Church And Chapels

in #photography6 years ago

Today I took a different direction and ride through a couple of remote villages.

I saw a new face of Dalmatia. Religion has a big role in common people lives.

On the stretch of 10 km, I find quite a few religious objects.

20180828_083655.jpg

The first one was this little chapel.

20180828_083728.jpg

Here's the inside view.

20180828_091222.jpg

I didn't want to disrespect privacy and I'll show you just a top of the grave of a young hunter by the road. There was no explanation for what happened to him.

20180828_084535.jpg

I climbed one kilometre of the steep trail and there was another.

20180828_102128.jpg

Next village, next church. This one with the cemetery.

20180828_102354.jpg

I was shocked by the size of the tombs.

Never saw something like this.

20180828_102245.jpg

Sorry, but it looks more like a garden shed or garage to me.

20180828_101758.jpg

Here is the monument dedicated to the people from the village, killed in the world war II. by a fascist regime.

20180828_182320.jpg

The wildflower and nice tranquil sunset for all dead souls.

20180827_200933.jpg

Let them all rest in peace.

I managed to survive yet another climb without a heart attack.

Have a great day and keep an active mind and body.

See you tomorrow, my friends.

Sort:  

Some time it's good to take time from our busy life and see the life from another side, i wish i could be there 🏔

Lovely photos I like the color pops

Quite the climb!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The temple is very sweet. This is the temple of God.

Muy buena las imagenes que nos traes hoy @oldtimer acerca de las Iglesias y Capillas en Croacia

I've been posting cemetery photos and have seen a few strange graves and cemetery monuments but nothing like you posted here. Some interesting, some strange. @melinda010100, have you seen this?
Is that a catholic chapel?
Is that a catholic chapel?

Thanks for making sure I saw this @erikah! These are very reminiscent of the chapels and roadside shrines I saw in Greece.

My pleasure, I know you like these.

WOW You make a great contain here. thank you for share with us.
Good for people, Good for you.
Keep countinue

OK. Now I know where to go to do some awesome hiking.
I'm jealous of your Croatian hiking trips. So beautiful and so many things to see on those trails.
Glad you enjoyed and thank you for sharing this amazing photography and your hike.

Thanks for the toru

While may the young hunter rest in Peace

Your walk of 1Km was indeed worth it indeed !

same here never seen this big before !

While the flower is sure stunning
and not to mention the Sunset is one of a view :)

Be well buddy !

howdy sir oldtimer! you made the grade without a heart attack yay!
do you walk some of the time going up the mountain? well the sites and views we appreciate so much!

Those tombs are from wealthy families I bet but may their souls rest in peace @oldtimer
I like your journey in bringing us fantastic photos and history in one too :)

What I miss the most from Dalmacia, is those red/orange sunsets... I think ist time to show us those🤗

I truly appreciate the spirituality and beauty of old churches and cemeteries. There is definitely something there of real value. Thanks @oldtimer

Again, fantastic photos! It does look very similar to the chapels and roadside shrines I saw in Greece. Glad you made this climb, my friend. You are going to have the strongest leg muscles in Canada! Resteeming.

Croatian people are indeed very religious, so you will see churches and chapels throughout their wonderful country.

Yes! In such weather to make big loadings doctors do not recommend.
Especially in the mountain.
Take care of yourself!
And the photos are interesting.
Me, too, was strange to see such big tombs.
Why do they build such tombs for the dead?
Maybe it's these traditions?

Good luck and new interesting experiences and achievements, @oldtimer !

Wow, I can't help but be drawn to the hill in the background. I can just imagine this village built into the hill and around it. That first image of the chapel and then the one looking out to the water below are very engaging. It must be a beautiful spot.