My garden

in #photography7 years ago

Some quick photos of my experimental garden area (Not the main garden).
Im not going into full detail on this post but I will explain it all in a few other posts in the future.

Quick info...
Root bag garden planter is a modified version of larry halls rain gutter system. Larry has tons of great videos on his youtube channel, but I dont think he made it here to steemit.com yet


SAM_0023.JPG
The tall rain gutter thing in the back is a failed strawberry planter idea that I got from @mericanhomestead
I Made some soil mistakes and the winter also helped kill all my strawberrie plants.
Now i planted all kinds of random things in it like green beans, peas, and cucumbers. These are just random experiments. I still like it.

SAM_0019.JPG
SAM_0022.JPG
SAM_0017.JPG

Sort:  

Looks like you have a good setup. It takes a lot of figuring out and testing but once you get it the way that satisfies you, then you can grow just about anything like this. My dad does pretty much the same thing and has pretty good luck at growing whatever he wants. Just think outside of the box and anything is possible. Thanks for posting your ideas and looking forward to seeing your garden.

Cool. So you are using rain gutters to plant in? Is this a self watering system?

No those are not. But the bag system is.
The pipe under them has the water that wicks up through net bags covered with cloth and packed with potting soil

Great ideas! I like it! I think it could be especially useful for plants that need to be brought back in in autumn, like chili, eggplant, ginger.

Yea they are really awesome, wish I could take credit for the ideas. Unfortunitly I only have a small amount of land less then 1/3 acher and only a tiny patch gets light that is not septic system. So this works out great. My main garden is on my inlaws property nextdoor. Ill do a post on my main garden later.

Very amazing pict, good work.

That's a very clever way to make things grow...
Thanks for the upvote the other day...
@pocketechange

Great post. I'll follow you :) Feel free to follow me as well if you want :) Take care.

Interesting setup you have here. Upvote and followed.

Thank you I followed you as well

gardening is the shit

Great post. I also love gardening and lots of other stuff. I am following you.