Fall Colors at Farragut State Park

November 1 was a beautiful fall day with blue sky, sunshine, and a high in the upper 40s. For weeks I had been wanting to go for a bike ride at Farragut State Park, but life kept getting in the way. So I grabbed the opportunity that Sunday afternoon, loaded my bicycle into my vehicle, and headed for the park.


20201101_142535_2.jpg

The fall colors did not disappoint me! The larches were turning color nicely, making bright splotches of yellow amidst the pines and firs.


20201101_141051_1.jpg

Looking across an open field, you can see the larches on the hillside opposite.


20201101_143315_4.jpg

I took a picture here in September, when the Bernard Peak Wildfire was burning. It looks much different now, with no smoke in the air.


20201101_150249_6.jpg

A few wild turkeys were wandering along the side of the road. They are nothing special around here; in fact, they are sometimes quite pesky! But I thought they deserved a spot in my hive post, anyway.


20201101_145105_5.jpg

The water was obviously low down by the boat launch, typical for this time of year. And there were people out in boats, despite the cool temperature.

I rode my bicycle for about half an hour, sticking to areas that are mostly level. Empty campgrounds are great for bicycling when no campers are present! I wore myself out, since I have not been riding very much all summer. And I got quite chilled, despite a hat, scarf, and warm jacket. I took a soak in the bathtub to warm up after I got home. But I do not regret having taken that last bike ride in the beautiful autumn weather. We have gotten over a foot of snow since then, and I am sure there will be no more bicycling until spring.

Sort:  

That was beautiful! I don't have a working bicycle now. Mine needs some tuning up. I miss my walks in sunshine! Take care.

I had to have some work done on my bicycle this summer, and I bought a new seat.

I so, so love that you went on a fall bike ride! Farragut is so pretty in the fall, I especially love it in the fall and early spring as there tends to be less souls around and you get to feel like an ant in an empty swimming pool of wonder lol!

Yes, it's a great place to be at certain times of the year.

How lovely, and THANK YOU...

You're welcome! :)

Congratulations @scribblingramma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update