Analog Photography: The how - My analog diaries #1

I came to photography by a desire to photograph people and surprise the absurdities of our daily life. I first got a digital camera - a Fuji - and played with it for a few months. It was fun and I took a lot of pretty cool photos. I was considering moving to a better digital camera when a friend of mine gifted me for not reason a Point and Shoot film camera. I am not sure why, I think she is a fan and wanted to convert me. Or maybe she sensed that maybe it will work for me?

I am not sure what it was but I tried it anyway. It was an old - as all point and shooters on film are cause they don't really make'em anymore - Olympus:

image.png

I took photos without being able to immediate see the result and more and more felt like it was a mind exercise. I visualized what I wanted in my head, I clicked. I hoped. Instead of the crippling insecurity that "I got it" I felt the joy of doing exactly what I wanted. I mean, before you see the photos, they are all the perfect creation of your imagination eye, right?

When I finally finished my first roll and got back the photos, I was hooked. Not only that I thought I took a lot of pretty cool photos, but also loved the colors and the little details. I put my Fuji for sale immediately - which is to think day, one of the few example of "going all in" on something I really believe in and damn the consequences.

Next, we'll talk about the why, which I only scratched the surface for here. Stay tuned!