Restocking my mini First Aid Kit

in #outdoors3 years ago

Once in a while it's a good idea to review the first aid kit to both check for expired items and to adjust it to suit current needs. Here's my review of my kit, which you shouldn't copy. My hope is that by reading about my kit, it'll help you think through your own kit.

My First Aid Kit is very small. While it's meant to be for including into my survival kit, it has become an every day carry (EDC) item too. I am venturing out further and for longer.

img_0.3225586294618457.jpg

Here is my current kit: gauze, a large bandaid, enerlyte rehydration mix, 2g Celox hemostatic crystal sachet, 3 x Omeprazole, 2 x 500mg Paracetamol, 1 x 25mg Sodium Diclofenac, 4 x water purification tablets, a sewing kit, medium safety pin, and 3 sachets of sugar.

img_0.5015226670282229.jpg img_0.44393672713794863.jpg

The Celox and Enerlyte had expired. The Sodium Diclofenac had broken foil. And one Omeprazole capsule was damaged. So, I replaced the Celox and Enerlyte sachets. My health has improved lately so I don't need to carry 3 Omeprazole capsules so I'll stick with 2 just in case.

img_0.12355301644745786.jpg

Sodium Diclofenac is harder to obtain at higher doses - I can only get 12.5mg. My mother was on 75mg for arthritis and I once bought 100mg tablets over the counter in Vietnam. Anyway, I decided to go with 2 x 200mg Ibuprofen which is also much easier on the stomach. Carrying an NSAID, such as Ibuprofen or Sodium Diclofenac, is great for both pain management and inflammation reduction.

img_0.927572093359693.jpg

I'm also adding 2 x 100mg Caffeine pills. Caffeine can enhance painkillers, remove a coffee withdrawal headache, improve alertness and, more usefully on a trail, improve energy conversion. Easy addition to the kit.

img_0.655525839668118.jpg

And here's the kit repacked. I like a Ziploc because it's easy to see the contents.

And that's it. A small kit carried is better than a huge kit left behind. Here's enough for pain, energy, dehydration, minor bleeds, scraps and digestive trouble. In addition to other items on my person I can stabilise most likely small medical events until I'm back to a more substantial kit or help has arrived.

Until next time.

Sort:  

Hi buddy!

Were you there on hive blockchain even before hive was invented 😂😂

Screenshot_20211020-001917__01.jpg

Haha. I might be a time Traveller.

Hahahahahaaaaaa...!! Amazing! 🤣😜😎

My number one first aid kit item is DUCT TAPE!!! You can fix anything with ducttape... And it's an awesome firestarter, even in the rain. :)

Hi @eturnerx, how very practical and necessary to always have an up to date medical kit. I presume you have one when you fly too. It is awful to be in pain or uncomfortable and not have anything for relief.

Yes. I have a different kit for flying. Pain relief, ear plugs, 3 days of my prescription meds and something to help with sleep. Also, my number one secret is mint oil - peppermint or spearmint. That's great for so many things. I'm not so concerned about bleeding control, rehydration or water purification, though a small snack is useful for those between service times. Though, I've often given the snack to some hangry child because their batteries and small and they can't wait.

i always carry some MMS and Borax with me if i go travelling or camping. It is a virtual cure-all. Eg. Snake bites, bee stings, burns, food poisoning, cancer, diabetes, apendicitis etc. - the list is long.

Also, Borax is antimicrobial, antifungal and anti-arthritic. Another almost cure-all. It is essential for proper calcium absorbtion. It is the banned arthritis cure.

For headaches i do a breath work practice - always works.
Can share info re all above if you like.

Sat Nam
Atma

!PGM !PIZZA !LUV

I'm glad that stuff works for you. I've been learning more about my local flora so I can pick from natures medicine cabinet. I'm with you on the breath work - I recently started doing a little bit of Wim Hof. It's effective at raising Sp02. Mind you, lately I haven't really had the severe headaches I used to get.

Sent 0.1 PGM tokens to @atma.love, @eturnerx

remaining commands 6

Buy and stake 100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day,
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@eturnerx, you've been given LUV from @atma.love.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/3)

I love your camping and backpacking posts. And dog photos. Keep 'em coming. :) !LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@eturnerx, you've been given LUV from @crrdlx.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (3/10)

Hope you remain healthy and do not need to use kit. And, off topic comment: thank you for supporting my art (latest post about my new book 🙏🏽✨)

Hey @eturnerx, sorry to jump in off-topic.
Do you mind reviewing and supporting the Hive Authentication Services proposal? That would be much appreciated.
Your feedback about the project is welcome too.
Thank you.

Done. Looks great.

Thank you for your support, really appreciate it! 👍

Hola. Es muy bueno ver cómo estás pendiente de tu botiquín, esto es muy importante por lo que tú dices hay medicamentos o insumos que pueden encontrarse ya vencidos y es mejor reemplazarlos para que cuando se necesiten se puedan usar con toda la confianza. Un abrazo desde Colombia.

Hi there. It is very good to see how you are aware of your medicine cabinet, this is very important because of what you say there are medicines or supplies that may be already expired and it is better to replace them so that when they are needed they can be used with all confidence. A hug from Colombia.

You are people who are always alert and think long ahead and that's great, in contrast to me thinking short and enjoying today. :)

We need people like you to remind us to not be too serious all the time.
!LUV !BEER !PIZZA !ENGAGE

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@seha76, you've been given LUV from @eturnerx.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

@seha76! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eturnerx.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

Agree! And thank you very much and I really appreciate that. I think, everyone has their own way to bring themselves alive and happy in this short life. 🙏

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Douwe Egberts? A fellow Dutchie?
I carry a small (but bigger than yours) first aid kit in my backpack I bring with me while cycling to work.
I have a bit more bandages and desinfect with me. I still need to add a foil emergency blanket.
Just yesterday I witnessed an accident of a scooter rider who couldn't be moved. If this would have happened in winter an emergency blanket would have been very useful.
Rubber gloves can be useful too if you need to assist people that are heavily bleeding (also happened to me once).

But your post it's a good reminder to check up on my kit. I'll also need to check the kit in my car.
Thanks!

Not Dutch, just some random sugar sachet from a local cafe. I don't take more than one at a time so therefore the somewhat random sugar assortment. Good reminder on the gloves, bandages and mylar blanket. I have these items in my outdoor kit in other places, and in my car first aid kit, but not in my EDC bag. I'll remedy that situation.

!ENGAGE 100
!LUV
!PIZZA
!BEER

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@eturnerx, you've been given LUV from @eii.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (3/10)

@eturnerx! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eii.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (9/10)

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Congratulations @eturnerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 56000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 20

Ha, I used to have one but it was more backpacking first-aid kit, not everyday one.
I've ran into same problem of things expiring, but I kept water disinfectant tablets - I believe if I had to use them it would be probably end of the world anyway, so... :)
If you would like a tip: take a small plastic vitamins' bottle and put there you tablets + a little info on paper what is what. this way you will be able to store more of them and as well protect them from water to some degree. But I am not sure how would it fit into "everyday".
I personally prefer Ibuprofen as it has anti-inflammatory properties. I also had small tube of antiseptic cream (and it was the most used thing in the kit).
You can also carry some female sanitary towels - they are flat packaged so should fit without problems and are good at stopping bleeding from small cuts. Plus sometimes they can save the day if your female traveller forgot theirs (which happens)
Best regards!

thanks for upvote my post, i belive your always support my post, thank u very much :>

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@atma.love(2/10) tipped @eturnerx (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.