🎵 Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 8 - “Adios To The Blues” (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

"Adios To The Blues" is an original song, prompted by this week's Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge. Here, you can be the first to hear it.

“Adios To The Blues”


The Story


The songwriting theme is "Til We Meet Again," and so I remembered many of the meaningful farewells in my life. Mostly, I thought of a time when I lived in Missoula, Montana, during an especially harsh winter. There, the mountains create a bowl-shape that occasionally traps the clouds and blocks the sunshine for weeks–this weather pattern is called an inversion, and the end result is air stagnation, with colder, cloudier skies. For me, that winter was brutal.

When I refer to "the blues" in this song, I'm speaking purely of the emotion: melancholy. I've studied the colors as they relate to behavioral psychology–this was required coursework for my master's degree–and the color blue is commonly associated with sadness. Interestingly, dark blue was the color I wore most often in my clothes, when I first learned about this, and since that time I've worked to wear a broader and brighter array, just as I worked to choose more pleasant moods. I felt very blue, writing this song.

I thought of Pablo Picasso, who painted a series of artworks with dominating monochromatic blue shades. This "Blue Period" apparently followed his friend's suicide, leading him to a series of cheerless subject such as an old guitarist, a lonely woman, and an impoverished outsider. According to the Wikipedia article on this subject, Picasso suffered terribly through this period, and it is even claimed that his paintings of the poor people made him poor himself.

Similar to Picasso's suffering during his Blue Period, I felt that slumping feeling of depression during this songwriting journey. It brought me back to the moody, creepy, hopeless feeling that haunted me through that spell in Montana. I'm not sure why I chose this path for this song, because I tend to focus on the lighter emotions, and in fact the songs I play most often are medicine songs, designed to cultivate peace and happiness. This song is deeper. Darker. Bluer.

I think of myself as an upbeat, friendly person, filled with love and lightness, and I nurture these qualities. But I do experience heavy emotions, most often in the Winter months. I'm sure we can all relate with this. If you're familiar with Seasonal Affective Disorder, you know we are similar to the plants, relying on the sunlight for life and then suffering in the absence of the sun. Going into the darkness reminds us we need the light–this is the message I see in this song.


The Lyrics

Adios to the blues
The coldest of hues
I’m choosing a warmer color
To help me through the Winter

Navy blue baby blue royal
I’m letting every shade go
Every sign of depression
Every reminder of cold

Oh depths of the sea
Oh heights of the sky
I will wait for you in the night
In the black absence of light

Here in the dark
Where no blues to harm me
I close my eyes and go far
Through the tones of my guitar

Red minor chords sensual
Yellow chords intellectual
Bringing me to the eventual
Blue chords spiritual

Oh depths of the sea...


The Acknowledgements


I'm grateful to @meno and @luzcypher for bringing us the #openmicsongwriters community challenge. This eighth week completes the event, and I'm happy to say I participated with a new song each week, just as I promised (although I did miss a due-date or two). It has been wildly fun to create eight new songs alongside my peers here, some of whom I think of as new brothers and sisters. Such a joy participating in this event as a songwriter, and an audience member. I'm proud of all of us, and thankful.

In case you're interested, here are the links to each of these eight new songs:

  1. Broken Mirror
  2. Lost Until I Found You
  3. The Pearl
  4. Ah Eve
  5. Far Out In Oregon
  6. Rosebud
  7. Right Place Right Time
  8. Adios To The Blues

This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.


Sort:  

Well that was just lovelythe perfect lullaby on this solitary Saturday evening. • The very beginning of the intro sounds so much like Leonard Cohen's Hallelujah! Then your gentle voice comes in, with such a simple, lilting melodic structure. Really so perfect in so many ways – so identifiably human – especially the peripheral twitterings of your little ones as the song ends. <3 Thank you @cabelindsay!

Your comment here is so moving to me, like soft waves rocking my boat. Thank you. Feels so good to be seen and accepted, even with a song that is raw, and tender, and bit sad. I'm really grateful to be in friendship with you–someone so open and courteous and generous with time and energy, and articulate, and thoughtful... Thank you.

Reading your reply, I'm reminded of something @mattclarke said about this, right here, being how social media 'rides off into the sunset'. I was trying to explain it to a non-steemian friend last night and it was as though I was speaking Martian! But there really is something invaluable going on here that is about so much more than earning STEEM. Personally, I've quite enjoyed my anonymity – the opportunity to essentially start over as a nobody – the surprising new connections I've already made with folks such as yourself. My other social media accounts have become places that trigger acute anxiety in me. Too many followers – too much expectation and pressure (perceived and real) to live up to everyone's distant ideas of me. Here...I can simply be @zipplyo – just a random gal with a typo in her username, posting pretty pictures. And, of course, listening to kind-hearted songs shared by courageous strangers and wondering if I'll ever feel bold enough to revive a song or two of my own. ;)

Oh my, yes! I see completely eye-to-eye with your experience on other social media accounts, and I've been quickly distancing myself from Facebook and others because Steemit feels so much more nourishing. There's such a richness here in the connections that happen naturally when people resonate... It's like we can catch a certain radio frequency and grow together on that good vibration, or we can jump into a soundwave and surf. 🏄 And yeah, the anonymity is part of the magic because we are all equal, and living in the moment, each with an equal chance to be somebody and share something meaningful. I recently started to think I'd like to switch my profile name to something more anonymous for this reason. If I could, I think I would choose this one: @raddaddy. :) It's the area of my life where I'm doing the most Work right now. Or maybe: @guitarzan! Thank you. Yes, please brave the stage and share your music too.

Oooooohhhh, if only we could change our usernames! I'm not sure if you saw my post about my first week (I spent waaaaaay too much time drafting it), but that was my first lesson – unfixable username flub! Oops! • I like @raddaddy! Seems fitting and light-hearted. :) If I'd given it half a thought and not been so conditioned by FB to use real-ish names, I'd have chosen @littlebird.

@littlebird. Hm, that's so interesting - I have a friend who goes by that name in her email.

Wow, that post you have linked here is so good. Nice Work! Wish I would've resteemed it sooner. You're such a natural Steemian, you know. Really happy to see you making moves.

I absolutely love your song “Adios To The Blues”. Moody, deep and a touch of melancholy. Very touching and beautiful.

Thank you for encouraging me with this, as it feels freeing to explore this melancholy feeling. I appreciate your embrace so much, sister. Thank you again.

You are welcome.

The sunshine of your kids' voices in the background is perfect for this song. I had a similar inspiration for a song about depression (though mine wasn't about turning it around). I'm from Florida though, so it only took one Michigan snow day to inspire a bleak song about it.

Oh man, I know exactly the Michigan winter weather you're talking about. I lived in East Lansing for a few years, and whoa, those winter months can be dismal. Colorado winters, by comparison, feel so sunny and bright to me - we spend a lot of Christmas holidays there, visiting family. Thanks for another great reply, my friend.

Love the song idea. Very cool.

Thanks bro. Feels good to get into a more somber emotional mode for this song.

This is simply fantastic. I'm new to Steemit and I love this content. WIll be following for sure. Thanks for posting.

@cabelindsay ! this is incredible . What a song man.. #totally love it. You fulfilled the right of the music and song.. #great job buddy

this song is just WOW!! It sounds lovely and religious melody.

Thank you. I appreciate you for jumping into the #openmic scene and bringing so much of your enthusiasm and talent here. You're an awesome contributor, in both your music and your comments.

Ha! How cool, I love thinking about all the different hues of blues i can do without. Feeling sad or depressed is just about as nuanced as one shade of blue from the other, I guess that's the price of being spectrum beings, but it also means we can experience every nuanced flavor of joy and happiness as well-- overall I think it's worth it ;)

<3

Yeah, I have to admit that blue is about the most beautiful color spectrum of all, to me. The blue rainbow includes everything from aquamarine to blue-violet, and wow, there's some beauty in there. I love the rich experiences that exist, also, in the many flavors of sadness, although I admit I'm afraid to look at that shadow side of the life experience sometimes. I adore the blue in your hair. Seems so you.

Thank you! If anyone understands a love of blue it’s me- I mix a custom color for my hair and funny enough I don’t even notice it anymore- it just feels like the hair I was born with- whenever my mom asks if I’ll ever change it I reply “The Blue Abides”

;)

Ooh, there's a song right there. You a songwriter? "The Blue Abides" has a nice country swagger, with a Lebowski cherry on top. So, what do you call this custom blue hue of yours?

dayleeo is going to come and sing for us one day! :D :D :D 'The blue abides' is a great title.....

Very nice song bro. I love it

Thanks for your comment here. Looking at your blog right now, I see a lot of great posts, from #openmic posts to #charity posts, and I feel you're contributing in really great ways. Proud of you for your excellent first couple of months on Steemit!

This is lovely, Cabe. I am proud of this community as well. Its so heartwarming, inspiring, motivating, and hope-inducing to see people creating things to rise to these challenges and contests. So glad I have found Steemit.

How fun to hear to you're enjoying Steemit so far! I just knew you'd fit right in. I think artists like you have an automatic fan-base, as Steemit really works to reward the content creators. Proud of you for finding your groove, and I trust it'll continue to flow for you, @dflo.

@cabelindsay hii
Days ago i was thinking to you but couldnt remember your profile name , happy to see this one its again midnight , i i listened it with closed eyes ,, felt a river of joy within my soul ,
You inspired me ! :-) , i will have an illustration about how i enjoyed this song of you ,
Will mentione you in that post , if its ok , ? :-)
Cheers

How cool, yes! Thank you, I am flattered and honored. You inspire me too, you know.

<3 thanks ,
I have something in my mind , but will draw it tomorrow , its about 1:29 am :-)
Good day to you! :))

What a nice and clever song my friend! i loved the lyrics and the medidative vibe of the melody . Thanks for sharing! I find it so cool you made it through the 8 weeks! cheers my brother!

Thank you! Really appreciating your friendship. And it's such a treat hearing your tunes - I'm looking forward to more of your stellar songs and guitar work.

Its so nice to now recognize your sound. Having listened to your songs over the weeks, your voice is now familiar! Steemit Radio rocks. :-)

Oh fo sho! Yeah, I'm with you. I'm really resonating with your sound, sister, as well as the sound of @basilmarples @chrisroberts, @pechichemena... So much fresh artistry.

another fantastic song cabe. What an interesting way for you to finish this challenge! By entering the darkness and the blues.....I love it. I love that this them came your way, I find it very positive! you're amazing Cabe, its been a real joy to get to know you, especially through this particular challenge and Im so glad to have you as part of my steemit kin. Huge appreciation to you for your support from the beginning, and also to your wonderful creative spirit that has been an amazing contribution to this crazy song marathon. Big love brother x

Thanks for seeing the progress I've made, brother. Yeah, going into "darker" territory feels brave, to me, and I'm sure it's a good thing to look at that shadow side of life once in a while. Man, I sure enjoy this kinship I've felt with you throughout the contest. I admire you and appreciate you so much. Thank you again. And I'll look forward to more of your tunes in the good ol' #openmic.

definitely. I may take a short break, but I can't stay away from this openmic community so Im sure I'll be recording again pretty soon! :P

Awesome! I love that you've told us why you wrote this song. Very much in line with the folk tradition :)

I play fiddle and mandolin, I really should record something :)