The Colonel Shoots Up A Wedding

in #photography4 years ago

momma1 s.jpg

Before you look at me in that tone of voice, it was only with a camera! A few years back my best friend was getting married and asked me to officiate the wedding (I'm an ordained minister of the Universal Life Church) and I told her that I would. Shortly before the big day her photographer flaked and so I wound up getting 'promoted' to photographer for the wedding as well. That was the first and hopefully the last wedding I ever do, that ended up being a bit of a long day.

mirror photo s.jpg

The words were not coming to me tonight for the post I've been working on so I found myself scrolling through my older stuff for ideas or inspiration and eventually wound up staring at wedding photos. They're no longer together but I still have the photos so I thought I would post a few of the ones that I like (my best friend and I have somewhat divergent notions on weddings and wedding photos).

kiss experiement s.jpg

Can somebody please explain to me what all the fuss over weddings and marriage is about? I've never quite been able to figure out how saying some magic words and asking the state to approve of who you are sleeping with somehow changes a relationship. Needless to say this made writing what I was to say for my role a little bit interesting.

camaro makeup s.jpg

Thankfully the bride had no intention of sticking purely to a 'traditional' wedding and we were able to have some fun with it. I'd introduced her to the works of Robert Heinlein a few years before and she absolutely fell in love with them, there was never any doubt that the theme of the wedding would be Heinlein. I'm still not too sure of what her family made of the whole shebang, I read from Stranger In A Strange Land and we included various Heinlein quotes into my words and their vows.

yummy1 s.jpg

I think this last photo just about sums up my thoughts on weddings and is a good stopping point for this ramble. Do any of y'all have particular subjects or types of photography that you avoid at all costs?

Sort:  

Alright. But it's probably gonna be lengthy. I got this really good kush. Really really really really good. You know you can't get kush in Europe? Not possible. You're lucky to get a hybrid. Anywho..

I did it twice, marriage, remember? The first one lasted 11 months, I was 25, just seemed like the right thing to do--it wasn't. Fast forward nearly two decades ⏭.

I was single that whole time so I might have a vague idea what you're thinking. Never even considered it again, wasn't in the cards. I'd even say to buddies: 'If you see me getting married again, get something big, big enough to take me down, it better be big. And hit me with it cuz I'm obviously not in my right mind'.

But @coloneljethro, when you do meet her.. Man it's a whole new level of happiness that you didn't know was possible and you're confident you won't reach it until you take it to the next level. And when you and her, whoever (if ever) she may be both can understand what I just said in this paragraph, it's not only a comfortable place to be but life is easier. Everything just gets easier.

Man, you just need to stick to the sour diesel! I was questioning the ritual and the government involvement, not the relationship, I think I have an inkling of what you're talking about.

Sour D is a treat. Yeah I ain't considered anything else since I got back, don't waste my time with them other strains, "just gimme your best tasting OG." Dude you ever hear of Obusive OG? Oh shit! Most OG's aren't very flavorful, right, they're just kushy, the real shit, all that matters. Eh, this obusive checks all the boxes--bomb!

I get what what you're saying with government involvement. Technically, they got their hands in everything. I guess maybe what I'm trying to say is once ya'all cross paths, government involvement doesn't cross your mind and all that next level is is something you both look forward to and appreciate reciprocating. As I write this I don't consider them 'involved' but I can't see Pura and I living any other way other than 'legally matrimonized' <-- made that word up myself.

I'll be expecting that invite, by the way. You wouldn't wanna count on me picturing it but you can count on my outdressing you, I like to do that at the homeboys wedding and I even warn them, "you better bring your A game cuz Ima be the best dresses there." I'm undefeated so far.