Spring In Edmonton

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It's here. Finally! Spring.

We left Canada six weeks ago and it was still winter at that time. On our vacation, we experienced 38 Degrees Celsius in Dubai, 27 on the Mediterranean coast of Spain, France, and Italy. In Slovenian mountains, it was a bit above 20. We had really great time and we enjoyed it one hundred percent. I'm sure you know about the green grass on the other side of the fence. And it was green, really green.

My friends and relatives in Slovenia kept asking me about cold temperatures in Canada and how we survive. But the problem is not temperatures at all, you can always put more clothes on. The problem is how long the winter lasts. And it's long, believe me. Six months long.

Yesterday we went for a long walk by the Nort Saskatchewan River to see the progress and we liked what we saw, very much. A lot of joggers, bikers, skaters, and kids in the parks. There was a smell of smoke and cooked meat from barbeques. Edmontonians know how to celebrate the coming of the spring.

I took some photos for you. It's not as green as you may expect but our eyes need a graduate transition and we're happy with the current state of affairs.

20180505_194345.jpg

No more skaters on the pond in the park.
Unfortunately, these ponds are a hatchery for another pain in the ass: mosquitoes
But if we survived the winter, we'll survive these pests too.

20180505_190902.jpg

Last chunks of the ice by the creek,

20180502_174345.jpg

and at the boat launch area.

20180504_194031.jpg

But the river is definitely ready for the summer activities.

20180503_195339.jpg

And also the golf courses all over the city.

20180505_192456.jpg

The gardener of the cricket field.

20180504_193957.jpg

These two gardeners enjoying the day off on a tree trunk by the river.

20180503_200113.jpg

We finally got rid of this noisy little fellow from our attic.

20180502_195459.jpg

I find this larch branch with different stages of growth very interesting.

For the first time we travelled to Slovenia we said we're going on vacation, not home. It past six years in January since we moved to Canada and when we flew back to Edmonton we said we going back home.
On the airport, our first stop was at Tim Horton's. For the coffee. In Dubai and Europe, they call it American.

Maybe we're already assimilated. I'm not sure.

I hope you liked my spring post, my friends.

Sort:  

Hello my friend! Nice to see that the beautiful weather is coming back, soon summer will be there after the harsh winter months!
Here on the contrary we are now getting ready for the winter, will not be as cold as at your place...but still cold for us!
Great shots!

Great nature photography!

Its greenin up around there. Meanwhile here in Las Vegas its almost 100° 😥

i like your post
I see a very good spring although the grass is no longer the green we expect but the spring is also very good with our bodies that maybe we will often go to the river as it is on your post
a good place in my opinion
I am from Indonesia, Aceh does not have our spring and winter drought in tropical country
can i play your country?

Spring is very beautiful part of the year. Here in Europe (Belarus) it is pretty green already and we are experiencing hight temperatures up to 28 Degrees Celcius. Here is one picture to let you see how it is like just outside my apartment:
IMG_1654.JPG

@oldtimer, don't know if you are aware, but me and my team are developing a completely free app for Steemians called SteemApp. Would love it if you could show us your support with a witness vote for yuriks2000. Thanks!

photography is very good my friend. and hope you are always in good health is always my best friend. and I really need support from you my best friend. @oldtimer

Your statement in the first paragraph is hilarious and something I get asked all the time. Especially when we had international students living with us while they were in Ottawa learning English. How on earth do you survive in this cold? LOL Some people in the world have no idea what snow or cold even feels like. We sometimes forget how different other parts of the world can be.

greeting from morocco , photos are really beautiful , amazing Spring in Canada:)

Definitely one of the best season that we all await for :)

While they sure have their reason for asking ;)

North Saskatchewan does indeed seems like a nice place at this time .

While liked the buddy on the trunk ;)

Thanks for the tour buddy.

Well we are finally warming up here in Michigan. Things are showing some signs of green. Michigan is great in all seasons but the winter is way toooo long by a couple of months!

Great shots. I never saw a larch branch before.

Perfect landscape photography and informative post.... thank you for sharing with us your experience... good luck

Traveling for me as always been one thing I like doing because it exposes you to new environment and memories, also it very educative, informative as well it gets you to know about different people and their tradition. Amazing pictures it speaks so well of the country thanks for sharing @oldtimer

I am amazed with you, have a nice day, thank you for sharing your amazing photography, I like

I love spring post... And guess what i just followed you to keep me updated

beautiful photography, I really like, thank you for sharing this beautiful post, continued success @oldtimer

Posting yang indah.

wow, the scenery is very beautiful, and I am very interested in your photography, and good luck is always @oldtimer.

Nice to hear you guys Finally got spring! Good timing to come back for sure :)

Cool... soon you have a lot warm days :)) here it is very warm .

Fantastic natural beauty. outstanding photography......@oldtimer. life is full of colourful in the Spring. thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful post.

Woowww... Very beautiful photo @oldtimer

Very beautiful look

Genial, te dejo mi voto!

Presenting nature at best...👍

Its always nice to come back home after a long trip! I'm glad you made the switch identifying Canada as home because it means you feel very comfortable and accepted there. The gardeners in Edmonton look a bit lazy even after a 6 month vacation! The larch photograph is a beauty!

Thankfully, it looks like winter is finally over here in Edmonton. It’s supposed to be 25 degrees today here! Perfect time to take my son to the park!

Spring is a very nice season to go around, enjoy the view and have some fun! I hope your Spring will be great this year @oldtimer!

Wow, you faced multiple environments and weather behaviour and in my opinion you possibly liked the time of spring and greenery because greenery really gives breathtaking effect and it gives close to nature effect. But winter season have it's own great essence, i never saw snow in my life live, but whatever i here it's really fun to have for many snow sports. Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures with us and keep travelling. Wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Istinski lep post, vidi se da volite proleće. Srećni ste, proživećete dva početka proleća ove godine. :) Ako vam srce kaže da vam je Kanada dom, verovatno je tako. Ne mogu da shvatim kako se gostuje u rođenoj zemlji? Lepe i raznolike fotografije. Poslednje dve se izdvajaju. Grana četinara na poslednjoj je ipak pobednik. Hvala najlepše na deljenju @oldtimer.

beautiful friend You have my support. I hope to count on your support to keep growing. regards

Spring is here! from these photos comes the sweet smell of young grass and the warm buds of trees. The revival has begun. In the spring I'm happy even meeting with mosquitos right now they seem to be good carriers of heat.

Truelly speaking I like winters more than summers. Hope you are enjoying the summer. In summer I like only one thing river rafting.

Sounds really cold!!! Looks like you had a great time though :)

Assimilation takes time, but it is good that you feel at home in AB, CA. Home is where you feel good! It’s not that much about geography, at least I feel that way. Pozdrav iz zelenja :)

First three photos looks like from some zombie apocalypse movie. :D

wow. Excellent photography!

The beauty of nature . Amazing
all-deals-emoji-yummy-face-cushion-pillow-1_1024x1024.jpg

I am glad to know you.good luck always for you.perfect camera.

Wonderful photos! Being Canadian is something to be proud of. I am glad you feel that it is home. Yay Spring!