IN THE GARDEN: FLOWERS AFTER A SPRING SHOWER

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We had a great day of gentle showers recently, so I ran out between sprinkles to take a few photos of the plants in my gardens. Here in Texas, the rain can come down suddenly and hard, so all of the plants were loving the more gentle spring showers that they got. The blooms looked so vibrant! I thought I'd share a few with you here.

Purple Lantana.jpg

Purple lantana. Image by Jennifer Capestany.

Zinnia Bloom Cropped.jpg

Zinnia flower, still wet from the rain. Image by Jennifer Capestany.

Alyssum Blooms 1.jpg

Alyssum blooms. These are so fragrant! Image by Jennifer Capestany.

Borage Bloom.jpg

Borage flower, edible. I like the drop of water still on the flower. Image by Jennifer Capestany.

Orange Lantana.jpg

An orange-colored lantana. Image by Jennifer Capestany.

Gardening is a huge passion of mine, not only because growing your own food increases your independence and self-sufficiency, but also because the act of gardening and enjoying the beauty that you create through it is hugely therapeutic. Hope you like these gorgeous blooms as much as I do!

Also by Jennifer: Ask an Herbalist Video 1: My Story & Favorite Medicinal Plant


Jennifer is a clinical herbalist and health coach, specializing in autoimmune diseases like rheumatoid arthritis. Her interest in plant medicine led Jennifer to spend years studying herbology, physiology, and nutrition. She works one-on-one with her clients via her herbalist and health coaching business, Prairie Hawk Botanica. Jennifer lives on a homestead in rural Texas with her husband, 2 children, and various animals. In her spare time she loves to be in her large herb and vegetable garden. Sharing herb knowledge and her love of natural healing with others is her calling. Steem and Bitcoin accepted.

Sort:  

Good close up pictures!
I grow borage in my garden mostly for the bumble bees. I've been growing it for 3 years now and I don't have to plant it now, it seeds itself all over the garden. :-)
I'll be following your page.

Thanks, @amberyooper! It's funny. When I first started growing borage, it was because borage is a good companion plant. It's thought to repel certain pests like the tomato hornworm, attract beneficial insects like your bees, and add trace minerals to the soil, improving the flavor of the plants around it. So, I planted some around the veg garden one year, and didn't have to plant it again for several years! I had some pop up in areas that weren't ideal, and so had to be moved, but my experience is the same as yours. Borage pretty much takes care of itself. It's a cool plant.

I love your photos just so fresh and delightful. I am also a digital homeopath as well and I am gardening using homeopathy with my plants and orchards. I have also posted photos as well of my garden if you would like to have a look. Please keep posting your photos.

Thanks for your kind words, and absolutely I'll go have a look at what you've been sharing! It's always great to connect with other nature lovers and healers.

Would you like to do a real time digital scan of one of your flowers and post here on Steemit with an analysis of it's nutrients and emotional stressors?

That sounds outside my area of expertise. If you're willing, perhaps you can write an article about digital homeopathy so that I (we all) can understand it better? If you're willing and have the time...

I will do so thanks I am trying to find my camera so I can do some more .