Sort:  

Sort of related to what you’re talking about here, a lot of the techno heads I know around Niigata in Japan are strangely into spiritual jazz and deep dub reggae. I honestly at this point don’t know anyone who is really into music and is completely dismissive of any genre, though.

Great to read your experience. Unfortunately I know some techno artists and fans who speak down on most of the other electronic dance genres. But fortunately I do know quite a bit of techno fans and artists who are very open to many different music genres.

hahaha, that looks like me trying to get through a normal day. I have yet to encounter music outside my comfort zone. My phone playlist for example has Patsy Cline on but also Infected Mushroom, Iced Earth, Damian Rice, the Cure, Lindsey Stirling, just as an idea. I think for my lack of musical skills - I became a music appreciator.

That sounds really awesome! Wide open view to music! I think in many things, and for sure in music, one can be positively surprised when having an openmind.

That is true, I just can't picture a life without music - NOW THAT WOULD BE OUTSIDE MY COMFORT ZONE!

LOLhahahaha :)

haha quality, I thought I was the only one with Patsy Cline floating around alongside Wu Tang 33 Chambers and Neil Young

Hahaha, nope, there is a tiny handful of us floating through the universe..

Just my opinion, but Techno fans are incredibly jaded, though I wouldn't say they are adverse to House music. I could go into a lot of the details of why I think this, but for me, EDM has never felt like a representation of what I love about electronic music. I like music I can get lost in. Hypnotic and full of groove and subtlety. EDM has often just felt grooveless and lacks any subtlety. It's not particularly musical to me or energetic. I don't know the words for it, but it reminds me of watching a Transformers sequel, where there are explosions and cities getting destroyed and I should be interested, but instead I'm just bored and annoyed by the whole thing.

Totally agree with this. Bored and annoyed and lack of subtlety sums it up well!

I fully understand what you are trying to say. I have similar views.

I have a group of friends in the UK who are big techno fans and they tend to be pretty open minded, To me though isn't it all the same genre, EDM meaning electronic dance music, techno being electronic music you dance too.. seems the same to me. Haha thats gotta get the back up on the techno fans...
Techno came out a long time ago, I think the Germans pioneered it. House was from Chicago I believe and then the UK came full cricle with Rave/ Acid house. From there we get Jungle/Drum and bass/ UK Garage (2 step) / Grime which also is influenced by Hip Hop that came out of New York. Then From Jungle we get D&B which is different from the original drum and bass. We also get DUB from reggae. Basically my point is it's all derivatives. Those with close minds would do well to realise that and get some Patsy Cline on their playlist alongside Rage against the Machine then spice it up with some Harry Nilsson.

LOL. EDM = Techno hahahahaha :) Wow, you know quite a lot. Techno was born in Detroit btw, Berlin and Frankfurt am Main are the two German cities established Techno on Europe continent. House indeed pioneered in Chicago. And sure, a lot of music is interlinked. A lot of evolving going on.

music can open every mind.....if you know how....its all math....physics.....spirituality.......its all about the HeartBeat!!!


I'm pretty open minded toward everything except Country and Opera, not heard much in those genres that I can bear for long

Cool :) Country, interestingly also not my favourite, but we have a dutch singer Ilse de Lange, her music is Country-Pop-ish and I do like her. For the rest, don't know Country to much. Opera, well in tv or radio I'm not a real fan of this one either, however I think going to a live performance is much different. Musicals is what I dont really like, also metal is not my favourite. But I do appreciate all these genres and especially at live performances can actual listen to it quite well :)

Haha, that is interesting. Given the fact that I am sometimes even attacked here when i post about Techno and people say no - this is not techno - or I post about Trance they say this is not trance - house etc the same i think we can not reduce that to a certain genre.

I think it is a human thing of certain people that just simply wanna complain. I am totally open for a lot of styles - as you know i like a lot styles and i am far from trying to define them into a certain sub genre in electronic music - i like them all, i even sometimes like Hip Hop - I can listen to Soul, i come from Heavy Metal / Hard Rock. I leaned to play Organ things from Johan Sebastian Bach, I like Beethoven. I am not a fan of Punk, Country but I can listen to it - i would never ever say someone is stupid or has bad taste no matter what music they are listening to.

You certainly have a very openmind towards music! I agree, anybodies taste is to be respected.

openmind and open heart.

Owwww yeh, the open heart is a great addition!

ahahahah hilarious video. Yea...techno snobs annoy the shit out of me! Yea the techno you listen to can be dope but be open minded to other genres. I think the techno snob stereotype is prevalent because they can be really vocal about their dislike, but there's still a ton of hardcore techno fans who listen to other genres frequently as well.

Agree, agree and agree! :)

Hahaha, the video is soooooo funny 😂😂😂

the end 🤣🤣