High In The Mountains

in #photography5 years ago

For today's post, I browsed through my vacation photos and prepared some shots from my hike on mountain Krn when I was in Slovenia.

There's not much to say about these photos. They speak for themselves I guess.

When you're at 2000 meters high above the valley it's easy to take a lot of great photos. If the weather is good of course.

But you need to climb the mountain first, which can be quite challenging.

On top of that, I want to point out another aspect, which most of you probably don't know about.

The hardest part is to get off of the mountain, believe me. My legs were sore for three days.

20180911_101438.jpg

You can see the Kobarid valley over the western ridge of Mt. Krn

20180911_085023.jpg

Look to the East.

20180911_101814.jpg

Sheep prefer fresh and colder air in the summer months.

Fewer insects like flys and ticks.

20180911_105220.jpg

Flowers are much tougher than we think.

They know how to hide their vital parts and endure the harsh winter.

20180911_102450.jpg

No comment.

20180911_093413.jpg

Nature at work.

20180911_121155.jpg

Cows don't climb as high as sheep but they know well how to find a tasty meal.

20180911_100036.jpg

My favorite.

I was standing at the edge and it was quite scary.

The gravel on the right side of the photo is more than 500 meters lower in the abyss, which you can't get the impression from the photo.

I hope you liked my compilation and you appreciate every drop of the sweat I shed, just like I do.

Enjoy your Sunday, my friends.

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing. I can appreciate your efforts on the mountain climbing. We went hiking yesterday (nothing compared to your mountain climbing) but woke up this morning feeling different muscles being sore than you get from ordinary walking.

Thanks for the comment.
Well, if I'm honest, it was more like mountain hiking. Quite tough and exhausting but still far from climbing.
Climbing is way too dangerous for me.

@oldtimer, Such a tremendous photo captures you clicked on your hiking adventure. Sorry for hear your legs were sore. Yep if we can climb on the top of the mountain easy to take captures as well. Slovenia is amazing country for landscaping view.

Thanks for the kind reply.

Absolutely appreciating every drop of sweat you've spent to share these wonderful pictures with us! 😉 thank you very much! Love the pics ;-)

i can not stand about 500 meters in that mountain, i am scary of higheies place

You need to be born there, hehe.

Your photography is awesome. It is really good effort.

The sweat, and sore legs are rewarded when on top and the the challenge is mastered. I think that is a great feeling 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You're right. I guess that's why we want to visit high places.

Amazing nature my friend I would like to visit this place someday, thank you for sharing this.

You should but you would definitely need some preparation and training first.

Lepo :)

Did you visit it this summer?

Thanks for sharing awesome nature!!

Wonderful photos. What a great place to relax and enjoy nature. Thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome.

Those are incredible scenery sir!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, indeed.

Hi, @oldtimer!

You just got a 2.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Shared on twitter promoting quality content on #Steemit.

Thanks again for sharing some great photos and bringing great content to the #Steem Blockchain.

Have a great week.

Stephen

#Promo-Steem #steemtalent #JoinSteemit #Steemit

20181029_112906.jpg

Congratulations @oldtimer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hiking up on these steep mountains must have been one hell of an experience. I enjoy the Mountain view, here in muscat over the weekends we go for Mountain excursions but the only difference is we drive....hahaha. Nice pictures

On the top !!!
Breathtaking shots and some very magnificent clicks you have shared :D

Since I arrived at your blog, I have been very grateful for all those beautiful images that I am used to seeing and that every day I think, with what will you encourage me today? However these shots filled all my expectations, a neat work and well framed and from there I can imagine the great work and as you say "every drop of sweat you spilled" is well compensated and I really admire your courage to climb that mountain, all the very beautiful shots however the one that impresses me more is the second, and as a title I would place "The pinnacle of the world" where I imagine that after seeing the shots you gave much more value to so arduous mountain climbing, again I congratulate you and grateful for ever feel curious to see your blog, my respects to you, @oldtimer

wow sir oldtimer! stunning pictures as usual, what a photographer's delight Slovenia is!