Village Life: The Repair Cafe

in #photofeedlast year

As seen on TV

You've probably seen the hit TV series, The Repair Shop on BBC? Now that's if you are a UK citizen and I'm guessing it may be available in other parts of the World via iPlayer. It's a great watch, it's also filmed in a part of England that's not far from where we live, ok maybe a 50 minute drive but I consider that fairly close. It's a lovely place in a pretty part of the world.

They've been around for longer than they've been on the Telly

In recent years a number of "Repair Cafes" have popped up all over the UK, some are more frequent than others, they've become a movement, a thing and an organisation was formed to bring them together and to help raise awareness of these events.

It's a great idea and in these times, where more people are worried about money than ever before, plus the concerns over landfill, the environment etc. Why throw things away when you can, just repair them, make them good again. Why chuck away the vacuum cleaner when all it needs is a new motor? Bicycle front wheel buckled? There will be someone there who can probably sort that out for you? You can also enjoy a nice coffee and cakes whilst you wait and have a chat with the other people. So it's a great social opportunity plus you'll learn stuff too and to develop a different mindset. Your bank account will benefit too.

It's worth mentioning that most people who fix things at Repair Cafes don't repair family heirlooms like they do on the Repair Shop TV show! They're happy to fix your normal household products and nothing more than that.

Our local Repair Cafe

When we moved to Spencers Wood village last year, we got involved with the local village hall, it all started around the time of my 50th birthday, as the hall was the venue for my birthday party. We got to meet som of the people involved and throughout the rest of 2022, we had events such as the Queens Jubilee and Christmas carols. Slowly but surely we've got to know some of our fellow villagers. Things here are less fussy than where we used to live

Taken last year on the day of my 50th birthday

We got to learn about the events they host here, there are weekly Yoga classes, a board games club and it's hired by many other people for their birthday celebrations and so on.

One of the events that caught our eye was of course, the Repair Cafe and my wife (being on the village hall committee) helps out there. I've not been down to one yet, so decided to pop on my shoes and take a walk down there with my iPhone for a camera.

Since I look after the village hall website, it's a nice easy Wordpress thingy, I thought it would be good to introduce myself to people and grab some photos for the website and this blog at the same time. Cunning little plan, Mr B (for those Blackadder fans out there).

What was going on today?

My wife was helping out on the cafe side of the Repair Cafe, she had been up early to bake 3 kinds of different scone!

90582302-E08C-4396-B4B9-356BF0A1F65C_1_105_c.jpeg

It was nice and busy down there today with the main hall being used for the repairs area, split across several tables with each one being dedicated to certain things. One lady here was repairing a bag and other needlecraft. The man next to her was by the looks of things mending a clothing airer from what I could tell.

FA204B5D-98C7-457B-914D-ADFC503B43B0_1_105_c.jpeg

There were some mechanical repairs taking place too such as in the picture below, where this gentleman was fixing a wall mounted clock. He was talking to it's owner about how he proposed to mend it. People certainly learn a lot of skills here and make friends along the way. Great stuff.

65A7F9B7-5B3C-473E-BB0E-6674FD2EF46E_1_105_c.jpeg

371BDCBF-00F4-4FB4-AAFD-BAD660C39C07_1_105_c.jpeg

4DC6360B-7812-48A1-8D6F-E7C6B63CE9A2_1_105_c.jpeg

Village life, a blog series

I'll add these to a CCC or whatever they're called on Hive, as there are a number of things coming up we are already involved with and may get involved with as it were. The biggest event this year will be the King's Coronation in May, so that will be something pretty epic here. The Queen's Jubilee last year was massive, 500 people were expected but we reckon in reality 1000+ arrived in the recreation park that day, all of them with a picnic rug, chairs, food and drinks.

The Village Life theme is a good one for the blog and for my photography practice, I'll pen a few more posts for this series over time.

Question for seasoned Hivers - can you start a CCC series with one post, even if the other posts aren't yet written and could be authored some time later? Can you amend posts later to make them ccc and can you title that ccc???

Sort:  
Loading...

What an absolutely marvelous idea.

This would go down a treat on The Minimalist (Ahive-194848) community. Oh my... they would love this, huh @millycf1976 ?! 💥

I love this!

There is a well known electrician who runs a shop in the town I lived in... he refused to throw anything away and fixed everything up. Either for customers or from them to sell or pay forward. We need to do this more, I think.

💕

I think you just need to join the community and cross post?

But I'm also a bit of a Noob and still learning.

Some folks thing cross posting is a bit naff. Others think it's find and good to gain a wider audience.

@wesphilbin can probably guide you on this more. He helps with stuff like this on the Discord channel (The Terminal) to answer stuff to upskill and assist the community :)

@nickydee,


Look at you! You are everywhere! A pleasure to meet you, @nicklewis! I would be tickled pink (they still say that... yes?) to try and get you some information. I love your energy and vibe. If you are on Discord, please consider visiting our server... The Terminal. Let me send you an invite; just click on the image below, and you will get an invite to our server. I look forward to seeing you there!


!LUV

😆

I come and go and ebb and flow and I'm nowhere and everywhere as well!

I'm often lurking around the back left or sidelines finding new stuff and meeting new people. There's too much to see around here to not be doing this! FOMO Maximus.

I wonder and I wander. It's just my way.

I always circle back though. And then off I go again... you'll get used to it. 👍

I wrote a piece about this on Medium some time ago but I've abandoned that platform so can't be assed to dig it up. In flux now and change afoot so keeping things simple while I make that happen.

But I'm always around ;)

You're in safe hands @nicklewis - an expert has arrived :D

@nickydee,


Expert? Where? Oh!

I wonder and I wander. It's just my way.


LurkingEverywhere.png

Compliments of The Terminal staff

😆

Oh

!LUV

it

And

!PIMP

it.

That's the best gif for a while 👍


You must be killin' it out here!
@nickydee just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @wesphilbin.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@nickydee that’s probably where I’m going wrong I’ve not yet joined the minimalist. I’ll have a look tomorrow.

More than happy to cross post to the community? It’s a great initiative, we love it and proud it’s taking place in our village. I think someone else has to cross post?

@nicklewis,


Hello! I would ask... are you on Discord?

I’ve got discord yes, I tried cross posting from PeakD on my iPad browser but don’t think it worked. Now it may have been because I messed up my keychain setup?

I've not seen any repair cafes around here. I did go to some meetings of a local 'maker' group, but that is a slightly different thing. I do like to repair things if I can. I would be useful to know someone with a 3d printer as some parts are hard to fix or buy.

I’ve been to a maker fair before in a different town which was really interesting. A colleague of mine has a 3D printer which he used to make things such as laptop stands. He’s based in Edinburgh though. I’d love to find a few people around here who have one, as they could engineer solutions for many people.

!PIZZA

This is so awesome @nicklewis
We had this when I use to live in Burien, WA USA and a man from Ireland that moved to the area started this and garbage pick up groups and so on!
It was a breath of fresh air!
Barb 😊
@nicklewis !BBH !CTP !HBIT

It’s truly great as I’m all for giving things a new lease of life. Plus it’s great experience for the technicians who are quite often retired and like to keep their minds challenged.

Congratulations @nicklewis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@nicklewis(1/5) tipped @steevc (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nicklewis.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello @nicklewis this is so wonderful!

I use to live in Burien Washington USA and a man from Ireland started local things like this one - The Repair Shop. We also had a garbage day were people would gather together to pick up garbage in the city of Burien and off the beach.

It was a breath of fresh air having him start these kinds of groups. There were many garbage picking up groups :)

Barb

@nicklewis !BBH !CTP !HBIT

Posted via Veews