Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 5 La Jolla Cove

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Okay, for the second part of the day, my sister @fullofhope and I headed to The La Jolla Cove and called an Uber to get us there. Well, this is a bit of a funny story. The address that I’d entered was in La Jolla but I’d somehow entered the address of a home up on this huge hill so our poor Uber driver, who barely spoke English, took us way up to this neighborhood full of these magazine-worthy homes and we were so confused until I realized my mistake.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (74).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (51).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (12).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (78).jpg

The driver kindly took us to the right place afterwards and I tipped him for the trouble, but I still feel bad about it. Sis and I agreed it was hilarious and we were both glad to get to see an area we wouldn’t have otherwise.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (45).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (70).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (22).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (35).jpg

When we finally arrived there and had a great time taking photos of the beach, the water, the cove, the sea lions, the rocks, and of course each other. Oh, and the weather out there was so perfect.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (36).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (16).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (29).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (75).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (71).jpg

There are signs everywhere warning against getting too close to the sea lions but that didn’t seem to stop anyone. I could definitely imagine how they could be very dangerous when in the water or if you made them feel threatened, but as they were on the rocks, it’s hard to picture them being anything more than the cute and floppy creatures they seemed.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (42).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (14).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (17).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (40).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (54).jpg

There were even some little ones that were calling to their mothers, awwww. Now I’m not gonna lie, they didn’t smell very wonderful, but watching them was worth ignoring the unpleasant stench.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (76).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (43).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (19).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (20).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (49).jpg

After our day at the cove we got back to the hotel and walked towards a restaurant that I’ve heard of since I was little, but I’ve never eaten there. It’s called Claim Jumper and they serve classic country style meals.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (24).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (9).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (10).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (11).jpg

I was trying to explain the name to my sister, as she was unfamiliar with the history of the California Gold Rush and didn’t know what a claim jumper was. The food was so good and we ate outside on the patio by the water in the most perfect evening weather imaginable.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (5).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (6).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (7).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (8).jpg

I’d definitely recommend a visit to any of these places, but especially La Jolla. Actually, Seaport Village also, we went there multiple times because we enjoyed it so much.

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (4).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (73).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (23).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (77).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

In case you didn't catch my previous Travel Series Posts:

Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 4 Seaport Village
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 3 Horton Plaza
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 2 San Diego Zoo!
Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 1

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (34).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (48).jpg

Travel Diary California La Jolla Cove & Seaport Village (55).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 61,794 Steem Power | 11,790 Followers | 27,788 Posts

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I was going to say I like pictures two and three but there are so many more beautiful pictures all thoughout. I like the reflections of the red clouds on the water, the palm trees are nice, the seals, the moss and the flowers. All are beautifully framed and composed images. Job well done!

pls sir follow and upvote me

@gringalicious

Beautiful Pictures!

Beautiful Scene!

Beautiful food!

Beautiful River!

Beautifu Ladies!

thanks so much for commenting @phinaloly

very kind words, thanks so much @hiroyamagishi

Looks like you have an amazing time out there!

good for you
See those wonderful animals,The restaurant .. I liked the place
Well done great post

thanks so much for you comments @slimanepro

Nice photos. Thank you!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

The stop sign said, "Stop," but it didn't say go. I'm lucky I even made it this far. I must have sat there for ten minutes. Staring. Wondering what to do.

Just think if it had been a "Dead End" sign. You might still be stuck. Well, I've always suspected you were a bit of a rebel @nonameslefttouse so good thing you decided to screw the rules.

Those Yield signs just make me paranoid... Anyway! You're good with that camera. When I look at photos, I always look for instances of pareidolia. Like how we see things in cloud formations. I saw a face in the clouds behind the stop sign. I see faces in the food. Faces in the reflections on the table. More in the rocks. Third from the bottom, the photo with the daisies(I think that's what those are, white flowers) I can see a figure dressed in black actually standing there. It's all the subconscious playing tricks. There's nothing there, but I still look for it, and I end up seeing it. Strange hobby I guess. Have a nice day!

I am so curious what claim jumper is :P I have never heard about it. It seems that I am not familiar with California Gold Rush too ;)

It's part of the history of the USA, not sure you need to spend time learning. I'd suggest you continue creating great Steem content - LOL. Thanks so much for the continued support @xuanito

Yeap, you're right! Today I am cooking duck breast with cranberry sauce 😉 I would like to thank you also for your support! That means a lot to me and gives me a motivation to create good Steem content 😊

Hey hi. Funny scene with the uber driver and it was kind of you to tip him for the trouble. And these are some gorgeous photographs. Travel is always beautiful. And yup sea lions can't do much trouble while on the rocks or land but can be fast and dangerous in water. Anyways the food is great and the photography is amazing. Also your sister is beautiful and you are even more. Have a wonderful time out there.

Oh, you flatter me @wa2qr. Thanks so much for the support and for the reply!

Pretty awesome pics wow i loved each one of it and the food pics were delicious awesome travelling experience :D

Happy traveling @gringalicious! And thanks as always for sharing our resource guide :)

The masses are coming. I think we've only seen the tiny little tip of the iceberg. I can tell by the quantity of new users that comment on my posts. So, I want to be able to share with them helpful info so that they have a better chance of success. The resource is a great source for that and I'm happy to share it.

By the way, our meetup last night was a great success. Thanks for the promotion.

Beautiful girl and beautiful pictures and meal excellent post friend.

thanks so much

You took those pictures very well. They are beautiful.

thanks so much for the kind words @katebooks. So sorry it took me 6 days to respond

So many amazing pictures! :) As always. Thanks for posting! Looks like you are enjoying your time in San Diego!

our time is SD was so amazing, thanks for commenting @mrchef111

I am glad! I love it there, it's San Diego, how could it not be amazing! :)

This post has received a 2.85 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @gringalicious

Good post dont forget upvote me..thank you very mach

This world is beautiful... or maybe its just your lens

Oh, that's sweet, thank you @simplemrakpor!

beautiful journey !

hey sister pls follow and upvote me

have a nice day tnx forU5dsppcNJMM2rn9aoXkiw43DvanrzzY.gif

Thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post....
Carry on next
Best of luck..
I will still wait for your next post....
nice photography...
keep it on...

photography is very beautiful and extraordinary beauty with the photo of beautiful girl favorite food, color elegant, thank you already share friend @gringalicious.

hey.dear..nice to see you....and i like your post so much..thanks for sharing

Thanks @maisha!

wlc...
but why you did not vote it?

Wow... It's really gorgeous looking. Amazing travel photo shoot. Excellent photography. Outstanding food pictures. Great travelling part of life. Thank a lot for sharing us...... @gringalicious

I'm so glad you enjoyed @pariza!

Hello....
Wow..
amazing, I am deeply moved, an amazingly beautiful post ..

Thanks for reading!

Wooow. Nice post

i have nothing to say.. what a click the sky the road the hotel and every thing is amazing.i love your post very much and thanks for sharing

I'm so glad you enjoyed @sanjida007!

Waaooo it's a really beautiful post and from traveling to food everything is just awesome and perfect, and that uber incidence was also very funny.😂

I really like the evening shot of the lake because the sunset give it a Red aura that looks really beautiful.

And the food is looking so yummyyyyy and colourful,i hope you both enjoyed the food.😇😇

It was delicious and thanks @thecrytotrader!

Those coconut shooters gives me the feeling of GTA-vice city.

Love reading about your visit to this beautiful city. Thanks for sharing! @journeyfreedom

your sis looks like taking position for shooting of gun. but it looks very nice place. all the photos are interesting. i think the driver helped you a lot. what are those animal i dont know. i m really wondered after seen such great post.

I have really enjoyed your visit and the way you always describe it in a very detailed and interesting manner. I must say that every picture you have posted here is amazing and the sea lions pictures I like the most.. Thanks for sharing these precious moments of your life with us again. Have fun and Stay Blessed you both beautiful girls with beautiful hearts in fact!

Wow, you're just too sweet @khawja! I really appreciate it.

What a cool nice place. Foods so inviting.

I really appreciate it @soulbella!

the pictures look really good in this post, did you bring your own camera? or just a really good iphone?

I always take my camera when I can. Thanks @liwen12345

a very beautiful girl standing on the beach. I really like your post

thanks so much for commenting and welcome to STEEM @atam81

great photos quality, it's bad that I do not have this. especially I liked seals sea, cool. good post.

thanks so much for commenting

wow awesome trip pictures beautiful very professional.

thanks so much for commenting and welcome to Steem @meekin503

photography is very perfect and this looks very unusual look. thanks for sharing

thanks so much for commenting

yes both friends, do not forget to follow me also my friends, and occasionally visit my blog

@gringalicious
Proof once again, sometimes life's little twists end up being an unexpected blessing, getting to see places we may never have explored.
love it :-)

thanks so much for the great commenting @michaeljn, so sorry it took me 6 days to respond

No problem, life before documenting :-) fully understand the concept.

Beautiful😊

thanks so much for commenting

Sea lions they're amazing isn't it? :D While surfing here we have some seals hopping on the board. Although fun same dangerous as the sea lion. They're both curious to new things and really like to play. But they see us as they're toy then. And the male sea lion is very territorial, but I believe that is only in the mating season.

Allthough one negative thing... they smell :P

they jump on your board? How crazy is that. Thanks so much for commenting @guchtere

Yes they jump sometimes on your board. Like this for example: https://www.facebook.com/NatGeoAdventure/videos/10155822559179826/

You got a 2.92% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @gringalicious!

You got a 2.15% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @gringalicious!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 3.25% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Your photography skills are amazing. I've lived in California my whole life and I've never actually been down there. I mostly stick to Northern California. You really do have to watch out for those sea lions, I had one try to attack me one time. My friends got a kick out of it but scared the crap out of me. Lol not literally thank god.

that's funny, my mom has a story like that. She had a male come after her. Well, I hope I've inspired you to give SD a try, you'll thank me later @dirtyhippie

I want to the zoo down there the most lol. I hear it's a good one. Certainly need to make a trip down and see the beach too.

a very enjoyable trip yes.

thanks so much for commenting

This post has received gratitude of 3.17 % from @appreciator thanks to: @gringalicious.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.93% vote... I was summoned by @gringalicious! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Great post :) Was nice that you tipped the uber driver. Those seals were so cute but yes could imagine they would be quite smelly lol... and wow that restaurant looked amazing the food looked soo yummy. Thanks for sharing :)

yeah, there was definitely a smell from this guys. The restaurant and the setting and the food were great1 Thanks so much for commenting @misschipmunkdiva

OMG, this looks so awesome , thats a great achievement , thank you

thanks for commenting and welcome to Steem!

Sometimes mistakes had to be done to avoid who knows what. Just yesterday a friend told me that he made a mistake and hopped on the wrong bus from Thailand and ended up at the wrong border 😆. In the end he enjoyed the long trip after all.

It's amazing to see this beautiful natural. Thank you for your magic camera 😊

thanks so much for commenting, I am glad you liked my post @irinatsvetkovva

There are 2 pages
Pages