Baby Goat of the Day🐐

in #photography7 years ago

Would you rather raise a baby goat or a teenage girl?

"A righteous man has regard for the life of his animal,
But even the compassion of the wicked is cruel."
- Proverbs 12:10

We have yet to do the former, but in our waning years, we find ourselves facing the challenge of raising the latter. Somehow, this sweet, compliant, loving, and thankful little granddaughter has begun mutating.

At 13 going on 27, we have noticed an increase in silences, some moodiness, and of course, the ever-present "thumb wars" that seem to fill every waking moment as texts are exchanged non-stop with friends.

Behind the Hawthorne Country Store

Behind the Hawthorne Country Store
Image by @creatr

We have no severe issues as yet,

but I would like to keep it that way. I try to find means to foster a pleasant mood and keep our communication flowing.

Today, on the way home from math class, we stopped at the Hawthorne Country Store to visit the animals.

Country Critters

Country Critters
Image by @creatr

You never know what you might find in and behind the store.

There are cages of different kinds of birds, pigs in pens and little piggies in washtubs, big mean parrots, and today?

One very cute little baby goat.

One very cute little baby goat.

One very cute little baby goat.
Image by @creatr

This little critter was friendly.

Even though there was another dark-haired baby goat in the pen with him, this one acted as though he had been abandoned and left heartbroken. He couldn't get enough petting.

Couldn't get enough petting.

Couldn't get enough petting.
Image by @creatr

All creatures, great and small.

The Good LORD Jesus made 'em all. Each has their own behaviors and characteristics, each is unique in its own way.

Somehow, some way, the good nature of these beasts rubbed off on grandfather and granddaughter alike. A little petting, some cooing, a little oo-ing and ah-ing... It all made for a more pleasant ride home.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

girls at that age are terrible know-it-alls with airs of boredom because they're trying to stamp out some form of independence and identity. On the plus side, baby animals usually make girls human again. LOL Best of luck there gramps!

Thanks so much, Meredith. I appreciate your encouraging words!

Yes, I have found that getting her around animals, especially baby animals, does seem to re-humanize her, at least for a spell! :)

Adorable :)

:) :) :)

Thanks for stopping by!

I spent all my life with teenagers and in a way I've become one. The most important thing to remember is they are adolescents - people in the process of becoming adults. Hell, I'm still doing that - one day I will be mature - one moment after I'm dead. Until then, I'm in process, like everyone else on earth :)

I agree with you if we are using the word "mature" in a strong moral sense, not necessarily constrained by the opinions of others.

At my death or resurrection, whichever comes first, I fully expect God to finish the task of "maturing" me in an absolute moral sense. In other words, from then on, all of my actions and interactions with others will be "morally mature," and will only and always proceed from love and result in greater good.

However, I also expect not to become static. I expect to continue to learn forever, to be filled with wonder and gratitude each new day, to be childlike in my engagement with Jesus and other people and the universe.

Meanwhile, I muddle on, "in process" as you say! ;)

A baby goat...bliss.

One day I might be brave enough to raise one! :)

Well..people raise them for food so that's easy. A teen-ager?? Ugh, one of the hardest thing to do in life where not all are capable of ;)

Yes, goats are wonderful for milk and for meat.

Teenagers? All I can do is ask God to keep her mind and heart right, and to help me with that! ;)

Best way to do it though still hard I think :)