Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-1-3.jpg

It’s been a while since I shared a brownie recipe hasn’t it? Well, it’s time to change that for sure.

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-1.jpg

I was scrolling through some of my really old recipes the other day and realizing that I’ve never made a completely vegan brownie. I’ve tried tons of variations but I don’t think I’ve ever taken on the challenge of creating a good one before. For these I used some pumpkin for texture and to help keep them on the healthier side of things.

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-1-2.jpg

I know, you’re probably like “How could you defile a perfectly good browine with veggies!” :O Honestly though, these might surprise you by how good they are without a ton of unhealthy ingredients.

Something about most recipes I’ve seen for vegan brownies in the past is that they simply replace the eggs and dairy with lots of sugar and oil. Now you obviously can’t have a good brownie without it being sweet and fudgy. That’s why I was curious if I could make a brownie with just a tad more balance than the average.

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-2.jpg

This recipe relies almost completely on the coconut for that buttery texture we love in brownies. Then most of the sweetness comes naturally from banana. I’m not saying these are going to taste exactly like the bakery brownies you may be used to. However, when the craving for brownies hits and you’d like a smarter option these are perfect for the job.

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-3.jpg

Now I realize these are a little bit, okay a lot, out of season, but I’m okay with that. I mean, we do live in a day and age where we can get pretty good quality canned pumpkin puree year round. I try to get a brand that doesn’t have any other ingredients added and I just really like the texture it gives these brownies. Also, I had to add just a little sprinkle of mini chocolate chips because, you know, chocolate 😛 .

If you try these I’d love to know what you think and I hope you enjoy!

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-4.jpg

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes
Yield: 8-10 servings

Give your brownies a recipe makeover with these healthy versions using pumpkin. They're dairy free, gluten free, and vegan!

Ingredients

1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1 medium banana, mashed
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 cup shredded, unsweetened dessicated coconut
1/2 cup cocoa powder
2 tablespoons ground flax seed
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoons baking bowder
1/2 cup oat flour
1/4 cup miniature chocolate chips (dairy free)
additional coconut shreds for top (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and line an 8x8 inch or 7x11 inch baking pan with parchment or wax paper.
In a medium mixing bowl, mash the banana well and stir in pumpkin puree and almond milk. Add the cocoa powder while whisking then Stir in salt, the baking powder, flax, maple, cinnamon, and vanilla until combined. Mix in the coconut and oat flour then stir in until smooth. Pour the batter into prepared pan and sprinkle chocolate chips over the batter evenly.
Bake the brownies for 25-30 minutes until the center doesn't jiggle when the pan is nudged. Remove from oven and cool for at least 10 minutes before cutting. These brownies are very fudgy until completely cooled so you can chill them in the fridge or freezer to make them cool faster or simply enjoy them warm and messy. 😉

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Hey, did you see my NEW YORK VIDEO?????

Oh, and did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!
  3. Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met
  4. Travelicious NYC: Carriages, Disney, Broadway, & M&Ms
  5. Travelicious NYC: Steem Friends & Italy in New York

    CANADA

  6. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  8. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  9. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  11. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Chocolate & Coconut Pumpkin Brownies-5.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

I love chocolate, sweet.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Dear @gringalicious, I'm a confectioner and I make a lot of sweets, but it would never have occurred to me to invent or combine something like that, this looks very good, your recipes are really incredible, I congratulate you, I will try to make them according to your steps

The dessert looks very tasty and delicious. Thanks for the recipe and ingredients. Wonderful presentation and a good looking seeet dish. Keep il.the good work.🍰🍰🍰

@kamrankhan900 thanks so much for taking the time to comment

That is a very special treat, next to chilled milk and watching the movies (or the worldcup)

this looks so delicious, I will try to prepare it, I adore brownie

Coconut and chocolate, my favorite combination :) . It is tasty dessert, thank you for the recipe. Hugs

@allesia I am so glad you liked it, thanks so much for commenting

oh my gosh @gringalicious these suckers are actually pretty healthy, I could eat a half dozen at a time! great job and perfect photos too!

That's so kind of you. Thanks @janton

Amazingly gorgeous photos, as always

It looks delicious! I will try it once

Forget the brownies, where did you get that awesome plate????

hey @goldmatters , those plates actually came from Target. Apparently they are very popular, they are always out of stock. I just needed a few for my prop collection.

This picture are very good angle and your work is very good and your photography very nice thanks for steeming dear

Hi @Gringalicious. What is your all time favorite desert to make? For me, i'm a pie person. I love pecan pie, and key lime pie.

@remotediscovery I do not know that I have a favorite, perhaps cookies, but I like it all

Yes please!! lol :) Have you ever made brownies with black beans?? :)

me gusto mucho tu receta pero las fotos estan muy bonitas

This is food photography nice.
Anyone hungry here.They are see this food photo and feeling eating.
Nice work @gringalicius

Wow! You made me salivate with these yummy brownies! It’s really the first time i know that we can use the pumpkin purée to prepare this incredible brownies!

@creativewoman I hope you have a chance to give it a try

wow seems like brownies will be my first weakness that's so yummy

@blazing I don't think you have any weaknesses

@Gringalicious I must say beautiful posts and stunning presentation. Keep up the good work!

@jennifermac thanks so much for the kind words

Brownie looks very appetizing 😍😍😍
Pumpkin puree is the basis for my vegan cakes! They always are good ;)

@monika-homa vegan cakes, I'll have to check it out

Those brownies look really delicious, thanks for the recipe, gonna try this combinations of flavors. ;)

Do you own a restaurant or an author of a cookbook?

@realestatecoach no, no restaurant. Perhaps a coffee table cookbook in the future

Have you thought about putting these recipes and photography together into a book or even an ebook?? They are so beautiful! I would totally want one in my kitchen just to admire 🙌

@polebird I am considering a coffee table cookbook. Coffee table just means it's a hard bound book with focus on the photography. Thanks for asking

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I almost chipped my tooth trying to take a bite of those brownies when my tooth bit into my screen.

Now i have good recipe to make delicious Brownies, they will not be like yours, but I will try.

@sabrip I hope they turn our well for you

Que rico me gusta el chocolate.

Cake Over Steak | Pumpkin Ginger Cookies with a Vanilla Glaze

B. Britnell | Pumpkin and Goat Cheese Macaroni

A Couple Cooks | Pumpkin Spice Almond Butter

I Am a Food Blog | Roasted Pumpkin and Pork Stuffed Shells

Well and Full | Harissa-Spiced Pumpkin Gnocchi

This looks amazing, will defenitely give it a try

really perfect my friend 👌👌

I looooove food photography and still doing my best lol

@kemalife thanks so much for commenting

Lovely photos and lovely recipe, I liked it! Very! )

I love your brownie

Hi
Do you yourself prepare this beauty and tasty food?
Or are you just making a photo?

This is cool.
Let me find a recipe for traditional Russian cuisine, and will you prepare it?
I'm wondering what will come of it.

I also like to cook but only for the soul and not professionally.

greetings great friend post that of you today. and not to mention the image that is very good and according to the theme

Todo lo que lleve chocolate es divino @gringalicious., pero esto es un lujo. Que presentación tan hermosa.

Wow, this is nice! I wouldn't mind vegetarian brownies. Thanks for sharing.

I am hungry and watching this does not help hahaha, I'll try it out to calm my hunger! You're amazing!

This looks so delicious, I'll definitely try to do it! thanks for sharing

Rico, original y deliciosoooo. Me encanto la idea, buena combinación.

I'm a confectioner and I make a lot of sweets, but it would never have occurred to me to invent or combine something like that, this looks very good, your recipes are really incredible, I congratulate you, I will try to make them according to your steps

@rushmichaels I hope it works for you. Thanks so much for commenting

Looks amazing! Do you think I could replace the oat flour to almond flour for this recipe?

@cuchicucha I think so. I haven't tried it so the texture might change a little since almond flour has a higher fat content, but I think they'd still work. Let me know if you try it. 😀

This dessert looks delicious, to prepare it ...

You know, I've always wondered how could I bake something that looks great, that tastes good and makes you still looks nice without much trouble... and then POP! You appear with this wonder, thank you @gringalicious really!