Strolling by the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

When I was going to the Bitcoin Exchange of Montreal I passed by the Notre-Dame Basilica. It's like a church, but with more pizazz I guess because it a lot bigger :). I decided to take some pictures just for fun as it's a nicely build structure.

As it turned out, I was at a perfect time of day to capture the sun in between the two towers. The Sun God is in the sky, above the clouds in the heavens, looking upon everyone and providing the life force energy to sustain us all.

This big boy was built in 1824 and in the Gothic Revival style. The original chapel built in 1672 became too small by the 1800s and was rebuilt bigger. It boasts a pipe organ of 4 keyboards and 7000 individual pipes.

If you check out the wiki link above or the official site here you can find some nice pictures of the inside, which I didn't go into. There is a long line, maybe each summer, but this summer is special for Montreal because it's the 375th year of it's "birth". It's a pretty old North American city.

Here is the long line. I had other things to do, sorry :P



Here are just a few other pics:


Thank you for your time and attention! Take care. Peace.

Sort:  

I never went inside... we used to take the bus to Montreal every Labor Day weekend because back in the 70's you could smoke pot in the bars. A bunch of us would ride the Dog up there and get high & drunk.

LOL.

I would love to hear the resonance of the 4 keyboard pipe organ. I bet it is breathe taking and monumental. Thanks for sharing a splendid story.

Yes it must hehe. You're welcome.

Yeah, I don't blame you for not going inside, haha. Screw that giant ass line. Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures though! That is such a gorgeous building, seriously.

Yeah, no way I was waiting :P

Its beautiful! You got great shots of the outside, I love old churches they are very regal and majestic! I can't believe the line but I think I would wait in it to see the inside! Thanks for the link to see the inside and learn the history of this very beautiful church peace and love to you and yours🕊🕊

Yeah, it looks really beautiful, with gold and blue colors. Thanks for the feedback and best wishes to you as well.

Damn! What an amazing city in the summer! Did you have a Beaver Tail in the old port lol?

Nope, just rollerblading.

Perfect place, nice, beautiful to see in the photos and to complete these flashy rays of sun. 😲

Indeed the sun was in the perfect spot hehe.

Awesome timing with the photo. Just not with the line lol. But there's always a next time.

Hehe yeah. The first time I went to the exchange last week there was some rain and yet people were still lining up to go in.

Sounds like a potential new post. Your own adventure inside the basilica ;)

Haha don't you wish that you could've went inside ? :P great photos, by the way !

Yeah, if it was quicker ;) Thanks.

Awesoem shots of it, isnt it such a grand and historic building love the architecture

Thanks, yeah it's something!

Nice photo of sun rays between the towers! Thanks for your post!

Welcome, yeah it's a nice shot :)

Thanks! )

What a perfect shot, beautiful white Sun. :)

Yeah I had to use "beach" mode because the light contrast had me seeing nothing when I pointed it at the sun.

I dont blame your for not going inside hehe!! Amazing shots. Keep on posting beautiful post will always support u. @krnel

great pics and explanation you did for us.

Nice shots.

Awesome photos! I've always wanted to see Notre-Dame