LET IT SNOW - A WINTER WONDERLAND & HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS

in #photography7 years ago

From about the time that I was 8 years old until I left home I got to live in the house where my parents still live. It's on just over two acres that's partially wooded with a creek on one of the borders. While we were up for Christmas, we had some wonderful snowfalls, and everything got covered in a nice thick layer.

I took the opportunity to wander in the woods a bit, reflect on life, and take some pictures of the beauty. I've thinned my photos down to these for you, and I think they capture the wonder of a new snowfall quite fantastically.

I focused quite a bit on the branches on this shoot.

Even though we live almost 12 hours away, it's nice to get back to my old home and let my children enjoy the same things I enjoyed growing up. They had an excellent time sledding and tubing in Grandma and Grandpa's back yard down the same hills I enjoyed as a child.

We were sure blessed on our Christmas vacation.

"CHRISTMAS CREEK"

To check out my snow-photo shoot featuring the creek, CLICK HERE.


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-snow-falling-on-papa


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

hahah you are snowy too

I sure was!

i hate winter but nice picture

Then a picture is the way to (try to) enjoy it!

Thanks @andytherbg!

yeah ill try to enjoy the season while the cold temperature freezing my nuts

At least they are equipped with a slight auto-adjust to help regulate the temperature of the contents...

Hi papa-pepper, nice photoset. I just posted my own winter wonderland seconds before you. Love your stuff, its great, was pointed to you by @daveks so nice to see a big photo set, that is my kind of steem, if you know what I mean.!

I totally seen your post when I posted mine, but got distracted, so thanks for redirecting me over there.... I try to get around!

Those are some nice photos. Reminds me a lot of my backyard. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to see outside without having to actually go outside. It'll be dipping down to -28°C here tonight with the included windchill, which isn't that bad actually... LOL!

This man is hilarious!

LOL! I've been leaving little jokes all over the place again. I think you caught me!

Yeah, we had some nice negative temps up there before the snowfall... don't really miss it!

Thanks man!

We got snow as well Christmas Eve. The mountains are still covered white.

Maybe I'm mistaken but I have a feeling that it's only a matter of time before @grandpapa-pepper starts Steeming!

He checks it out daily from the outside to keep an eye on us... but we will see.

Great pictures, thanks for sharing them.

Thanks for checking them out @gregory-f!

That looks really amazing. Snow is beautiful!

It sure is!

Thanks @djs!

A snowfall scene in the woods is always cozy and majestic. Nice photos! It sounds like you had a great time at home with your family. Those moments are a blessing.

We were very blessed indeed!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $26.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Love those fresh snow shots, looks beautiful, thanks papa-pepper!

Thanks, I hear you're now sending people my way too, thanks for that as well!

It's a fun place to be!

That is why I envy you...:) Greets from switzerland!

Greeting to Switzerland!

Haha great photos ! Looks like where I live here in British Columbia Canada ! Lol ! And it snowed again today ! Barely made it to work on time tonight and I left early ! Lol love the bit of snow on your tuft of hair haha ! 😂😆Steem on and thanks for sharing ! 😉✌👍

Yeah, I snapped my proof photo, and noticed the snow when I looked at it!

GOOD PROOF ANYWAY!

Haha you can't get any better proof then that ! Lol ! Steem on ! 👍😉🎉🎊

I know! LOL!

Catch some fish!

Looks wonderful.

Only trout right there... but the lakes were freezing over nice!

I think @provider should be ice-fishing soon, though he almost went in last time!

I'll take the trout! Yum!
Ice fishing? Haha, no thanks. I can find more enjoyable ways to freeze my tail off.

When trout season closes for the winter, it's ice-fishing or the store... I'll take to the ice!

I never caught a fish through a hole in the ice. We tried, but I just quit going. Nine out of ten times I'd ask my buddies how it was, they'd get skunked. Half the time they didn't, they caught 1 or 2 small ones. Then on that 20th time, they'd say how much I missed. I'd think, "I wasn't there freezing to catch nothing the other 19 times, so I really don't feel like I missed anything".
Never heard of trout "season" though. We're open all year.

Yeah, some states got seasons....

Nice to view from the relative warmth of the Deep South... (Southern California, that is...) ;)

We already left and are currently in St. Louis, but it wasn't that bad up there when the snow was falling.

The sub-zero temps before and the freezing rain afterwards weren't all that fun, but such is winter in the north.

Thanks @creatr!

Heeey, great photos! Reminds me of the ice storm we had in TN when I as a kid...in..'95, maybe? I was too young to remember the date. We lost power for a few days, but the thick coating of ice on everything is something I will never forget..

Ice storms are rough, especially when it some to power lines!

Thanks @rigaronib!

Good picture

Thank you!

I really had a fun time taking them!