Cheesy Quinoa Fiesta Taco Chicken Soup - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

How about a taco Friday? So my taco Tuesdays sort of got a little side-lined during my traveling but that doesn’t mean we can’t still go Mexican today, right?

DSC_2856.jpg

So my sister and I were in Southern California for over 4 days and we just barely managed to eat Mexican food once. Okay, I know, I know, Mexican food is the thing there. People come from all over the world and know that it’s the place to get the authentic stuff. It’s just that ironically, out of a huge family that all love Mexican food, my sister and probably like it the least. For her it’s that she doesn’t enjoy spicy food much, but for me it’s not so much that I don’t like it, it’s more that I just enjoy so many other kinds of cuisine just a little bit more so I rarely choose Mexican.

DSC_2826.jpg

While we were there, we had a pretty open schedule and I think we did ourselves a favor by not setting any strict plans for each day and just going with the flow. However, there was one thing we really wanted to do and that was visit a place called Ruriberto’s Taco Shop because it’s literally my dad’s favorite food on the planet and we knew it was a must. It’s this little unassuming, hole-in-the-wall type of place, but oh my gosh!

DSC_2850.jpg

It’s also the source of a funny story in my family. You see, my dad grew up nearer to the East Coast and my mom was a Cali-girl so when they met my dad wasn’t very familiar with the flavors of authentic Mexican food. Haha, don’t tell them I said this but this was back in the dark ages before chains like Chipotle had swept the country and the internet was bombarded by avocado toasts. I’m pretty sure my dad had never even had avocados. Anyway, he once told us this story of the first time my mom introduced him to this taco place and as he was describing it my mom walks into the room and barely catches Dad so fondly saying the words “….and that’s when I met………….” Unfortunately for my dad, he finished the sentence not with “you’re mom” but with “….cilantro!!!!”, and my mom has never let him live it down. Haha, so whenever someone says cilantro we all laugh.

DSC_2868.jpg

Like I said, we don’t even consider ourselves big fans of Mexican food but this was amazing. Yes, if you’re ever in San Diego you have to go there. It’s pretty casual dining so they served the food with plastic forks and, not even joking, the chicken was so tender you could cut it with the flimsy plastic forks. I have to find out how they make it. So about now you’re probably wondering what this has to do with this recipe. Well, I guess what I’m getting at is that my dad might have forever converted me into a Mexican foodie by recommending that place. That’s why I thought I’d share something Mexican today and this soup seemed perfect.

DSC_2881.jpg

It’s really fast and easy to make and it’s perfect for weeknights when you want something quick and easy. I actually made it in the crock-pot once and it turned out amazing. Most of the time I’ll lighten it just a little by using Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Also, feel free to spice it up if your family likes it hot. Top it with some sour cream, fresh chives, and maybe a little guac if you like, and then serve it with tortilla chips for dipping. Also, don’t forget the cilantro!

Cheesy Quinoa Fiesta Taco Chicken Soup


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour
Yield: 6 - 8 servings

Bring all the flavors of Southwestern and Mexican food that you love and throw them together and that's what you'll have is this creamy, cheesy taco soup that's the perfect easy dinner.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound uncooked chicken breast, cubed
4 cloves garlic, minced
8 mini sweet bell peppers (or 3 regular [and they can be any color]), seeded and diced
1 small onion, diced
2 medium tomatoes, diced
1 lime medium, juice and zest
1 handful fresh cilantro, chopped
3 cups chicken broth
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15 ounce) can sweet corn, drained
1 (8 ounce) can diced green chiles
1 package taco seasoning
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese
1/2 cup sour cream (or Greek yogurt)
2 teaspoons sriracha (or you're favorite hot sauce), plus more to taste
salt and pepper to taste

Optional Toppings:


chives
guacamole
sour cream
tortilla chips

Instructions

In a large skillet, heat a tablespoon of oil over medium high heat and add the chicken. Stir gently and cook pieces on each side until completely done an no longer pink. Remove from pan and add another tablespoon oil and the peppers, garlic, and onion. Cook for 3 - 4 for minutes until starting to brown, then add the quinoa and stir over heat to toast for about 2 minutes.
Now add in the chicken broth, tomatoes, green chiles, cilantro, lime, taco seasoning, corn, and beans.
Reduce heat to medium low and cover. Allow the soup to simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the quinoa is tender.
Now stir in the cooked chicken, cheese, and sour cream, hot sauce, and salt and pepper to taste, then stir well. Adjust spice level if you want it spicier, then simmer until heated through. Turn off heat and serve soup hot with desired toppings.

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies
  2. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  3. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  4. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart
  5. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing
  6. Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts
  7. Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken
  8. Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle
  9. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)
  10. Veggies + Lemongrass Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious


YOU CAN CLICK HERE TO READ ABOUT OUR STEEM MEETUP LAST NIGHT

steemitmeetup.png


In case you didn't catch my previous Travel Series Posts:

Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 5 La Jolla Cove
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 4 Seaport Village
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 3 Horton Plaza
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 2 San Diego Zoo!
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 1

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 61,828 Steem Power | 11,850 Followers | 27,861 Posts

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

This soup looks tasty in the photos. I must say good food provide you internal happiness.

thanks so much for commenting

Please make recipe on Vietnamese food too!:)

I will do that. I have some kimchi recipes that I can improve on, thanks so much for commenting @kimmy95

Nice ..
Looks delicious recipe .. Thanks
Great post well done

I really appreciate your daily comments @slimanepro, thanks so much

I'm totally trying this but without the chicken. Looks good! Good job on the pictures!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Gorgeous food photos! this recipe is a brilliant idea!

Thanks for reading @noboxes!

and thanks for including the bit about cilantro, very helpful

it looks both yummy and healthy with all the natural ingredients! most food I've had is only one or the other, we should have more food like the Taco Chicken Soup

super nice commenting @liwen12345, thanks so much

the soup looks testy enough..... thanks for sharing the recipe

Me encantan tus fotografías

So you are at the center of the pic. I mean Center of attention at the meet up. Nice :)

well, that's not where I chose, but yes, that was me in the middle. Thanks @tamsguitar

I'm tellin ya I have never had Quinoa but I would make this my maiden voyage......This just looks and sounds so good..... I am from So Cal. and I can taste it from here......I havent commented on any of your posts in a while but this is gonna keep me coming back...... great job.... copying the recipe now.....lol....

Oh, that's great @mrkstn1!

Your recipe is so great

I hope that you visit my country in Morocco with more than wonderful food and its taste is irresistible

THANK YOU @gringalicious
3_couscous.jpg

5_tajinebar9ou9.jpg

I have never tasted a taco. However, It seems so delicious. Thank you for the tariff.
I always want quick and easy foods but my wife always cooks healthy foods LOL

It’s really fast and easy to make and it’s perfect for weeknights when you want something quick and easy.

It is looking Delicious!
Can I have a share of delicious food?
you know you are one of my favorite cooks on this platform.

Oh, wow that is such a compliment @abdulmanan !

;) have a blessed day.

Gorgeous photos showcasing the beauty of this special delicacy

It's a great idea!!! Well, the dish for dinner is selected) Thanks for the recipe and inviting photos)

So glad you like this @naditinkoff !

Hi @gringalicious.
Your recipe is making me salivate over here.
I'd have love to give it try but most of the ingredients won't be found in this part of West Africa - Nigeria.

All the same, keep doing the good work!

Well, that's alright @samueloption! Maybe the next recipe then.

This soup looks very yummy and colourful. I love anything spicy.I would definitely try it out.
Glad you are having fun. Cheers.

Very funny story. Y'all should give your dad a rest though . Awesome work as usual maam. Color grading on point. Just makes me feel much hungrier than I am currently. I definitely should try this out someday.

Hey @gringalicious Greetings.
i'm new here,
i'm hoping to have a good interaction with you.
looking tasty.
i really want to eat it :(

thanks for commenting @mudasra and welcome to Steem

A nice idea 😊

thanks for commenting @gwenbyyy

Waao it's good to know that your sister also don't like Spicy food,

Well i really enjoyed the story of your mom and dad and it's really great that you shared this with us on Steemit because it gives our posts a personal touch and it means a lot.

I personally not a big fan of Mexican food but i am not saying that i don't like it because sometimes i love to eat some good Mexican food too.

And the Cheesy Quinoa Fiesta Taco Chicken Soup is looking very delicious miss @gringalicious and i really become a fan of your photography talent,keep it up dear😇

Awesome to see your post today dear and the Cheesy Quinoa Fiesta Taco Chicken Soup looks so delicious every one should try it out thanks for the sharing all the Ingredients

So happy to be sharing it @blazing!

Yummy looking....I eat Mexican tacos and tostadas about 3x per week here in AR.

That's great @hanamana, then I hope you can make this!

I think Mexican food is great, sure it's a little spicy but for me spicy is good. It's because Mexico has been a centre for migration so most of the ingredients are imported from outside. Street cuisine with taco is delicious. I have never been to Mexico myself but here they serve Mexican food and it's a treat. But it's a difference in choice that your sister doesn't like Mexican food or spicy food and it's always good to have a laugh with family. Thank you for the recipe

You're so very welcome @wa2qr!

Nice I am a total dip fan A1 on that

wow...wondarful post....
& excellent photography...
i love this post....
dear lovely friend #gringalicious..
thank you so very much for @sharing..

I've been loving, really loving your travel posts, but it's refreshing to see one of your amazing food posts again!

thank you for sharing my friends @gringalicious favorite food I will try to cook it, because the menu is already in your post.

I hope you enjoy @jhoni!

Looks delicious! Loving your blog recently :)

Wow, thanks @chaseburnett! That is such an encouragement.

congenial & splendid!

Much gratitude to you @pwangdu

Good food better life I like your this post

You got a 3.82% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @gringalicious!

man i love tacos. never homemade them though. i feel it is really expensive because if you like your tacos like mine (stuffed) you need a lot of ingredients. I prefer to just go to Moe's Southwest grill. Their queso is fire.

Moe's is good, but maybe sometime you can taste this soup @mdkaufman21

It looks delicious

I love mexican food. Thank you for another tasty recipe. Have a great weekend!

upvote and follow @rikineng

thanks for the upvote and follow @rikineng

I'm hungry looking

thanks for commenting and welcome to STEEM @mfxqaq

You got a 2.14% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @gringalicious!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 4.17% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @gringalicious!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 6.09% vote... I was summoned by @gringalicious! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Looks quite yummy to me, how can I have some? Good job madame.

I included the recipe so that you can make it yourself, and then you'll have some. thanks for commenting @izge

It is looking Delicious!
you know you are one of my most loved cooks on this stage.

ahh, how sweet, thanks so much @aqeelshehzad

Very healthy Cheesy Quinoa Fiesta Taco Chicken Soup. Looking yummy and delicious. Thanks a lot for sharing.... @gringalicious

thanks so much for your continued support @pariza

There are 2 pages
Pages