The final edits from an overdue shoot w/ LA model, Samantha!

It’s late here in Minneapolis, Steemit. Second night in a row I’ll be going to bed after 2:00a.m. I had a great day, so I can’t complain. Lunch with my sweetheart, then Magic: The Gathering with @tarotbyfergus. He once wrote a Steemit post titled “Bane of @kommienezuspadt MTG Commander Deck”, which I’d encourage him to re-read, because his latest iteration of that deck got curb stomped four our of five times tonight courtesy of my Padeem masterpiece.  

Alright, enough gloating. You’re not here to read MTG posts. I mentioned in several of my recent blogs that I’m trying to get caught up with clients that I’ve owed for far too long. Typically, my turn around time for edits can be four to six months. At any given time, I have around 50 or so clients. Each client receives 10 edits back, and each edit takes between 90 minutes and two hours. Tonight I finally had a chance to set down and work on the remaining few photos of a sweet lady from LA named Samantha.

We shot together last fall […ugh, that breaks my heart to admit]. Considering I’ve already had a few clients from Viva Las Vegas […just one month ago] already texting me asking when they can expect their images, Samantha has been SO incredible patient. The Dark Pinup book I did with @wcpublishing consumed my entire life since June of last year. Samantha was, unfortunately, a casualty of that project and relentless schedule.

Working on these images tonight did take me back to this shoot and how much fun I had. Truthfully, I remember this trip starting off slow. I wasn’t happy with the photos I was making for the first day or two. During this shoot with Samantha, I finally felt “on”. I had some creative ideas like turning all the dining room chairs in to a massive pile and having her hang over them. The light offered a wonderful compliment to her vibrant wardrobe and red hair. 

I just sent these last images along and told her that once I’m caught up, I’ll be sending her an extra few edits just for being so understanding and wonderful. I really value clients like her. Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

The second picture is the best i think. The lighting on her face is just perfect. Very nice work, would love to work with talented people like you.

Thank you @devyanka. Where are you from?

California

Your clicks are perfect. I am just a beginner to photography.
I would like to have some tips from you if that's possible.
Please let me know which light source you are using? and Whenever i try to shoot indoor, there's a lot of noise in my clicks.
I would really appreciate if you would help me.

Thanks @clicked. I use a technique called diegetic lighting. It virtually means I was whatever light sources I have at my disposal. "Natural light" tends to mean outside light. Diegetic can mean any light source inside or out, and sometimes very minimal. That's where I'm most comfortable. I love low light shots with lots of mood. I would just suggest to shoot constantly and try to find your voice. The thing that makes your photos "yours". Once you have that, and someone can look at a picture with no credits or watermark and say "@clicked" took that, that is when you've achieved the priceless reward of being an artist. That's also when you'll start getting hired all the time.

Good things come to those who wait💜

Always so poetic @artedellavita. She really has been over the top wonderful. I sent her these last ones are she booked a second shoot for the summer.

How lucky is she! Can’t wait to see her second shoot! Hugs friend!

I like her tats

Yeah. She has some great work done @viraldrome. If you like tattooed models, this is the place.

Wha a nice captures. Thnx for sharing. Followed and upvoted!

Thanks @mbroek1983! I appreciate the upvote.

Great angle for the first pic, like it.

I like the second one. It seems a departure from your normal work. Looks like she's been through a huge fight.

HAHA! I never thought of that but what a fun narrative for that photo @jameshsmitharts.

@kommienezuspadt
I love every picture!
How do you think about creating those environments?
the model is beautiful!

Thanks @yanes94. That one just came to me at the perfect time because I was really having a hard time creating interesting areas to shoot. She is beautiful.

Second shot is amazing! Stared for a while trying to understand what's happening with chairs there and love how light hits her face, tip of the nose and hand.

Thanks @m31. Yeah, that was a weird moment to set that shot up. I think she had a general moment that she didn't believe I was a professional photographer, lol

The one with the chairs is incredible, well done!

Thank you very much @herbaliblog! I was struggling on this particular trip. Creatively, I wasn't coming up with anything new. I've been shooting for almost 20 years so there are times that I feel I've done it all, but the chairs pile just struck me. She thought I was crazy when I was stacking them up and said "...Okay. Get in there, lol".

I love it! You see that today's session was a success! The model is divinely, the angle of the photos capture all its beauty and sensuality, I liked a lot! Excellent work

These photos are absolutely gorgeous! I've been meaning to ask, is your Steemit name inspired by the Tom Wait's song with the same title. I'm a massive Tom Waits fan! I used to have that song set as my ring tone, and I kind of killed it by associating it with incoming calls, but It is such an awesome song!

Excellent shots and beautiful model!

Wow!!!! The lighting is beautiful

You're so talented, the second picture looks like a painting. Amazing!!!
Congratulations :)

I am blown away by your work @kommienezuspadt

It makes me feel better knowing I'm not the only one who is incredibly behind on edits! As always, amazing work. xx

I did re-read my old post, and it reminded me of a few things...

Lovely compositions and awesome lighting!
I recognize that feeling of being on or not, it's frustrating when I need to find that on button in myself during weddings, sometimes I just get some sort of black out and at other times I feel like I'm overflowing with ideas.
Looking at photography like yours sure is inspiring!