldest spawn that I would go on a show steer training stroll after work this evening, as she is abandoning us tomorrow morning to go visit my Grandma a state over with my parents. As the state fair is only a few months away, my girl has been stepping up her training procedures. By training I mean spending an obscene amount of time clipping, washing, blow drying and training her show steer, Frankie.

IMG_1608.jpg

Now, Frankie is pretty cool. I feed every morning during the school week, and when I walk in the barn Frankie does this you can't walk by me without a smooch salute that I find pretty endearing. He's the sweetest steer my girl's ever had.

IMG_1615.jpg

That said, show steers are still a lot of work. When you watch kids show them it kinda looks like they are just walking around the ring, but the volume of grooming labor and training they put in before they even step into the show ring is massive. Frankie, like all other steers has to be taught how to set up, square up, walk in a pattern, loin out, have his hair trained, etc, etc, etc. It's a job and a half.

IMG_1619.jpg

But, my girl likes it, so as most parents with devoted offspring do, I trotted my tired from work and full from tacos carcass out to the barn with my girl, and played judge for awhile while she set Frankie up and moved him through his training maneuvers.

It was fun.


Of course I had a running commentary and proceeded to confer with my co-judges. They seemed rather interested in the proceedings and honestly, I thought their remarks were a bit hyper-critical.

IMG_1624.jpg

However, it is a bit cold tonight, and I was glad the sesh didn't last too long. I feel like I deserve a churro and cup of cocoa after that. I mean, Frankie got grain, where's my treat?



And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's non-mooing and rather proud of it iPhone.

Sort:  

Haha ... to a horse every cow is a failure:)

Hope the tacos were good:)

Lol! That sounds like a country song! And the tacos were glorious, I probably ate more of them than I should have:)

Dang, Frankie really is a cutie!

Eldest spawn got a snort out of me :OD

Awe, I will tell him you said so, I’ll also receive the appreciative moo slime in return, I swear bovines are part slug lol.

Glad my referring to the oldest offspring spawned an amusement for ya, :D

Now I am wondering exactly what the co-judges had to say.....

And yes, you did deserve a treat!

They were very vocal, I’m sure it wasn’t flattering lol.

And thank you my friend, although instead of eating a treat I came in and baked a pan of cookie bars for my grandma, but I suppose that counts:)

Were those horses sidewalk-superintending? Secretly snickering? Strictly curious? For some reason, Statler and Waldorf of the Muppets came to mind.

Probably all of the above, they are so judgmental don't ya know? lol lol!

I loved everything about this post. Frankie, your daughter, your co-judges. Frankie is beautiful!

I wish your daughter luck.

Awe, thanks for all the love😊

Frankie is kinda on my list right now, as he waited til my daughter headed to my grandma's a state over, busted out of his abode, and then wouldn't return when I asked him nicely. Lots of cardio happened for us both, lol!

Hope you have had a lovely weekend!

🌞 🌟 🌞