So you want to live off the grid eh' part 6

in #offgrid6 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg
Had a lovely visit with the granbabies and daughter, now driving to see the first property.
We drove 7 hours from my daughters and we hit the big city which is 40 minutes away from the piece we are intrested in. So that was a super plus. The city had everything, Costco, Walmart, every big box store you could wish for. Another plus.
image.jpeg
Just under 40 minutes we were at the properties road, now it was April and there was still snow but that didn't matter, but what happened is we got stuck at the beginning of the driveway and it was nighttime, so we bunkered down in the VW and waited till morning. By the time I woke up Chris had done a walk about and called a tow truck. While we waited he told me what he saw, the road which we knew was access granted from our property to our neighbours property. Trees, lots and lots of trees. And an old logging truck road that took him to a bluff that overlooks the Nechako River, which is the second largest river in BC and the meadows on the other side. That is where he eventually wants to build the house hmmmmm he sounds sold on it already.
So we get tugged out and drive into town which is about 15-20 minutes away. First thing I see , Hallelujah it's a glorious sight a Timmies, which is the best Canadian coffee shop and my favorite "the double double!!!!!!!" image.jpeg
I'm sold, this is the place. Then I see the Independent, which is a part of the Superstore family, a Co-op, A&W, Chinese, pizza, coffee shops, dentists, dr's, a hospital, a dollar store, a cinema, a thrift store, a Home Harware basically every single thing we would want or need right there in this little town. This was it, this was the place, this was home. We phoned the real estate agent put an offer in and we owned it before we pulled into the driveway of our house.
Our off the grid journey begins...

Sort:  

Woot! Is that in Canada? As in BC, Canada? I live in BC, in Vernon (about an hour from Kelowna)! Why did I think you live in England? I'm confoosled, lol.

Haha nope BC born and bred. We are actually about 8 hours away from you happy dance. It's cause Michelle is my best friend, but she lives in England 😜

Wow, that's amazing! Are you on the Coast? Or the Island?

Moved from the island. Now where in vanderhoof 😀

Is it PG? I remember Trevor saying he and Michelle are going there on their visit to Canada ... and that's about 8 hours from me ....

45 minutes from PG. so yes about 8 hours from you 😁 Crazy right?

I think that's kind of awesome! :)