Steemit Open Mic Week #73 - Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri (Piano Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

800813F1-3F48-4AB4-924F-E6018B4AAB1F.jpeg

Happy Sunday Everyone!

Here is my submission for this week’s Open Mic Contest! I’ve been meeting a lot of newer users that are musicians lately, and I always, always recommended join open mic as a starting point! This really is the best place to meet fellow musicians and get plugged into the music community here on Steemit.

Big thanks to our hosts @luczpher and @pfunk and our bad ass judges @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @passion-ground and @krystle.

This week I did a cover of Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri. Here are the lyrics:


I know I can't take one more step towards you
'Cause all that's waiting is regret
Don't you know I'm not your ghost anymore
You lost the love I loved the most

I learned to live, half alive
And now you want me one more time

Who do you think you are?
Runnin' 'round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
And tearing love apart
You're gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
So don't come back for me

Who do you think you are?
I hear you're asking all around
If I am anywhere to be found
But I have grown too strong
To ever fall back in your arms

I've learned to live, half alive
And now you want me one more time

Who do you think you are?
Runnin' 'round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
And tearing love apart
You're gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
So don't come back for me
Who do you think you are?

It took so long just to feel alright
Remember how to put back the light in my eyes
I wish I had missed the first time that we kissed
'Cause you broke all your promises
And now you're back
You don't get to get me back

Who do you think you are?
Runnin' 'round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
And tearing love apart
You're gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
Don't come back for me
Don't come back at all

Who do you think you are?
Runnin' 'round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
Tearing love apart
You're gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
Don't come back for me
Don't come back at all


This song has so much raw emotion and it’s really one of my favorites to sing. I have so much Christina Perri as an artist. She has come out with so many great songs throughout the years and continues to stay relevant as an artist.

I hope you guys enjoy this video! ❤️



A Few Of My Recent Posts



Sort:  

Great job! \m/

Killin' IT! Great emotional vibrato at the end of those verses.

Really enjoyed it.
-Kilana Kyasuta

Thanks for the great compliment!! ❤️

oooh I didn't know I knew this till you got to the chorus. I like this song a lot, thanks for covering it.

I’m so glad you enjoyed it @thesimpson! It’s funny how some songs require getting to the chorus before they are recognizable! Happens to me all the time. 😊

Wooow Your voice is beautiful and heart touching i Wish you go up more and more Keep sharing God bless you
It took so long just to feel alright
Remember how to put back the light in my eyes
I wish I had missed the first time that we kissed
'Cause you broke all your promises
And now you're back
You don't get to get me back

Awesome lines Keep it up have a nice day

Wooow nice lyrics, Awesome voice Thank you for sharing it

hi .. i like your vidioe, it turns out other than clever playing musical apparently you also have a beautiful voice and good at singing .. i really like your song
it turns out you also like the song aceh bergek, congratulations may you quickly succeed and get what you dream

I wish you every success in the future!!!

Nice lyrics.. Wish you Success

Hey @coruscate this is awesome post. I will like to add a quote here that may be helpful to bloggers on this platform ;

Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!

I've noticed alot of people doesnt reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...

They are More Likely To Follow You;
I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post!

You can grow your followers so that they can grow you;

If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

Another fine performance @coruscate
Pop on over and have a listen to my song 'TIME' for this weeks #openmic when you get a chance!
Kindest as always
darren

A very lovely voice, as always :)

Very interesting posts and nice girl :)

Very steady your post. The lyrics written in your post are so cool

I love steemian and i love you @coruscate..

image

WOW You really have a very beautiful voice, and really this song has a fantastic message, I also love Christina Perri, and the songs that I like are The words and A thousand years, do you have to do a cover of these please , you really do it very well, congratulations: D

love it, to many emotions and feelings!

i love jar of hearts! really nice rendition on the piano :)
i found you from the openmic's page - im new to it but its been a blast so far. ill have to check out some of your other videos - i think it said you play ukulele as well!? many instruments - very talented! :)

Sounds great!

you have such a gorgeious purity in your voice, your quiet notes are just chilling and beautiful. this was a great performance @coruscate I always say it and will say it again, your energy glows, what a blessing you are.