Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri (4).jpg

Hey guys! So as I’m sitting down to write this post right now I realized that it’s snowing outside and whatever I was going to write is now completely forgotten. It's got me thinking about how close Christmas is getting.

Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri (2).jpg

Speaking of Christmas, I am already planning things for this year because I’ve figured out it’s never too early to start. Time seems to be speeding by me faster than ever and it looks like it’s going to keep getting faster.

Anyway, this zucchini is the subject here so I should probably get to that. I’ve been making a lot of snacky recipes lately and these are about as easy at it gets. Just a few ingredients and childishly easy steps and you have a great vehicle for your favorite dipping sauces.

Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri (5).jpg

I made this chimichurri sauce to go with them. It isn’t a traditional chimichurri actually, but I couldn’t think of a better name for it. In fact I cheated, it’s really a cross between chimichurri and pesto, but whatever it is it’s really good. It’s like Chimi-pesto and definitely worth trying.

So snow, busyness, zucchini, chimichurri/chimipesto….I think that covers everything.

Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri (7).jpg

Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri


Looking for a healthier alternative to fried potato chips? These baked zucchini wedges make the perfect smarter snack for sharing with friends and family.

Prep Time 30 minutes
Cook Time 30 minutes
Total Time 1 hour

Ingredients


2 medium zucchini washed and sliced into 1/4 inch wedges
1/2 cup all purpose flour see notes
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper
3/4 cup unflavored almond milk
1 1/2 cups seasoned breadcrumbs see notes

Basil Chimichurri:


1/4 walnuts
1/3 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves packed
1/2 cup fresh cilantro packed
2 cloves garlic
1/3 cups olive oil
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Instructions


Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 C) and line 2 oven trays with parchment.
Whisk together milk, salt, pepper, and flour in a small bowl and pour breadcrumbs into another separate bowl. Dip zucchini pieces in flour batter then into breadcrumbs and place on prepared pans. Repeat until all are dipped.
Bake for 20 - 25 minutes until edges are browned and crispy.
Chimichurri:
Combine ingredients for chimichurri in food processor or blender and pulse until nearly smooth but still with a bit of texture.

Recipe Notes


If you'd like to make a gluten free version of this recipe simply replace the flour with cornstarch and use gluten free breadcrumbs.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Sesame Pomegranate Cauliflower and Veggie Fried Rice
  2. Sweet Potato Loaded Chili Fries
  3. Harry Potter Fan Recipe - Butterbeer Doughnuts
  4. Easy Chocolate Protein Pancakes for One
  5. "Sushi-ritos" aka Sushi burritos

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Steemit Fall Collage.jpg

Crispy Baked Zucchini Wedges with Basil Chimichurri (3).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Making me hungry, seriously. :)

Haha, well I guess I'm doing this right then.

My mother introduced me to zucchini bread when I was like five. So, anything with that takes me way back. Thanks. Upvoted.

That's great. I hope you get the chance to try this.

Time seems to be speeding by me faster than ever and it looks like it’s going to keep getting faster.

Wait until you get older it time goes way quick. 3 days are 2 minutes. lol
These look yummy.... now I am hungry! @photobe is alt acct of @rebeccabe

Haha, I believe that. Thanks!

Snow fell in our region too. Zucchini is not identified with Christmas for me. But it is identified with a wonderful tasty and healthy food. I have not visited your blog for a long time, it was my omission

Thanks for reading, my friend!

Extraordinary! These photos are eating me!!! Yummy!

That's so kind of you!

I have never tried walnuts with zucchini, sounds delicious :)

It really is. Thanks!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.04% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Special treat to enjoy with an awesome touch of yours beautifully made and prepared :D

I'm really glad you like it. Thanks, Girl!