Tuxedo Cheesecake Bars - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Happy 2018 my friends! I hope you’ve had a great first week of the year so far and are still feeling strong and ready to face the other 51 weeks ahead.

So do you guys have any big plans this year? I know we all probably have super long lists of goals, hopes, and dreams but are there any official plans yet? For me the year is pretty wide open as of yet but I am super excited about a trip I’m planning to Southern Cali in a few weeks. It’s somewhere I’ve only been to when I was too young to fully appreciate it. I was pretty much only a baby so the memories are very vague.

Anyway, that’s something I’m looking forward to. I’m also really looking forward to sharing these cheesecake bars with you today! I realize these aren’t going to be too helpful for anyone with intentions to start out this year with perfect balance, but um, aren’t they pretty?


Surprisingly the design on top is not nearly as difficult as you might imagine. It just takes a somewhat steady hand and you should be good to go. I originally started on this recipe with the plan being to make and basic, full-size vanilla cheesecake, but with my ridiculous addiction to adding chocolate to everything and my love for focusing on eye-appeal, these happened.

Oh, speaking of things I love, I’m so excited because since we’ve been living in our current home I’ve been a bit all over the place with my photography set-ups. This may not make any since if you’ve never done much photography, but for those of you who have you’ll understand that it’s all about the lighting and that’s especially true in food photography. So far I’ve experimented with windows all around our house without finding anywhere that makes sense as a permanent studio area. Yes, well I finally found the perfect area, in our basement actually, and the lighting situation is great for taking my photos.

You see, I’d written this space off as an option thinking that the light couldn’t possibly work from a basement window but it actually fits my needs better than I could have hoped. You see, the window is halfway below ground and faces a wall of whites brick that creates it’s own softening effect. I’m so glad to say I’ll be working from there from now and hopefully having a much easier time then my constant traveling circus of backdrops and camera equipment.

Back on topic though, these cheesecake bars were quite a hit with my gang. They’re simple, just a graham crust with basic cheesecake and a chocolate ganache, so there won’t be any fancy ingredients to buy. However they’re simply elegant. They would make the perfect addition to any dinner party when you’d like to impress the guests with a wonderful finishing touch.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts
  1. Rosewater Cream Pistachio Crepe Cake
  2. Raspberry Lemon Cream Shortbread Cookie Trifles
  3. Sourdough Caprese BLAT Sandwiches
  4. Oatmeal Pomegranate Banana Bread
  5. Crepes w/ Honey Cream + Blackberry Syrup
  6. Chocolate Coconut & Pistachio Brownies
  7. Last-Minute Party Snack - Just 3 Ingredients Each
  8. Perfect New Year's Party Appetizer - Simple Yet Elegant
  9. Fun-Sized Monte Cristo Sandwiches

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "B&W is the new black"

Sort:  

Hi @gringalicious
In the confectionery industry it is necessary to master and work well
Simple and beautiful decking
God bless you and more creativity

yay! time to invest into a full fledged studio. get a professional light box and watch your food shots glow (literally)! looking forward to some awesome shots. or maybe some “B&W” (is the new black) shots? hehe

as always, following you has caused my hunger to rise. desert looks amazing!

Loading...

Also how do you have time to make all of this delicious food? 🙀

I've given up sleeping, I don't have the time

I second that. A few hundred bucks for some proper lights could go a long way for sure!

Still, working with what you have thus far seems to be doing the job well enough from my point of view..

Congrats on find the proper space for your lair ;0

Thanks so much @jaybird. I am going to be working on lights as well as some other equipment

Omg... fantastic cake... looks delicious... great photos as always...

Oh, that's so kind of you, thanks @wilku!

You are most welcome... I really admire your "food art"....

spectacular photography, simply amazing!!

Thanks @noboxes! You're too generous with the compliments but I'll take it anyway, haha.

These are gorgeous, dream like. Love it!!

I must say that this photography is amazing. I am so glad I stumbled upon you. I need one of these with my coffee, right now

That is so sweet of you to say @freerunner and welcome to steemit

Hmmmm, this one looks dull to me. Not good composing if you ask me. But, keep on!

good to know

Anyway, no need to be worried. You have some amazing photos

looks so yummy :) Very tasty looking!

Every day of your life from now on to be good

Very tasty. I love these sweet treats. Waiting for a prescription.

Wow, i like it

Oh, that's so great to hear @popon! I hope you have a great day!

Nice picture happy 2018 week may you and your family live long

Oh man, these look great and cheesecake is Mr. Canadian Renegades favourite. I love shooting rich color but B&W is the new black.
-Aimee

Just posted the recipe @canadianrenegade! Thanks for reading!

Also, how lucky to land a basement with a window that has its own white reflector! I never would have imagined these photos were taken in a basement. As for new years plans, Mr. Canadian Renegade and I will finally be building our homestead. While I have enjoyed our journey in the tiny house (for the most part) I am looking forward to having more space to stretch my legs, better window light for baby photos, and space to actually take photos. I am embarassed to report that most of my kids photos are done with my phone. Good thing these little contraptions come with a hi-res camera.
-Aimee

Thanks @gringalicious I will have to hunt down some gluten free graham crackers ans give this one a go.

Nice post!!

I appreciate it, thanks miguelb!

Wow...so beautiful cake.. Looking delicious

You made them?! I thought you were sharing something you ate at a retaurant. Just amazing!

Yes, of course. I share only recipes I've made. Thanks @cerenselenapa!

They look very nice. Are you taking orders from Turkey

Thanks @darksea

You really sell them. Where can I find your sales? Now I think I went to the dessert crisis.@gringalicious

This post is going to force me to make a trip to the fridge now. :D

Haha, I totally get that feeling @naydenova!

I would really love to eat one of those today! YUM!

They are awesome... I can feel every inch of the quality of your yummies ...please keep it coming. My mouth can't stop watering

Haha, well I'll certainly try to keep them coming @doctorvee.

Delicious looking sweet treat you have there! :) It would disappear in minutes if I would make it myself.

And I wish you a happy, successful and healthy year 2018. Full steem on. :)

Thanks so much @emmanmia, have a great weekend

These sound delicious! The decoration pattern makes these look so nice! :)

Thanks so much for the continued support @emilyl

this cake looks very tasty.i will try it also.

I hope you do give it a try @gabrysi

delicious ... Very delicious! I hope you have a good appetite. Greetings from Venezuela

Awesome your food, personally i like that food. and i want you success your life. thanks for sharing

success your life want I again

For this year, i want to start making cooking videos on DTube :) Never made videos before, so it will surely be a journey. I only experimented with it briefly, as i have made one video on DTube, but i found the process of cooking, recording, and editing pretty rewarding, and i think i will really enjoy it. Do you have any tips as to how to get started? Which gear to use and so on. So far, i am using a canon D60, with the standard kit lens. I need to buy a new SD card though, as the one i have now has too slow of a write time. I would also like to buy a new lens, and some new lighting equipment, but i would have to do some more posts on steemit before i can afford that :)
I'm really looking forward to create content for this community, it has given me so much already.

If you have any advice, it would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers!

I'm not making videos, so I am not the one to ask about equipment. There are some other amazing steemians out there that you could ask.

Thanks so much for the great commenting @emilclaudell

I'll try to find them, thanks :) Your cakes looks delicious btw

You are so talented its not even funny!! Can't wait to see more :)

Thanks so much @taylorann, more is coming

delicious food

thanks so much

Bye bye to diet. Merely looking at these pictures has ruined the whole weight watching thing for me. Have a fun filled trip @gringalicious

Well, fortunately, seeing the food does not cause any harm. Thanks so much for commenting @queens

This looks so good to eat! very presentable... I can taste it when I see this cake haha. Good job

Cheesecake is my favorite cake, and this looks so delicious! :)

Thanks so much for commenting and welcome to steemit @andrejatosevski

trying so hard not to drool all over my keyboard right now! awesome pics!

you're the best these look amazing

Thanks and welcome to steemit @chibichi

gringalicious!! Thank you, your Post.

Those look so good! Cheesecake is my weakness.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 11.0% @peaceandlove upgoat, thanks to @noboxes
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gringalicious to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

its so beautiful and elegant :)

Thanks for the great commenting @blazing, I really do appreciate your continued support

What a decent looking recipe looks very yummy

Thanks @universalpro, have a great weekend

Excellent food photos they looks very nice thanks for sharing it dear :)

thanks so much for the continued support @cityslicker

this is really delicious can't wait to eat that :D

wow dear you are very creative with your work so nice and delicious :)

OMG that looks so good. I wish I would have the patient to bake

Hi there!
I'm new to steemit, I believe you'd call me a minnow ;), and interested in getting involved with the steemit food community. If you have any recommendations, I'm all ears!
I love your post, and I hope I can get the recipe. B&W is the new black.
Either way, thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

@gringalicious i just saw i multiple post of you and i think i'll stop doing that cause you make me fell so hungryyy this morning 😅😅 i don't know its pictures effect or what hh and i love this sweety food very much

This post has received a 2.68 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @gringalicious. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.