Goji Berry Banana Chia Breakfast Jars - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_5140.jpg

So we finally had an almost sunny day yesterday and I’m so hopeful that it means all the Spring feels are finally going to start soon. Honestly, can we just get a little sunshine around here???

DSC_5064.jpg

Well the weather is making me really miss the flowers. That was actually one of my favorite things about the house we lived in in Chile, the backyard had so many varieties of flowers that bloomed all through the spring and summer season. It probably got me a little to be spoiled to using them in my food photography and even sometimes in recipes. Did you know most flowers are edible?

DSC_5081.jpg

I know the area I live in now has some really pretty flowers but with the temperature being so stubborn it feels like I may never see them. I’ve had to resort to buying them from the grocery and, oh my goodness, why are flowers so expensive? I’m sure any florist would disagree, but it just seems like a few little flowers shouldn’t be so pricey. So clearly when you spend money on something that serves no other purpose than to look and smell pretty, you’re definitely going to take advantage right? So um, you should expect to see lots of them.

DSC_5092.jpg

Okay, but flowers aside, do you remember those cookie dough bars I made a few days ago? Well I decided I wanted to roll part of my most recent batch into tiny little cookie dough bites and use the mini-sized chocolate chips in them too. In case you haven’t noticed I have a major love for anything and everything miniature. The cuteness factor gets me every time!

DSC_5111.jpg

And speaking of cute, nothing gives me quite the same pleasure as creating vibrantly colored healthy treats like this. I mean, why use artificial colorings when nature is so full of natural ones?

DSC_5108.jpg

Also, I’ve been playing around a lot recently with chia seeds because (funny story), my dad seems to think I really like them and has brought me at least 3 giant bags of them. I mean, I do really like them but it’s probably going to take me months to go through so many so I’ve been trying to get a head start.

DSC_5124.jpg

This recipe makes enough for either 2 large servings or up to 4 smaller servings but you can just decide based on how you want to serve them. Jars, glasses, bowls, or whatever you’d like, all will work for these. I would recommend glass of course, because then you can see all the pretty layers, but that’s not a hundred percent necessary. Oh, and obviously neither are flowers, those are just pretty to look at.

DSC_5148.jpg

Alright, so these make a great breakfast, especially if you prep everything the night before so you can quickly assemble them in the morning. They’re also good as a snack during the day or even as a dessert. Oh, and one last note; if you’re not into the texture of chia pudding (truthfully it’s not my favorite), then just blend it smooth after it’s thickened and before you make the smoothie layer. P.S. no need to wash the blender in between.

DSC_5167.jpg

Goji Berry Banana Chia Breakfast Jars


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes
Yield: 2-4 servings

Breakfast never looked so appealing! These pretty parfait jars have layers of creamy, fruity, and super healthy goodness!

Ingredients

Chia Pudding:


1/3 chia seeds
2 cups non-dairy milk (I use almond milk)
1 cup Greek style coconut yogurt (or regular Greek yogurt if not vegan)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)

Goji Berry+Banana Smoothie:


1 cup frozen mixed berries
2 medium bananas, peeled and frozen
1/4 cup goji berries (soaked for at least 2 hours in 1/4 cup water)
1/4 cup chia pudding (recipe above)

Optional Add-Ins:


1 medium banana, sliced
1/2 cup mixed berres
goji berries
vegan cookie dough balls (I used this recipe for cookie dough protein bars, but rolled it into tiny balls and used mini vegan chocolate chips instead of chunks.)
cocoa nibs
granola

Instructions

Chia Pudding:


Stir together the ingredients for the chia pudding in a small bowl or container and allow it to thicken in the fridge for at least 5 hours.

Goji Berry+Banana Smoothie:


Add the soaked goji berries (and the water they soaked in) to a blender or food processor along with the lemon juice, 1/4 cup of the prepared chia pudding, and the maple syrup. Blend until smooth then add the frozen berries and banana. Blend until you have a very thick icecream-like mixture.

Jars:


Layer the chia pudding with the smoothie and desired add-ins in jars or bowls. (I like to layer all the goji berries and sometimes granola or cocoa nibs throughout so you can get the crunch.)

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Chocolate Fudge Brownies with a Secret
  2. Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Bean Mini Loaves
  3. Homemade Sushi with Salmon
  4. Jamaican Jerk Chicken Plates + Mango Salsa
  5. Chocolate Chunk Cookie Dough Protein Bars
  6. Ricotta Lemon Pancakes+Whipped Honey Butter
  7. Asparagus & Feta Puff Pastry Tarts
  8. All The Chunks Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies - VIDEO
  9. Lavender Vanilla Bean French Beignets
  10. Super Moist Malted Milk Chocolate Chip Bunny Cake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Design Logo.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_5198.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

wow, its really wonderful breakfast i like this banana food, thanks

This comment has received a 0.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eliashossain.

Amazingly gorgeous food photography!!

Always a pleasure to hear from you @noboxes!

niceeee - these look great! can't wait to try out that chia pudding...

I do hope you give them a try

Wow. That looks so good it's amazing it's good for you too. Thank you for sharing all the delicious photos. It looks so good I must try this recipe someday. Thanks again.

this looks sooooo delicious!! thanks for sharing!!

thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post

delicious

Ooh!! We could totally have these without tweaking anything! How fun! We've never had goji berries, so hopefully my daughter can tolerate them! These look divine! And while I'm a bit odd that I like the texture of chia (reminds me of tapioca) I'll have to blend it for the kiddos. They're with you on that one
Thanks for sharing!

always great commenting from @crowbarmama. So sorry for the 5 day delay.

Your guy/husband must be really fat! Just by looking at these I droll lol

I don't have a guy right now, but I get your point, thanks for commenting

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Me fascinan tus fotografías

muchas gracias

Its too mouthwatering, stop sharing these type of delicious items simply cannot resist , troubling my cook to make these since i saw it and my cook

kind words, thanks so much @teenovision

If it is served on my table I would have a hard time deciding whether to just look at it or eat it. :)

I know, right? I feel like that everyday when making things look as good as possible and then not being able to decide if it's better looking or better tasting. Thanks @arnel

A recipe right up my alley. Hope you get some sun and lots of flowers soon. Funny thing my mom brought me a few bags of chia seeds from Belgium too when they came over for a visit!

I hope this gives you some inspiration with those chia seeds from your mom. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @amy-goodrich

i think its perfect for this summer so delicious @gringalicious

thanks so much for commenting, so sorry for the 6 day delay

its ok my dear.

It looks very good, congratulations. Bonne appetit !

thanks so much for commenting

The dish is looking so charming and beautiful.
loved it,hope it will be delicious and sweet.

thanks so much @princepr

your most welcome dear.

I love your recipes, that should smell like roses and know how to make fruit, I can not compete with that, but I can present you mango jelly.

It is prepared with mangoes pintones - a term used for mango that is just beginning to ripen - and sugar, the result is a firm jelly or delicacy with a tasty acidity. The flavor and consistency will depend on the type of mango that is used

oh my God,, it looks soo delicious,, can I have some? I craving for that sweets specially that it is soo hot in my country...

Layers in this dessert look very interesting and yummy as well.

I am so glad you liked it and thanks for the kind words @introvert-dime

That looks very delicious. I love recipes with Chia :-).

that is great to hear, thanks so much for commenting @oceanpris

Looks yummy @gringalicious. I take Chia seeds everyday for weight loss. You have such an awesome recipe for summer breakfast.
It's saddens that flowers are expensive there. Happens at various places. Even I wonder how can small flowers be so pricy.

I encourage you using natural colors and so beautifully presented😍

That's very kind of you @wanderess!

@gringalicious Very pretty presentation. I'm going to share this post. You should add flowers to more posts.

I agree on the flowers, but they've yet to come into full bloom here yet. When they do, you'll see a lot of them

Looking forward to it :)

Brilliantly executed, simply amazing!!

I really appreciate it @mamaloves!

very delicious friends thanks for his post

So glad you like it @basyir01!

The amazing your post,i like,nice,good job my brother,@gringalicious.

Thanks @love-peace!

Thank your welcome brother.

it looks so good that it does not cause to move them with the spoon

Haha, yes I know what you mean, too pretty to eat. Thanks @gap2545!

Nice photographs @gringalicious! It's doesn't only look delicious and refreshing, it also looks very artistic. Art + Food = Awesome!

That's so nice to hear that you like it so much @gvincentjosephm!

Good job and very delicious, i'm from Venezuela and i'm new in this comunity, i hope you support, Greetings!!!

Welcome to Steemit @juandelima and have a great time! Thanks!

Simply wow! looks so beautiful and mouth watering.

Thanks for taking the time to stop by @tamsguitar!

Flowers and the whole nature makes everything look better, feel better and taste better! Those flowers make the dessert look even more appealing to the eye. I will definitly try to make this, so I can eat them while I'm at the university. I bet everyone is going to aske for the recipe haha Btw, beautiful pictures!

Oh, I hope you really enjoy them @gellyarenas! Thanks for the sweet complimets!

Hello! I followed you, let's increase the power of Steemit together! I hope you follow me. I'm always glad to have a new acquaintance with good people! ;)

best wishes to you

I also hope so

It looks sooo delicious:)

thanks so much

This post has received a 11.37 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gringalicious.

You got a 4.03% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

another a delicious receipe!! thank you :)

thanks so much for commenting @laitnerie

It looks amazing the multilayer effect is very impressive.

actually to beautiful to eat it, but would do (nearly) everything for one of these now!! 😂

thanks so for stopping by and commenting @betterthanhome, I am so glad you did

You got a 74.92% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Yummy ! Photography makes delicious that your prepared...😊😁

thanks for commenting

Haha are you interested in delegating steem power??

wow this looks delicious. i will try to make it at home.
thanks for sharing. 🍔

thanks so much for giving it a try

Guess what I'm having for breakfast tomorrow- these look incredible! Thanks for sharing.

that's awesome to hear, I hope it works for you

Hi@gringalicious, It's good post on photography! I enjoy your content and i appreciate for photo. Keep up the good work.
It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit

very kind words, thanks @shohagrana

nice shot. getting hungry ;-)

thanks so much for commenting

Wow this is literally the best looking so cool and amazing nice presentation not easy at all but you did it with perfection :D

you are a fantastic daily support @blaziing, thanks so much

well thank you for sharing those delicious item ..

well thank you for commenting

Well welcome :p

It looks so tasty. I think I ‘m gone make it this weekend. It looks also beautiful to serve.

this weekend, fantastic. Send me some pictures, that would be great

Look delicious!!!! I will definitely try @gringalicious

Let's just grab those two and run. Hahaha.

I can choose this option too! haha

Hahahahhahaahahaha. Nice gif. Easy choice, shall we?

I am glad you liked it and I hope it turns out perfect for you

Hunger Alert!.
This is good, this looks good, I bet it taste good too. My tummy is seriously revolting.
Enjoy the sunshine my friend. With this treat, you make me want to speak the language of love, like Spanish.

hunger alert, that's a good one, thanks @olawalium

Glad you like it. I look forward to more posts.

There are 3 pages
Pages