🐚Sand Patterns on the Beach - A Photo Essay📷

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

First of Two Parts: Click Here for Part 2

I went for a walk on the beach last week...

The beach is my favorite place in the universe. I grew up loving to swim, loving to snorkel, and loving the beach. Later in life, I learned how to surf, which only reinforced my love affair with the beach and the ocean.

Southern California Beach Sunset...

Southern California Beach Sunset... - Original Photo

Unless otherwise noted,

all of these photos were taken with my phone/camera, and (FYI) I've uploaded them here at full resolution, so if you "right-click" and "open in new window" you can "zoom in" and see considerable additional detail.

I visited my favorite surf break on foot,

after concluding a successful meeting with a friend. We agreed to a deal involving his mutual collaboration with my enterprise.

By the time our meeting was over, however, traffic was not conducive for driving back home. I went to the beach instead.

Simple Sand Patterns on the Beach-1

Simple Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

I love the beach.

There are not many places I would rather be. As I walked along, I was intrigued by differing sand colors that appeared to have been exposed by the flow of water draining from the beach into the ocean.

Branching, Plant-Like Sand Patterns on the Beach-2

Branching, Plant-Like Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

Two primary sand shades are obvious.

Simplistically stated, one might say "white" and "black," but more accurately described, I would say "light tan" and "dark grey."

The lighter sand seems to display on the surface, and the darker where the water has flowed outward toward the ocean.

Branching Sand Patterns on the Beach-3

Branching Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

The patterns are randomized, some simple, some incredibly detailed.

Small obstacles on the beach — bits of seaweed, shells, pebbles — evidently divert the flow of water and trigger branches in the patterns.

Twisting, Branching Sand Patterns on the Beach-4

Twisting, Branching Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

I find that patterns like this spark my imagination.

In them, no doubt manifesting my own apophenia, I can see flames leaping, trees branching, leaves and flowers, faces of dogs.

It may be time to create some derivative art from these photos...

Roots? Flames? Sand Patterns on the Beach-5

Roots? Flames? Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

This last image is my favorite.

It suggests to me a mermaid's gown. Embedded in the gown there is also the face of a dog.

Your mileage may vary!

Sand Patterns on the Beach-5

Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

Do you see anything but sand in these pictures?

Some people have stronger tendencies to visualize and imagine things.

Whether or not your mind spins patterns from these pictures, I hope you've found them somewhat interesting.

A Glorious Sunset at the Beach

A Glorious Sunset at the Beach
Photo courtesy of Sergei Akulich and http://unsplash.com

Time once again to "sail off into the sunset." I hope you've enjoyed walking on the beach with me!


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

One of the best things in life is waking up to the sound of waves crashing to the shore with the sea breeze on your cheeks.

I couldn't agree more! Been there, done that, loved it! I used to live in the tropics, and would love to live there again one day...

Thanks a lot, @immarojas, for visiting and commenting!

You're welcome too in our tropical place :)

Well, Thank You very much! Where is it that you live?

Th Philippines got a lot of beaches..there's loads of places to choose from. A lot of expats chose Davao down south as there's no typhoons due to its' location.

I have never yet been to the Philippines. I hope I can visit sometime. If I do, I'll get in touch and say hello! :)

Nice but am not there!

Gorgeous pictures, I would love the beach too if it wasn't for the sand and water lol :)

Hahahaha! You're so funny, Karen! "except for the sand and the water!" - Right! :)

Lol I have been called a lot worse :D

upvoted! fantastic pics!

TYVM!!! :)

That's a beautiful perspective.
Thanks and have a nice day :-)

Thanks for joining me on my walk, Marly! I hope you'll be able to surf my break here one day... ;)

Probably in June when I do my NYC / Vegas trip :-)

Nice post, interesting concept for a photographic study.
.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating voluntary BOINC computations for science...


Thanks, friend! ;)

lovely photos and interesting ruminations about water. You might like to read St. Exupery's, Wind, Sand and Stars...if you haven't already, read it before you die LOL!!

Thank you for the recommendation, my friend. I've heard of it but never yet read it.