Robinsons Singapore

in #ocd3 years ago

1.jpg

Another one bites the dust. Another victim of circumstances and of the times.

Robinsons Singapore, the oldest retail shop in Singapore is closing. They have around for 162 years. The decision came on the back of changing retail buying patterns, and weak demand, made worse by the COVID-19 pandemic.

2.jpg

"Subject to confirmation, the liquidators are hoping the stores will remain open for the coming weeks to facilitate final sales for customers before they are shuttered."

I guess times are different now, and retailers need to move away from traditional business models to survive.

A few days ago, I was in the mall where Robinsons was the anchor tenant. So, I popped into Robinsons to have a look at what's left. It was a weekday, so there were not many people about. I think the main rush for the clearance sale is over. In days gone by, their annual sales is known by all as "The sale worth waiting for." That bit is history now. Kind of sad.

Anyway, since I was in the mall, I had a wander around and snapped some pictures.

Glass roof looking out.
3.jpg

Part of Robinsons floor tiles design.
4.jpg

Part of their wall designs.
5.jpg

5a.jpg

P S Cafe. This was where I once had a double chocolate cake, with chocolate sauce. The memory is still fresh in my mind because the cake was so big, I couldn't finished it - despite my love for chocolate and cake.
6.jpg

Wine connection. A F&B chain that has wines at reasonable prices.
7.jpg

Sweets. Doughnuts, shortcakes and meringues.
8.jpg

Couldn't resist snapping at these beautiful orchids.
9.jpg

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Hive 2.jpg ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Reblog it if you think it worthy. Follow me if you like to read about Life, humour and quotes. Cheers!

Sort:  

It quite tragic that so many of our oldest retail establishments have not survived. We are facing a world that will look quite different than the one we grew up in.

Oh yes, we are progressing into a new era. It is definitely a different world from the one we grew up in. :-)
I guess such is life. Onwards and forwards we go. No looking back.

My grandfather traveled as a young man with his family in a horse drawn covered wagon to homestead land in South Dakota. I remember sitting with him and watching TV the day that man landed on the moon and listening to his amazement at how the world had changed in his lifetime. I'm beginning to understand how he felt.

I guess that's how it is, the way it is. You will have to start telling your grandchildren this. They will not understand this now, but someday, they will say, "Now I understand how grandma felt." :-)