Some memories of kids TV: My entry in the PHC monthly contest

in #phctop35 years ago

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

I have not done one of these in a while, but I see it as an opportunity for some nostalgia. We only had 3 channels in the 70s in the UK.

This months topic is Kids TV

See videos below.

NoNominationMy Reasons for the Nomination
1Blue PeterThis British show gave me a window on the world in the days before the internet. They would have all sorts of activities in the studio, but also go off around the world. The presenters would do some pretty daring things such as sky-diving. My era was in the 1970s with the classic line-up of John Noakes, Peters Purves and Leslie Judd.
2The Banana SplitsThis was a strange and wonderful show from the USA featuring a band of strange creatures who would present a series of cartoons in between their mad antics.
3The Tomorrow PeopleThere were a load of Sci-fi and fantasy shows on back then. This one featured a generation of kids who had evolved to have special powers. I think it was fairly low budget, but it could freak out kids back then.

John Noakes climbing Nelson's Column on Blue Peter. Note the lack of any safety gear.

The Banana Splits

The Tomorrow People

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Hey @steevc

We see that your awesome PHC Top 3 post has reached 7 days old. Please remember to confirm your entry into the contest by sending half of your payout (SBD) to the @phctop3 account as your minimum entry fee. But don’t forget that you can send us as much as you like for a chance to win a greater share of the prize pool. There is NO MAXIMUM! Also, don't forget to send us your post URL in the memo.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask. We would be more than happy to assist.

Thanks for entering and good luck.

The PHC Top 3 Team

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Awesome! Thanks for sending over your entry fee, just letting you know that I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll between 16th - 18th where we put it to the public vote and let the Steem community decide their top 3 :)

text16.png

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Haha Blue Peter got an honorable mention in my post. A solid selection.

Good luck in the contest!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice choices @steevc

Blue Peter was/is the staple of British kids tv. I always watched it without fail. Never got a badge though!

Tra la la, la la la lah. The Banana Splits! Wow. Now that is taking me right back. Saturday mornings, right? I used to crack up at their crazy antics. Addictive theme tune too.

Now here's one I missed out on but The Tomorrow People would have been my cup of tea! I was born in 73 so it was a little to advanced for me, I guess. Considering Dr Who used to scare the shit out of me! And that was straight after Basil Brush. I remember the name TTP but never got to watch it.

Great post. Good luck

Gaz

Edit. I've just watched the BP clip! Holy crap!

I didn't get a badge either. We were more of a BBC house than ITV, but I watched some stuff there. They had Magpie as the alternative, but that didn't last as long.

There will be shows I've forgotten. There were some dubbed foreign shows, e.g. The Flashing Blade.

Ooh good choices, and we are spoilt for choice from that era!

I must have a go at this....when's the deadline?

Posted using Partiko Android

Would love to see your choices too! As @plantstoplanks said, the deadline is 9th so a couple of days left to tell us all about them! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I've got my three down already!

You've got until the 9th! Plenty of time to join in. :)

Great cheers!

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible. This is the minimum entry fee, there is no maximum. You can add as much as you like to your initial fee to give you bigger potential rewards.

text16.png

Great choices @steevc

This could turn into a regional programming war between the US shows and the British shows. Another cool element to this contest.

Your picks have taken me right back. Fantastic!

Good luck.

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

In the '70 we had just 2 channels in Italy (ther third channel started in the 1979 ^^). I've never seen these series when I was a child, but I'd like to see "the tomorrow people" ^^

Steve, did you carry the Steemtorch in last months? I have it now and I'd like to pass it on to you ^^ Just in case you don't know what the steem torch is, you can read here: https://steemit.com/steem/@geekgirl/steem-torch and you can see all the previous holders of the torch on the @steemtorch account ^^

Hope you'll accept to carry and pass on the steem torch ^_^

I had wondered if the torch would come to me. Pass it on if you like and I'll deal with it tomorrow.

Super!!! Just some minutes and if you check your wallet you'll see the Torch :D

Happy to see you back with an entry this month! Looks like some solid choices for only having three channels! I'm not familiar with these, but they sound like some fun ones. Anything to get your imagination going or take you to different parts of the world are awesome ones for childhood memories. And wow, that is so crazy to climb all the way up there with no safety gear!! Even more so when you think about the cameraman having to do the same climb with his gear, too! Thanks for sharing!

I think we spent a lot more time exploring outside than modern kids do. The kids shows were only on for a couple of hours after school and on Saturday mornings. My kids had a very different experience, but they had some good shows to watch too.

Yeah, I remember a lot of times the only tv we watched was after taking a bath to wash the stink of being outside all day away. :)

It was more of a family thing back then as many homes only had one TV with no other screens available. Different times.

We have launched the dpoll and here is the link: dpoll

Don’t forget to vote and tell your friends too. Best of luck.

The PHC Top 3 Team

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @steevc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.910 which ranks you at #391 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 392).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 170 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I really wanted to take part in this, but the timing just didn't work out for me. That is the tough thing about being gone for the weekends camping in the Summer. I have to pick and choose what I can participate in more.