Spicy Mexican Chocolate Lava Cakes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Mayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakes (4).jpg

Are words even necessary here? I mean, chocolate………………………

I was in one of those moods the other day and decided I wanted to make something chocolate that would be sweet and spicy at the same time. It may sound weird to some of you but there is something amazing about the match that many have fallen in love with.

Mayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakes (2).jpg

Plus, I think there is something so perfectly ironic about a little lava cake that actually burns a bit when you eat it, don’t you? Way more fun then plain chocolate.

Speaking of molten lava, I have to say that I have a new appreciation for molten lava after literally experiencing a volcanic eruption from my home back when I lived in Chile.Yeah, that will be quite a memory to tell the grandkids someday, it was spectacular to say the least.

Mayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakes (7).jpg

These cakes are pretty epic on too. K, maybe not as much as a real life, earth-shaking volcanic event, but still amazing in their own right. I think there is a big controversy (like with every other great idea) over who invented molten lava cakes, but I’m pretty sure it was an accident. I’m sure that if you have ever baked a cake or two you know a little something about unintentional lava cakes so how opposite and almost sneaky it feels to make it oozy inside on purpose. Take that! (to you impossible bundt cake recipes that ruin our lives!)

Mayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakes (6).jpg

So you’ve got to try these, it’s a worthy risk. They actually only take about 30 minutes from start to finish and the only catch is that they have to be served then and there. Okay, they wMayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakesm cool but they won’t be all runny with lava anymore, they’ll just be super soft and chocolaty in the center. Eat em warm though.

Mayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakes (3).jpg

Spicy Mexican Chocolate Lava Cakes


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 35 minutes
Yield: 2 cakes

Ingredients

<Cakes:
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk + 1/2 tsp vinegar or lemon juice
3 tablespoons organic cane sugar
1 tablespoon melted coconut oil or Earth Balance
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch sea salt
2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons dairy-free semisweet chocolate chips, melted
icing:
2 teaspoons coconut oil, softened
1/2 tablespoon almond milk
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons powdered sugar
1/2 tablespoon cocoa powder

Instructions

Butter two standard size muffin tins with dairy-free butter and coat with cocoa powder - shake out excess. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C).
Add the almond milk and vinegar to a small mixing bowl and mix. Let set for a few minutes to activate.
Add the sugar, oil, vanilla, and applesauce and beat until foamy. Then add the spices, cocoa powder, flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix until no large lumps remain. Lastly, add the melted semisweet chocolate and mix once more.
Divide the batter evenly between the two muffin tins - it should come up about to the top, which is OK. Break up one square of the dark chocolate and push it down into the centers of the cakes. Cover with batter using a spoon. Bake 15-20 minutes, or until the edges have pulled away slightly and the top no longer appears wet. It's OK if it's a little fudgy but you definitely don't want underdone cake.
Let rest in the pan for 4-5 minutes before removing. Then gently loosen the edges with a butter knife and top with a cutting board or plate and carefully invert. Gently transfer to serving plates. Immediately top each cake with the following icing.
While cakes are baking, whisk together powdered sugar and coconut oul in a small bowl until smooth, then add remaining ingredients for icing and stir until combined.
Gently top cakes with a spoon of icing and allow it to melt over sides. Serve cakes immediately.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Mediterranean Roasted Eggplant Dip (Baba Ganoush)
  2. Traditional Ukrainian Borscht Soup
  3. Warm Fig & Cardamom Oatmeal
  4. Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls
  5. Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  2. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  3. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Mayan Chocolate Chili Molten Lava Cakes.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

That looks so yummy!

Am a personal friend of hers. You can call me her inspiration haha. Do u need one of those chocolates? I pray she does not come to see this lol

you kill me with this food and photos.:D:D:D:D:D
upvote

@s0os0o7 Haha, thank you so much 😂

hi my dear friend.
Read my new post. I hope it is useful.wink

Nom

That is all, have a nice day.

I am going to need to try these soon! They look even better than dominos 😂
Say hello to your mom and Dad for me :)!

@gringalicious so yummy !! so nice chocolates . plz send one chocolate for me. hehehehe.. again i am saying fabulous chocolates.

It's another day and there you go with a nice and great looking chocolate. Keep it up @gringalicious

wow you did a great job! Great idea too I'll have to try this one out Cheers! #Followed

Wowow that little lava looks so yummy! I need to have a little Vulcan like these :)

@silviabeneforti thank so much! Will I see you at Steemfest 3?

Ooey gooey deliciousness!

@goldmatters always so sweet and supportive, thanks so much

Looks delicious !! Thank you so much for the recipe.

This sweet small cake looks very good.... :))) and it is hot... this makes more good :))

Another great recipe dear friend @gringalicious Spicy Mexican chocolate cakes, another recipe I did not know. I worked many years in supermarkets and we made hundreds of recipes in our bakery.
Thank you very much for the no-till recipes. ! Good for me!
I miss you a beautiful afternoon

@jlufer thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post. I hope you have a great day

The chocolate is the creation of a god is really the maximum in delights and so expensive that is here in my country

This looks damn yummy,and the best part is that you clicked the pictures step by step!

Wow Sweet and spicy, what an awesome combo, I have to try that for sure, looks sooooo good!

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Chocolate cake + chocolate icing.....
The pictures look amazing! Thanks again!

oh my that looks incredible!! I am not a huge spicy fan, but I would try these in a heart beat! lol

I downvoted this because it’s a lie. First of all you didn’t even doctor up the cake mix. Secondly it’s not molten. At least call it “mock molten” or “cheat molten” or something. And finally i dont think this is a good idea. You’re gonna have to sloppily spoon the spilled ganache on each cake slice or they won’t get any. Eh. Don’t really see the point of this except to make it so you can make a recipe gif.

OMG ! You k ow chocolate is my favorite @gringalicious ! I am drooling now! Thanks for the recipe! upped and resteemed!😋😋😋💕✌

@momskitchen thanks so much for all of your support Karen

I would kill for such a cake right now. I'm addicted to sweets, and I do not care about my mood. Less with chocolate. I think of it as travel. If these trizte eat chocolate to change your mood. If you are happy, eat chocolate to celebrate. If you do not know how are you, eat chocolate so you feel a delicious taste and you get happy: D haha ​​thanks for your delicious post: D

OOOHHH!!!But what a cutie!!!!!!! I want to!!!! How delicious it looks! Greetings from Venezuela!
@gringalicious

awww it is looking so delicious. but so i sad i can not get them. I'd deffinately like to prepare if i could collect such all those ingredients.. cann't you send them to me ?? :D

@yoggie I hope you can find some ingredients, best wishes

This has to be my favourite no doubt why this is so yummy :D

these look amazing!!

@allasyummyfood you are so sweet. I'll see you in Krakow, yes?

Wow! It’s incredible lava chocolate cakes! It looks so yummy! I have to give it try , my husband and my little daughter like the chocolate cakes.

@creativewoman thanks so much for all of your support

Oh my goooossssshhhhhh😱😋these look and sound spectacular!!! 😍

Upvoted. Awesome. No. You are right, no words required, just your lips. Delicious. Good to the last drop. Now I'm craving lol.

What a treat @gringalicious cake, seeing the image began to rave because I love chocolate, I will definitely try to make the cake, I hope it looks just as good as yours. Greetings😊😇

Oh W.O.W! I tasted these (refined version) many years ago in a delightful Scottish guesthouse. And now the recipe in healthy version. Yum. I agree with you...chocolate. What more needs to be said? With a bite is my favourite

@buckaroo thanks so much for the great commenting

OMG, looks amazing! Great post, beautiful photography as well.

wow!!
Is taste spicy or sweet?
I like spice & spicy food.

There are 2 pages
Pages