Street art without streets | Iceland

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hvitanes.jpg

It was his third day in Iceland, and we already got bored of the crowded tourist “must-see” places around the Golden Circle. The weather was surprisingly good for this part of the year. Although, when I think about it, there isn’t much difference between the seasons here – the weather is unpredictable no matter the time of the year. The only thing you can do is accept the fact and try to get the best out of it. Anyway, we felt blessed for not having to deal with rain and strong wind on that day.

Making a brief research before heading to Hvitanes. Hvitanes was a British base during the WWII, with 250 buildings and a pier. The latter was built, among others, to load and offload the nets and equipment for the barriers. Did you actually know that Iceland was invaded by the British in order to keep the neutral country out of the hands of the Germans?

Nowadays, not much is left from the British installation in Hvitanes – just some twister remains of the decaying pier, and the ruins of a few concrete buildings. Some of those buildings were covered in graffiti, which gave me an occasion to herd with street art in the middle of Iceland’s stunning nature.

Hvitanes2.jpg

Hvitanes4.jpg

Hvitanes9.jpg

Hvitanes6.jpg

Hvitanes8.jpg

Hvitanes5.jpg

Sort:  

Iceland appears like this everywhere? Loved the photographs. Between the wall art and twisted metal...very extraordinary. If you have Dan in all your photos, the authenticity shouldn't be problem, there's only one of him, right?

Iceland appears like this when you try to avoid tourist and turn a little bit aside main roads :)
Yes, I was using @irreverent-dan as a model even when he didn’t know about it hehhe. I’m sure you have seen the place already in his pictures here: https://steemit.com/photofeed/@irreverent-dan/ww2-remnants-in-iceland. Thanks for your comment!
PS Yes, it’s only one Dan, two would be too much, trust me ;)

Aside main roads are really the best places. Well done. Yes, I've seen his Iceland pictures. Beautiful.
To be honest, there is another Dan, and we have him:

Imgur

Sorry, he has 13 other hens he takes very good care of.
P.S. I like the way the sun accidentally got caught in the middle of his back.

Hahaha! I like this Dan! :)) But understand, I have no chance :))

Beautiful work @agniese.

Thank you, Dear :)

Hi, can you please add link towards steemit on instagram or on you blog, just to verify this is your work? (:

You can check "Contact me" tab on my blog. It's updated now :)

Thanks, btw photos are amazing! A like them a lot! (:

Thanks a lot! The place is amazing. Isolated and spacious :)

It's super exciting to see how the same place could look different through the lens of another photographer :) Excellent take on Britain's abandoned WWII base, Agne! Needless to say, my favorite shot is the one where I walk beside the graffiti.

I like this one as well :) Thank you, Dan. At some point, I was a bit worried that our galleries will be way too much similar, but they are actually not. That's great!

Haha, I am not sure if I ever told you, but I was worried about that as well! :)

Ahahaha, no, we have never talked about it!

Oh WOW - street art in such a place! That's a lovely surprise! Iceland is so high on my list I can't wait to visit it :-)

I'm happy that you're planning to visit Iceland. Let me know before, so I can give some tips. Or even show you places :) Thanks for the comment!